Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Donald from Gerrard's Cross

15th Anniversary getaway

Posted Aug 29, 2015 on Hotels
Absolutely fabulous
4 out of 5
by MICHAEL E from Worthing

Summer break August 2015

Posted Aug 25, 2015 on Hotels
Great location for walking in the Sierra Espuna and lovely quiet rural location. Staff are excellent and the hotel is beautiful. Only slight disappointment was that the excellent Menu del Dia is no longer available in the evening (at least in the summer)and the menu offered had a far more limited choice and was not as good value for money.
2 out of 5
by Mark from Australia

Posted Aug 22, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel reception did not appear to have our booking which was for 3 nights! Room was clean and comfortable when we finally sorted it out. Reception staff's English very, very basic. One of the male waiters we found extremely rude and unhelpful which was contrasted sharply with one of the female staff who couldn't do enough for you, unfortunately the bad experience far outweighed the good one. Beautiful surroundings I would recommend staying somewhere else in the area.
4 out of 5
by Michael from Bicester, UK

What a cool place to stay.

Posted Jul 31, 2015 on Hotels
After a drive through Sierra de Espuna with the phenomenal views this was a welcome and charming hotel. The monastery setting is special and the attached church stunning - even the first bell chime of the morning timed well to call you to breakfast at 8 - and an excellent breakfast! The aircon was welcome and don't miss a trip up to the Mirador and neighbouring Aledo.
5 out of 5
by Freddy from Singapore

Quiet setting

Posted Oct 25, 2013 on Hotels
The hotel was apparently converted from a former monastery, but the rooms now are ceratinly not spartan. Very comfortable rooms in a very beautiful and quiet surrounding! The views of the mountains from there are excellent and wonderful for evening walks. For the more adventurous, there are also treks you can take into the forest reserve. But becasue it is quite way off, you will probably need your own transport to get there. Staff are friendly and helpful - even help near midnight to book tickets for us to visit the Ahlambra the next day by phone. Overall, an excellent choice
5 out of 5
by Jellyman from Midlands UK

Peaceful & relaxing

Posted Oct 12, 2013 on Hotels
This was our second stay at this hotel which I consider to be almost perfect. My only criticism is that the older members of staff seem to be somewhat 'set in their ways' and laxadasical, luckily the younger staff members are helpful, pleasant and enthusiastic which tends to make up for their failings.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unique hotel

Posted Sep 21, 2013 on Hotels
The hotel is ideally situated for visiting the Sierra Espuna and local towns and villages. We stayed in a spacious room on the first floor with a balcony and a wonderful view of the mountain scenery. The food in the restaurant and in the bar was excellent and the menu del dia was a terrific bargain! I would certainly want to stay there again as soon as the opportunity arose. Overall an excellent and unique experience.
4 out of 5
by Maria from Aledo

very nice stay

Posted Aug 18, 2013 on Hotels
Love it, I will return!
5 out of 5
by June and Paul from Sheffield

Complete Satisfaction

Posted Jun 11, 2013 on Hotels
A wonderful location, a building and surrounds with an intriguing past and staff that showed many wonderful attributes that made our stay a memorable one.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great value for money

Posted Oct 28, 2012 on Hotels
Extremely surprised to see an inexpensive high-quality hotel in a very interesting area of southern Spain. Highly recommended.