Ratings based on 151 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent value for money

Posted Dec 11, 2016 on Hotels
Very clean, well organized, friendly personnel, strategically located to visit Naples, Pompei and Ercolano and also with few good pizzerie and restaurants nearby. need a car but has abundant free parking space. free high speed wifi working perfectly everywhere. only breakfast could be inproved but we would defnitely come back and use as a base for visiting Naples, Pompei, Ercolano, etc
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

just okay...

Posted Oct 22, 2016 on Hotels
cant really complain for the price, no restaurants near by, need to ealk very far into town. no entertainment near by, rooms are clean thgouh
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from L

Quiet, relaxing place to stay.

Posted Aug 17, 2016
This hotel is about 5 mins walk from the town, in a pretty, quiet spot away from the noise and crowds. Our room looked over the pool, which was maintained daily. All staff were friendly and helpful, even though our Italian was non-existent. Restaurant was excellent, there is another restaurant up the hill with great sunset views over Naples. Easy access to Pompeii, Herculaneum, Vesuvius etc by car or train. Good buffet breakfast. Room clean and modern with modern en-suite and balcony, which had a clothes dryer and table and chairs. Fab roof terrace for drinks at night, with amazing views and sunsets.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Glasgow

Worth the climb

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Pros: The best thing was the view from the roof terrace
Cons: Having transport from the train station would make it ore accesable
Location: It's at the bottom of a volcano with the train station 15 minutes away. View on one side is Vesuvius and on the other the bay of Naples
A fantastic hotel with great staff an a great view. Please note that it is on the side of a volcano and so a bit of work to walk to but worth it if you are fit. Plenty of parking if you drive rather than take the train and the locals are also very helpful
5 out of 5
by Jay from Leicester

Under Rated

Posted Jul 19, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel Marad seems to be rated lower than it should. It was an excellent stay in all requests. If the biggest complaint I have is that the containered coffee was not hot enough , it must have been good. Even that , you just ask for any coffee of your choice and they will bring it. Things to note : The area outside of the place has little to offer so make sure you have a car . Also there is no guarantee that the staff will speak in English ( except the Reception ) .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, PA

Nice hotel and facilities in the area

Posted Jul 3, 2016
Pros: Amenities, cleanliness, location, views.
Cons: The front desk staff could be a bit more friendly - the first guy was real nice, but the second guy could be nicer.
Location: Near Pompeii, Naples.
We stayed here two nights to visit Pompeii, and we are glad we did! This is a little mini paradise in the area, with unbelievable views of the sea, and a great restaurant on site. The rooms were recently remodeled and very comfortable, and the rooftop deck was amazing! They have a bar upstairs, and having drinks on the deck was so nice. It is only 15 minutes from Pompeii, and has secure parking. Our AC was not working the first night, but they were able to fix the next day. Overall a great experience, and I definitely recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
by Malcolm from Inverness

A stones throw from Mt. Vesuvius

Posted Apr 13, 2016 on Hotels
This Hotel was being refurbished during our stay. But it did not affect our stay and the hotel staff were very accommodating. Our room (For 4 people) was clean, tidy, modern and spacious. Amazing views of Mount Vesuvius from our Baconys, and the Bay of Naples. Perfect location for visiting Vesuvius, and the local tourist attractions. Free parking on site too. Will definitely stay here again when we return to Italy.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Not a 4* hotel

Posted Nov 9, 2015
Pros: Free wifi, free parking and clean rooms
Cons: Staff, service, food, location .....basically everything to bring it up to a 4* standard
Location: Nearby Pompeii and mount Vesuvius and Amalfi Coast is a nice drive and not too far. The area itself is very run down and disappointing
Staff were not welcoming or helpful, didn't seem like they wanted to be there. The room is very basic but clean. Restaurant very limited menu and mediocre food, felt very rushed to eat and leave, price reasonable. The bar service was very poor, I suggest if you have no experience what so ever making cocktails don't offer....the worst drinks ever! Breakfast was stale and served with yesterday's coffee. General appearance of hotel ok, located not far frompompeii and mount Vesuvius, however the surrounding area is comparable to slums.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Strange neighborhood, good price

Posted Oct 27, 2015 on Hotels
There was free WiFi but you had to be in the hotel lobby to use it. There was a nice terrace on the 3rd floor of the main building and the WiFi worked up there. The shower was small but on par with other showers in Italy. The hotel staff were curt and somewhat unfriendly. I couldn't figure out how to work the air conditioning so I opened the balcony door. Not the greatest experience but the price was right and we left early for the Naples airport.
4 out of 5
by PAUL

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 6, 2015 on Hotels