Ratings based on 577 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
58% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Don't recommend

Posted Nov 29, 2017
Pros: location and price.
Cons: Air quality; needs an upgrade. Rooms are dated (attempts to update have occurred with flat screen TVs, and laminate wood flooring--cheaply done.
Location: I wasn't there as a tourist. Visiting nearby family over Thanksgiving
The facility is dated and drab. The hallways on the first floor smell like dogs did their business (the rooms not smelling much better)--probably because they allow pets (and I have 2 dogs, so I get it--but they need to remove carpet in hallway so the floors can be sanitized and cleaned daily...). I had to go to lobby 3 times before they could provide me a TV remote that worked. Frig in room was loud as was the window air conditioner. It was like camping with a roof and plumbing. Front office check in was pleasant but not very efficient and it took too long to check in (one of my two rooms was quoted at the wrong price, so she had to correct it. Mercifully she didn't argue when I showed her my expedia.com receipt with the correct room rates
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 1, 2017 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Lark, please accept our apologies for your unpleasant experience at our hotel. Thank you for sharing these issues so we can make adjustments. As the cleanliness of our hotel is a key priority, we are very sorry your room fell short of expectations. Please rest assured that your comments have been shared with the team in an effort to improve our service. We hope you will give us another opportunity to prove this to you on your next visit. Sincerely, Hotel Management
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Torrance CA

Posted Nov 27, 2017
Didn't know it was pet friendly hotel. Room had an smell. Not a pleasant stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2017 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Jose, thank you for being our guest at our hotel. We are sorry for the inconvenience you experienced due to the smell in your room and regret the inconvenience this caused. We will follow up on your concerns to ensure we are well poised to serve you better during your next stay when in the area. Sincerely, Hotel Management
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Disappointing for what you pay for

Posted Nov 26, 2017
The second we entered our room the strong smell of urine covered the whole room. Most of the carpet was damp which didn't help with the smell. Over all we may of gotten a bad room but I definitely do not recommend staying here.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 29, 2017 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for your stay and for taking the time to post your review. On behalf of our entire staff, we sincerely apologize for the housekeeping issues you experienced. We have procedures in place so that this does not happen, so we will investigate where we fell short. We only wish that we could have addressed these issues while you were here so that you didn't leave the hotel with a negative impression. We assure you that what you experienced is not the norm and ask that you give us another try whenever you return to the area. We look forward to having you visit again so that we can provide you with a better stay. Sincerely,Hotel Management
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Beaumont, CA

Client visits

Posted Nov 17, 2017
Pros: Close to clients, ample parking and many restaurants near by.
Cons: WiFi and better pillows.
Location: Walkable and nearby restaurants.
I chose this hotel because of the central location required for my business. Although the room is not cleaned every day, you can exchange towels and get new soap and shampoo. It is a pet friendly hotel, but it bothered me that guests were allowed to let their dogs urinate against the posts outside the main entrance...stains all over the sidewalk. There was a problem with their server and twice I required their assistance in getting back online. The staff was very accommodating, because their technical support number was constantly busy. Overall, a good stay and I would stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 18, 2017 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing us for your business trip. It’s nice to know our location was convenient for your needs and that you liked our helpful associates. That being said, we apologize for the issues you encountered and for the inconvenience it caused. Your feedback is of utmost value, and we will use it as a training tool to improve our performance further. It was good to have you here, and we look forward to making your next stay perfect in every respect. Sincerely, Hotel Management
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from riverside . CA

Nice hotel , simple and worth the price

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Was here for two nights and had no problem. The surrounding area around the hotel is very nice and well taken care off. Various places to eat around. It is very simple but it meets the basic needs. Room was clean and spacious . Only down side for me was the wifi was awfully slow but there was a lot of people in the building that night regardless so it was expected.nother than that no complains for the price and location
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2017 by Hotel Management , Hotel Management
Maria, thank you for your recent stay and for your candid feedback. We want all of our guests to enjoy their stay, and we apologize for any inconveniences you experienced. On a future visit, we would be very appreciative if you would alert the front desk of any issues so they can be resolved immediately. Our entire team is dedicated to ensuring a positive experience for our guests while they are away from home. Thank you again for your feedback, and we would love to welcome you back soon. Sincerely, Hotel Management
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 17, 2017
IT WAS OK IT LOOK RAN DOWN THE ROOM WE STAYED IN. THE DISHES WAS GIVEN TO US LIKE HERE IT IS THE OTHER EXTENDED STAY IN DEL AMO CIRCLE WAS BETTER MORE CLEAN AND PROFESSIONAL
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 18, 2017 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for being our guest. We are pleased you had an overall good stay. That being said, I am sorry we did not live up to your expectations. We hope the positive aspects of your visit will encourage you to choose us again in the future. Sincerely, Hotel Management
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from baltimore

Felt like staying in a homeless shelter

Posted Oct 13, 2017
Pros: One of the other residents had a cute dog
Cons: Might be beyond hope
Had to clean the toilet when I arrived. Breakfast was disgusting.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 15, 2017 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Alice, thank you for being our guest and for your valuable feedback. Please accept our apologies for your experience at our hotel. Our goal is to provide every guest with an exceptional stay, and we are sorry this was not your experience. We hope you will give us another chance to provide you with the hospitality you deserve. Sincerely, Hotel Management
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PA

Staffs are very helpful.

Posted Sep 29, 2017
The staffs always recommended against my requests.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 29, 2017 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Sam, thank you so much for this awesome review. Making you happy makes us happy! We are glad that everything went great during your stay and that associates made for a memorable experience. Thanks especially for recognizing our all-star staff, as they truly love to deliver exceptional customer service to each and every guest. We can't wait to welcome you back to Extended Stay America. Sincerely, Hotel Management
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lake Isabella, CA

Nice, convenient hotel for pet owners

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Pros: They accept pets! The room was clean and had a full fridge and a microwave.
Cons: The furniture was a little worn. One of the desk chairs was broken. As mentioned above, a poop station on the grounds might be helpful.
Location: This hotel is centrally located in Torrance. There's lots of shopping, restaurants, and entertainment within walking distance.
We had a nice stay at Extended Stay America in Torrance. It is centrally located, close to restaurants, shopping, and entertainment. I appreciate this hotel chain for it's many charitable activities, which are evident throughout the lobby and elevator areas. In addition, they welcome pets, which is a necessity for many travelers. There were many guests traveling with dogs, including us, and yet I didn't hear a peep out of any of the nearby rooms. If I were to suggest anything, it would be that they have poop bags available for guests to use when their pets relieve themselves. Perhaps it would help with their ground-keeping. Other than that, we had a very pleasant stay and I would consider staying there again in the future. Thank you!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 21, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Chris, thank you for being our guest. It’s nice to know you liked your comfortable room and that our convenient location and pet-friendly feature worked out well for you. However, we are sorry for not meeting all of your expectations. We appreciate your valuable feedback as it will help us to improve our performance moving forward. We look forward to making your next visit a perfect one. Sincerely, General Manager
4 out of 5
by Cassandra

Posted Sep 17, 2017 on Hotels
It was alright. Bed wasn't comfortable. I expected better.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Cassandra, thank you for being our guest at Extended Stay America. We are pleased you had an overall enjoyable stay, but I am sorry for the inconvenience you experienced with the bedding. We hope the positive aspects of your visit will encourage you to choose us again in the future. Sincerely, General Manager