Ratings based on 38 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Picturesque and Comfortable

Posted Sep 27, 2017 on Hotels
I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at this delightful chateau. For an old building it has been maintained in good condition. The grounds are picturesque and the room, with a jacuzzi bath, was comfortable. Breakfast was very nice and the above and beyond service given to me, as a female travelling on my own with only rudimentary French was so nice to receive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful chateau out in the countryside

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Perfect for a romantic stay in the Loire valley. Very friendly owner, beautiful grounds (even a swimming pool), nice location a short drive from many sights. Rooms furnished just as a chateau should be. I loved it
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 2, 2017 by Violaine, Hotel Management
Dear Madam, Dear Sir, Many thanks for your message. I was delighted to welcome you in the Château de l'Aubrière. Kind regards Violaine de Lussac
4 out of 5
by sophie

Posted Aug 3, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 2, 2017
Chère Madame, Sachez que j'ai été ravie de vous accueillir au Château de l'Aubrière. Meilleures salutations Violaine de Lussac
5 out of 5
by Raymond

Refined tranquility

Posted Jul 2, 2017 on Hotels
The stay in the chateau was fantastic. The room was large and comfortable and well appointed. The Countess (owner) was a very gracious hostess and was very helpful with information about the local area and tourist sights. With 16 acres of park like grounds to ensure tranquility, the stay was pleasant and restful.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 22, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 2, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Quaint and classy

Posted Jun 22, 2016
Lovely owner sweetly checked us in and escorted us to our room. Pre-reserved candle-lit dinner was enjoyable, from both the French cuisine and the friendly server. I wish we had had time to wander more of the grounds.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

We didn't actually get to stay but. . .

Posted May 3, 2016
We arrived at the Chateau during a rally race where all the streets were blocked. We walked up to the chateau only to find out the owner had emailed Expedia 2 weeks prior to let them know the Chateau would be closed for the race and we wouldn't be staying there that night. The owner was extremely kind of very helpful in finding us a new chateau to stay in and made all the necessary calls and arrangements; we were very sad not to be staying at L'Aubriere but highly recommend from the very helpful staff.
5 out of 5
by Takayuki from Osaka

The real Manderley

Posted Oct 1, 2015 on Hotels
Beautiful chateau in a spacious garden. The decoration is excellent. Feels like you are staying in a palace. The hostess was a very social, kind lady (we loved her peacock). Too bad we didn't know about the candle light dinner which had to be ordered two days in advance. Highly recommended.
4 out of 5
by james from Naples,Florida

Posted Sep 28, 2015 on Hotels
Enjoyed our stay very much! The owner was very helpful and cooked a nice 5 course meal served by a very good waiter. Conversation with the owner added our special evening. Only drawback was a broken toilet seat in our room.