Ratings based on 76 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from england

Stayed before on several occasions.

Posted Nov 21, 2017
Pros: Gardens, external facade, Ideal location for various events and places. Friendly helpful staff, especially reception. Very good breakfast.
Cons: Portion size of Evening Meal. Although tasty just too small. Asked for more vegetables which were very expensive. £7.00 for very little!
Location: Location ideal, Bristol nearby, Cotswolds nearby. Beautiful arboretum and gardens for leisurely walk.
Stayed before it changed hands. Now really expensive fior drinks very disappointed. Asked for Port after dinner to find that none of 3 bars had any! Prosecco £35 a bottle! It's still a lovely hotel, the reception and new bar area lovely and comfortable. Our room was very clean and comfy but very tired looking. However, we would probably stay again mainly because of convenient location. Also, some very good deals available.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Wiltshire

Birthday Celebration for my girlfriend

Posted Nov 15, 2017
Pros: Country setting, classy decor, spa and restaurant
Cons: Ensure that the lift is fully operable!?
Location: Close to a number of Cotswolds market towns and attractions, as well as Slimbridge Wetlands
Fabulous location and facilities. Great location for a celebratory weekend - stylish decor, beautiful grounds and small arboretum, spa and pool, excellent food and friendly, efficient staff. It was busy weekend with a Murder Mystery group booking and a wedding but that did not detract. The only downside (especially given the high occupancy rate) was that the single guest lift was out of order!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bristol

Very nice fitness gym, pool and jaccuzi

Posted Nov 14, 2017
Pros: Good food, location and leisure facilities with spa and treatments if you wish to indulge
Cons: Bed and pillows could be more comfortable. Difficulty in opening windows for some fresh air due to the safety leads. Fan in bathroom very noisy.
Location: Nice gardens to walk around.
A lovely relaxing time in a beautiful location. Interesting history of the building.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maesteg south Wales

A great Victorian estate manor house

Posted Nov 4, 2017
The hotel it’s grounds and gardens and arboretum were spectacular food and hotel amenities were excellent The only fault was the mattress in room 214 which was very uncomfortable and need of replacement
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bedford, UK

Beautiful to look at but wouldn't want to stay...

Posted Oct 30, 2017
Pros: Architecture and gardens are wonderful to look at.
Cons: Food was unimpressive. Service was slow. Bar experience was 'poor'. Restaurant experience was 'poor'. Whole experience was 'very disappointing'
Location: The grounds of the hotel are well worth a meander about.
Driving up to this hotel, you get the impression that you are about to experience something very special. The building is magnificent and the architects have done a wonderful job at mixing the old building with newer hotel rooms. Something to admire while waiting to check in for 20 minutes. The rooms were small, comfortable and efficient. Our room have several non-functional lights which reception were not to keen on looking into as the maintenance staff had all left for the day (at 5:15....) however after some ranting, we eventually got some light bulbs. The dining room was impressive to look at but after been looked down on my the Maitre D because THEY had lost our dinner reservation, we found the dinner menu not so impressive. The food itself was fancy in appearance and presentation but not taste... rather plain actually. Service was poor to non-existent. We gave up after one course and left. The bar was equally impressive to look at but seemed to lack something. There was no beer on tap, no cider and one a single lager, despite the rows of pump handles. The head steward was a little too 'in your face' and despite asking for a large and a bottle of cider, we were presented with 2 fizzy pink things were did not want. There was a language challenge with nearly all the staff. Breakfast was unimpressive during which I overheard the chef tell the stewards to close the food counter after we had left, for H&S results... "after we left" ?!?!.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from guildford

Terrible food and service. Uncomfortable beds

Posted Oct 25, 2017
Hotel is tired and need update. Smelly and dirty spa facilities. Dirty water coolers. Rude staff. Don’t take recommended menu as usually this would be not fish of the day but over cooked fish of last week that they could not sell. Dinners like in overpriced pub on the motorway.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Bait and Switch Hotel

Posted Sep 24, 2017
Pros: Lobby/breakfast
Cons: Everything else.
I was so excited to arrive at this hotel. The entrance, lobby, and main areas are beautiful. Then we got to our room. Our room was not even in the hotel, but in an out building that looked like old dorms or servants quarters. The carpeting was torn and extremely dirty in the hallways and room. The bathroom was dirty and the beds were horrible and worn. They were rock hard at the top and sank all the way to the box springs at the bottom. There was no air conditioning which is not unusual for European hotels. What was unususal was that you could not open the windows because they were locked! We had to sign a waiver saying we wouldn't sue the hotel if our property was stolen or damaged! There was a fan in the closet, but there are no plugs near the window, so it was useless. If you want to visit the hotel
4 out of 5
by Katherine

Value for money ... at the right time

Posted Sep 9, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent location, stunning building, even on a wet Sunday in August. Room facilities were adequate, although the pillow was fairly hard. As the hotel was not full, we enjoyed a quiet night, although soundproofing in the rooms was evidently lacking. Good breakfast buffet, good pool for early swim. All in all, we had a very pleasant overnight - but it was obvious on the Monday morning that corporate business was flooding in for meetings and exhibitions - with few public areas not given over to this sector.
1 out of 5
by Ben

Poor value for money

Posted Sep 4, 2017 on Hotels
The problem with this olave is it doesnt reflect very good value for money. Paid £170, but probably worth £70. - checked into room that handt been cleaned (i.e. unmade back no clean towels) - spec or room was poor. No gowns, no comp water etc - furniture looked 1990s (inc bathroom) - staff complaining of being tired and iver worked - food missing from breakfast - amoungst other issues +ves - grounds were exceptional - foyer looked good.
4 out of 5
by Paul

Beatiful setting and adequate accomodation

Posted Sep 4, 2017 on Hotels
Superb venue and location in fabulous grounds. The original house and gardens are beautiful but additional rooms (courtyard) are no more than adequate and looking tired in places. We were planning on dining in the restaurant but the menu choice was somewhat limited against our expectations.