Ratings based on 317 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Somerset

Quiet hotel.

Posted Dec 7, 2016
Pros: The spa and pool.
Location: We were visiting SS Great Britain in Bristol specifically.
Very enjoyable, relaxing hotel. even though it was busy when we visited. Good food, nice room and great pool.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel and grounds

Posted Dec 4, 2016
Pros: Easy access to motorway and close, yet it felt like it was I the middle of the country.
Cons: Lighting up the drive way.
Very nice hotel. It was busy, being the run up to Christmas, but the staff coped well. Very spacious, clean rooms. Lovely warm pool. Only negative, hotel could have looked more welcoming with some more Christmas decs (very limited), especially on the driveway up and grounds. The hotel is a magnificent looking building, ideal for an "oldie worldie" Christmas, but was sparcely decorated inside and nothing outside. Would definitely come back and will be rebooking for 'Adele' tribute evening in 2017.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Pros: We felt it was a real event staying there. We were there with our 13 and 14 year old daughters and it had a real wow factor. Rooms are very clean and comfortable and the grounds were lovely.
Cons: The bar food is expensive and quite elaborate - they should have a more casual option as well.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Peaceful

Posted Oct 28, 2016
Location: Fabulous setting
Comfortable bed, nice room Decoration tired, in need of redoing in areas
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from wiltshire

Lovely hotel near to the M5

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Lovely hotel in beautiful grounds. Excellent breakfast.with good service. A bit of a trek to our room which was very spacious.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bit of a maze but very nice

Posted Oct 7, 2016
Pros: Nice decor, comfy bed & helpful staff. Lovely grounds
Cons: Maze of corridors, small bathroom and small TV screen.
Location: Rural location
Very impressive building, interior looks recently refurbished. Courtyard rooms (most of the rooms) are reached through a maze of corridors. They're well appointed, with comfy beds. Bathroom was a bit small but shower was excellent. TV is quite small for the size of room and didn't seem to be positionable - minor issue. Wifi code access provided at checkin, as was a reduced price voucher for breakfast.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice 'country' hotel. Staff very helpful

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Pros: pleasant grounds and gardens
Great hotel with a good restaurant/breakfast. Staff very friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very nice however remote. Parking ample but remote

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Hotel is massive and you work off calories on way to breakfast as the place is like a warren. Facilities i.e. Jacuzzi a bit small and only reset about every 10 mins hence a que. would have been nice if we could have booked a treatment online.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cheltenham

Terrible nights sleep but Beautiful Building

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Pros: Grounds
Cons: Change the mattress and pillows.
Location: Close to Cotswolds way
The building and grounds are beautiful. Spa facilities are not special, gym is poor. Mattresses and pillows are very uncomfortable. Nice between the bar can travel to the room, so other guest can disturb you till the early morning (4pm for me). Drinks are over priced: two lemonades cost me £7. Complains are ignored.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Satisfactory overall. Despite no smoking policy, room stunk of smoke and outside window was full of cigarette butts. Though somewhat out of hotel's control and subsequently cleaned, housekeeping should not have left the room in that state.