Ratings based on 353 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

wedding hotel

Posted Aug 25, 2016
Pros: old Victorian charm
Cons: Air conditioning in rooms
Very nice Hotel however not suitable for the general hotel user on Friday nights and weekends when they are catering for weddings. Catering for breakfast was an issue as there were too many guests. The atrium restaurant area closed when we stayed there due to a private wedding function. No air conditioning in the rooms making it very hot in the room and windows could not be left open due to insects.
5 out of 5
by John from UK

Birthday Treat

Posted Aug 19, 2016 on Hotels
A surprise night away to celebrate a Birthday
4 out of 5
by Paul from North wales

Lovely place and relaxing

Posted Aug 14, 2016 on Hotels
We were staying for our wedding anniversary on our way home from holiday.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Tortworth

very good large hotel

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Pros: The pool and spa was good.
Cons: Find the right direction to the rooms could have been easier if we were told the name of the wing of the hotel to look for.
Location: Nothing of much interest in the location for me. Had to travel to Bristol where we spent most of the time.
My wife and I enjoyed our stay in Tortworth. The hotel was pleasant and enabled us to relax and explore the area. We couldn't find much to do in the immediate area but that didn't really matter as the hotel was close enough to the M5 to enable us to get into Bristol quickly. I would stay here again.
5 out of 5
by Colin

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 10, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Paul from King's Lynn

Fantastic place which we'll definitely re-visit

Posted Aug 9, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is absolutely stunning. We were only staying one night and turned up in a horrible courtesy car after ours had broken down on the motorway. As soon as we arrived, the receptionist made us feel so welcome and gave us a lovely room in the main house with a huge window and v comfortable bed. We had a very good deal with dinner included and had invited family for an evening meal which we all enjoyed in the beautiful restaurant. Breakfast was also very good. Only down side was that the bar wasn't big enough for everyone to enjoy a pre-dinner drink so we had to sit in a back room which smelt very musty.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 3, 2016
An amazing place - so big and yet could accommodate two weddings - an 80th birthday and still have space for people to chill out. The grounds are wonderful. - Only snag was that main courses in the evening was a bit bland and we did feel at the weekend to be hurried.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 23, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great historic hotel with fabulous grounds

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: Building, Grounds
Cons: Dinner Selection
Nice hotel, excellent history, beautiful grounds. Room and staff were all good, but felt the dining experience could be improved just a little, hence the 4 star rather than 5 rating.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 15, 2016 on Hotels