Ratings based on 263 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
60% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Figures, Spain

Worn out Needs renovation

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Very outdated Food is not good at all Needs renovation
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maryland

last resort

Posted Sep 2, 2017
Friendly staff. helpful. rooms are not well maintained. broken toilet uncomfortable beds parking is convenient great location
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent

Our third visit

Posted Aug 4, 2017
Pros: Roof top swimming pool area, reception bar and outside tables, location to beach and restaurants.
Cons: The rooms seem a tad out-dated - but I think they are great value.
Location: The hotel is well situated for the beach, shops including a supermarket and many bars and restaurants. It's location is one of it's very best features
Seeing as this was our third visit, I think I can say we like this hotel. We are able to book two rooms for one person each on a full board basis for a very reasonable price in peak season. What's not to like? This large hotel is very well situated, close to the beach and restaurants. This time around we chose to stay on a full board basis and were able to request a packed lunch for days out. Breakfast had lots of hot and cold choices and drinks from the machines are free. At other meals, all drinks had to be ordered and paid for on entering the dining room. Several evenings there were themed meals which included French and Catalan whilst we were there. The dining room did get busy at times and sometimes we had to queue before entering as there were no free tables. There are so many tables that the wait was never very long and, in this case, a table was allocated when it became free. The pool area, accessed by a series of bizarre escalators, sported astro turf around the pool and sunbed areas and more shade than previously provided by the addition of a couple of canopies. A bar, situated in the large reception area by the hotel entrance, serves drinks which can be taken outside (or taken at the inside tables if preferred), so you can sit and watch the world (or other holiday-makers) go by all day and in the evenings. Overall, we like the Don Juan Tossa Hotel for a great value, no fuss holiday. We keep coming back, which says it all.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Decent hotel, horrible parking

Posted Jul 16, 2017 on Hotels
The parking is moreorless a deal breaker. If you check in late you will not get parking near the hotel and have to park a 15min walk away. Also, get the breakfast very early. The place gets sooo crowded.
3 out of 5
by GRANT

Not a 4 star hotel

Posted Jul 10, 2017 on Hotels
Rooms were dated and single beds, two pushed together kind of made a king. It didn't ruin our time in Tossa, because we only slept there and ate breakfast, but I wouldn't stay there again.
4 out of 5
by gorka

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 15, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 15, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent

Nicely located for beach and shops

Posted Aug 5, 2016
This is our second visit to this hotel. Nicely positioned for the beach and some shops, restaurants and bars, the Don Juan Tossa hotel is great value and offers different board basis including all inclusive (which we tried last year). Rooms are fairly basic but very clean, hotel staff mostly courteous and helpful. Clientele are predominantly Spanish. The pool area is accessed by a series of 4 escalators, which is very weird. All things considered, it's a good choice for the money.
1 out of 5
by John Ronnie from Scotland

Worst hotel ever - closer to 1 star than 4

Posted Sep 17, 2015 on Hotels
This was the worst hotel we have ever stayed in. Hotel itself in a great location and Tossa de Mar fabulous as ever BUT.....food was awful, cheapest meats and cheeses,mostly processed, cheap fruit juice, bread and pastries pre-packed and not particularly fresh even the fruit was not good which is unusual for Spain. The hot food, bacon, sausage etc was also of a very poor quality. Rooms were clean but very tired and beds uncomfortable with thin mattresses and metal frames - ideal for walking into and hurting feet! Main reception area, bar and entertainments area is open plan so is VERY noisy constantly especially with the children's entertainment. Swimming pool was grimy round edges, sunbeds need a good scrub and there was a horrible sewage smell in one area. Pool was often full of inflatables for the kids animation and again very noisy. Reception staff and management were very unhelpful and downright rude (when they weren't ignoring you) However the 2 guys who ran the bar were really nice, helpful and worked really hard ...and made good tea. We love Tossa de Mar and had seen this hotel from the outside many times - looks great ..sad that the inside doesn't even come near expectations
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 29, 2015 on Hotels
it would have been better had the staff spoke some english