Ratings based on 1,165 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arizona

2 miles from Redondo Beach

Posted Aug 9, 2017
Since my last stay here, the hotel lobby was moved from the front of the hotel at the entrance by the street, to UPSTAIRS on the 2nd level in the middle of the building. After parking upon my arrival, a maintenance man had directed me to the very odd new location. There were ants in my shower. Everything else was fine for an inexpensive hotel to stay at near the beach which includes a Continental breakfast. There's a microwave & fridge in the rooms which is great to have too.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel staff

Posted Aug 2, 2017
Pros: Staff
Cons: Outside appearance of hotel, it needs cleaning and updating
construction was taking place on hotel while we were there and at 8:00am it sounded like someone was pounding our door down.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 2, 2017
This hotel is not far from DEL AMO FASHION MALL, and the staff is very helpfull.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Worth every penny

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Very comfortable and e comically. Very close to everywhere I was looking for.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto Canada

Very very happy with the Hotel

Posted Jul 11, 2017
This hotel has everything.Close to Hiways. We were a group of 8 and everybody was quit happy with the stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle WA

Spending the July 4th near the beach

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Pros: Its location to the mall and the King size bed.
Cons: The bathroom tub was dated and had wear in the basin near the drain. The Window curtain was also broken but was repaired by the cleaning staff.
Location: The mall was nearby and the Beach was a 10 minute drive
I was visiting family for the July 4th holiday and needed an inexpensive room near the mall and the Howard Johnson's location was very close. The hotel room was the perfect size and amenities for what I needed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Great area close to lots of restaurants and shopping
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 25, 2017
Excellent hotel , I enjoyed a lot with this hotel, located at great area and very close to all facilities
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sedona, AZ

2nd Stay, Clean Comfortable Rooms

Posted Jun 10, 2017
Pros: Great value for large, clean comfortable rooms, convenient location for the beach and dinning.
Cons: I mentioned the need for electric outlets or USB ports to charge cell phones etc on the night table by the bed. It is already on order.
Location: I lived in the area for 20 years so I enjoy visiting familiar places, the piers at Redondo and Hermosa, the Palos Verdes Peninsula, Del Amo mall.
The curb appeal is not great, the elevator is slow but I will continue to stay at this Howard Johnson's. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The breakfast is good and the staff very accommodating. I checked in early without prior notice, the desk staff was very welcoming offering me a choice of rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Summerland

Great location

Posted Jun 2, 2017
Booked single king, got a double queen. Room was loud; paper thin walls. Love the breakfast, location and cleanliness! Would definitely stay again, just wish the building had a bit more care put into it.