Ratings based on 26 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles

Beautiful country chateau

Posted Aug 2, 2017
The staff at Chateau de Jallanges were wonderful. We arrived late and Helen left little notes around the property directing us to the room. The children had a great time following the clues. The hotel was beautiful. They have done a great job restoring the property. The breakfast was fantastic with freshly baked pies and several homemade jams
5 out of 5
by Randall

Wonderful Chateau in the countryside

Posted May 31, 2017 on Hotels
We spent several days/nites at this wonderful Chateau located in the country side. Staff and owner was very friendly. There is a very nice garden area and lots of tables and chairs to enjoy. A rental car is required to stay at this property as it is several kilometer from a village.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Shabby chic and total charm

Posted Sep 20, 2016 on Hotels
We had a suite and apart from the one double, the other single beds were very small. Would have been fine for kids. The breakfast was amazing and the lady host was charming. It was easy to forgive the more homely aspects as the owner had bought it as a ruin at an early age and done it up himself. A really amazing thing.
5 out of 5
by Georgy from USA

Authentic Chateau Experience

Posted Aug 17, 2016 on Hotels
The Chateau De Jallanges is an authentic Chateau experience. While you may find the fittings somewhat aged, it adds to the charm of a magnificent historical Chateau. We absolutely loved our stay! Highly recommend the breakfast, for the awesome experience of dining in a royal setting.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Nice castle experience

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Pros: Nice quiet and well maintained castle. Still a lot of work to do but Stephane is doing a great job with the restauration. Room was clean and comfy.
Location: Near Vourvay where you can visit the Vourvay Cave (winery). Near Tour
Nice stay at a castle. For those who want experiment a night at a castle at a reasonable price ($315 C) it worth the money. Very good breakfast included in the price.
4 out of 5
by Joseph from Atlanta, GA- USA

Posted Aug 2, 2016 on Hotels
Our stay at the Chateau de Jallanges was a truly unique experience; rarely, does one get to spend the night in an actual chateau! Thick masonry walls, breeze through the windows at night, squeaky wood floors, ancient timbers, high ceilings, views out to French gardens, a tree-lined allee approach and a pea gravel carriage court along with some resident farm animals. While Jallanges is a bit remote- a short drive through rolling farmland from Vouvray, it was an enjoyable stay. The staff and owner was friendly and the breakfast in the big dining room very nice. Definitely something our of the ordinary!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A castle by the name of chateau

Posted Oct 5, 2015
Pros: Everything
Cons: It could be cheaper
Location: It's in the general vicinity of several chateaus that can be toured.
I can't gush enough about this place. It looks like a castle & has all the feel of one on the inside. It was a splurge price wise 230 Euro but the apartment we got slept 5 so if you split it up among several it's not so bad. One room had a double bed. Another had 2 twins with a sitting area. The last one wasn't much more than a closet & had a twin. The bathroom had 2 sinks & a claw foot tub. The breakfast was 13 Euro but worth every penny. There was a chapel & garden on site to be explored. The chateau was in the booneys but town was about 15 minutes with several eating places. The receptionist was British so language is no problem. I highly recommend this place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami, Fl

Chateau experience

Posted Jun 21, 2015
The chateau is beautiful, tranquil and relaxing. Would love to enjoy a longer stay. Our rooms were nicely decorated in a charming style and views of the gardens. The rooms were large and comfortable. Helen was extremely helpful and nice to us. She made us feel very welcome.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice chateau

Posted May 29, 2015 on Hotels
Lovely chateau in lovely settings, but a bit run down
5 out of 5
by robert from Washington DC

Could do with out the Buzz!

Posted Nov 20, 2014 on Hotels
The property was magnificent and the host Helen was wonderful. The lights in the bedroom didn't work and they had an awful problem with flies in the room, hundreds of them! Made it nearly impossible to sleep with the buzzing noise! Killed as many as I could but they just kept coming back! A pest control company should contact them!