Ratings based on 135 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Belfast

Excellent location

Posted Aug 26, 2017
Clean hotel, literally a minute or two from the beach and 5 minutes walk from the main hub of La Carihuela.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Very tired hotel in need of modernisation in the public areas and accommodation. The breakfast was poor, the hot buffet was limited and the food was cold. The biggest plus point for this hotel is it's location and the excellent beach bar and sun beds
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Close to Beach but....

Posted Aug 4, 2017
Fairly pleasant stay. No problem getting a sunbed by the pool. Buffet breakfast was ok, and staff ok too. Really noisy though... our room was just opposite the hotel next door and you can hear all the night events they put on. We were in a room next to the band staging area- just unlucky I guess - but didn't need that at midnight. They offered to move us to another room which was good of them, but it was our last night so no point....
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel more for adults rather than family's.

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Cons: We also found a lot of people who weren't staying at the hotel just come in from the front had a swim and then left.
Location: The hotel is in a lovely location the beach bar Tropicana was great the food was excellent.
We had a nice stay. We found the beds very uncomfortable . The room was clean and tidy. They was no tea or coffee or kettle in the room. So you couldn't make a hot drink if you wanted one. We also had 2 towels taken of our sun beds while we had lunch .
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

pleasant stay

Posted Jun 5, 2017 on Hotels
nothing wrong with this hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cornwall UK

Friendly little hotel

Posted Apr 9, 2017
All in all a pleasant stay, nice hotel, breakfast pretty good. Staff friendly enough...A bit limited amenities early season, right on a sandy beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from espana

Good old style hotel with quality fittings

Posted Mar 3, 2017
Close to beach and Benalmadena with plenty of shops and restaurants to visit
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rochester

Good position

Posted Feb 3, 2017
We've stayed here a few times now as its conveniently placed for family we meet nearby. It has definitely gone downhill recently though and we probably won't stay again. The staff, although not unpleasant, are not welcoming or friendly. The room, although clean, had one socket which had a three socket extension in it, all being used, was very dark because even though we booked 'partial sea view' we looked onto the side of the hotel next door which blocked all light. The bed creaked everytime we moved so had disturbed night. Finally, the breakfast was decidedly scaled back. Having stayed before the choice was much less than before. The place needs a bit of upgrading and, unlike before, the staff don't make up for this shortfall so we'd definitely look for an alternative
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 24, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Matthew from St Helens

Great Location - but needs some improvements.

Posted Jul 15, 2016 on Hotels
The Hotel Tropicana is in a great location, a stones throw away from the beach and seafront and 15 minutes walk from Benalmadena harbour and 25 minutes to Torremolinos town. Although very clean, the decor in the Tropicana reception and its rooms is dark and dated. Whilst the bathroom appeared to have been modernised it's worth noting that the shower is situated in a bath tub and there are no handles to hold on to when stepping out of the bath. Rooms have a fan, air con and a small fridge. The fridge is big enough to squeeze in a bottle of wine or two! ;) There's no Wifi in the rooms and only a single English news channel available on the TV. I found my mattress uncomfortable as did my partner. However, this could have been a one off as my parents didn't find theirs to be a problem. Finally I need to warn you about the pool area. It's small and the loungers are limited (about 18 in total). As a result of this we spent most of our sun bathing time on the beach opposite the hotel. €5 to rent a bed for the day or €4.50 for Tropicana residents. Overall an enjoyable stay.