Ratings based on 216 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leeds

Very nice. Lovely castle and grounds

Posted Oct 31, 2017
Great. Really enjoyed it. Would come back to stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stunning Castle but bug infested room

Posted Oct 18, 2017
The Castle to view is stunning, however when shown to our room and told 'not to freek out' due to the infestation of Beatles and bugs on the walls and ceilings, literally thousands! we were concerned we were told all the rooms had the same problem and that the bugs would not move. Next day after finding several on and in the bed we left with several bites, the room is excellent size and character as long as you like bugs and the smell of damp.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Good quirky hotel with fantastic grounds

Posted Oct 14, 2017
Great building with quirky features and furnishings. The grounds and walks are fantastic and the staff very friendly. Biggest downside was the restaurant was closed on Thursday and Friday nights (the two nights we were staying) as they were not busy! They recommended a couple of restaurants 4 km away but no taxi service was available. If staying double check on the restaurant opening days as we ended up with B&B only.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Beautiful chateau on fabulous grounds

Posted Sep 14, 2017
I booked this for 2 nights as a treat for the family during a long European holiday and what a treat it was. The family room was large, comfortable and had 2 rooms separated by a spiral staircase which the kids loved. Yes it was quite warm (we visited in late August!) but being from Australia it was not an issue and the pedestal fans and open windows were sufficient for the rooms and the pool was refreshingly cool. The staff were friendly and helpful (except for one woman in the gift shop) and gave us a great recommendation for dinner. The pictures show how lovely the hotel is but the grounds were amazing and so much fun to explore. I highly recommend this chateau.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Beautiful stay in a castle!

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff, clean room, lovely setting.
Cons: Restaurant food was not great.
Location: Lots of chateaus and vineyards in the area to visit. This location is probably best accessed by car.
We greatly enjoyed our night at Chateau de la Bourdaisière. We had a beautiful room and spacious, clean bathroom. The grounds are lovely as well and we enjoyed walking through the gardens to see all of the tomatoes and dahlias. The staff were very helpful. Breakfast was delicious, however, I might skip dinner there. While the atmosphere is fun, the food was so-so. If you are looking for a castle "experience" in the Loire Valley, we highly recommend!
5 out of 5
by Janet

Posted Sep 6, 2017 on Hotels
Amazing property, the staff was very accommodating and the town was also beautiful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

All you would expect from a Chateau and more.

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Pros: The ambience
Cons: There really isn't anything we would change or wish to have changed.
Location: Its in the heart of the Loire Valley and all that the region has to offer
Step back into history in sumptuous surroundings. Greatly exceeded our expectations
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Johannesburg

Full of historical character

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Beautifully maintained historic buildings and grounds.
Cons: The food, although well prepared, is probably not quite up to the standard one might have expected for the price range.
Location: The chateau is well positioned to explore the royal chateaux at Amboise and Chemenceau as well as the various pretty towns and wineries in the area.
This hotel is a unique and special experience. The chateau is full of historical character and the grounds are expansive and beautifully maintained. The walled garden and the forest is wonderful for walks. There is plenty to do for children and the chateau is also well positioned as a base to explore the surrounding countryside. The room was large and comfortable although the absence of airconditioning may represent a challenge in very hot weather.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arona, Italy

Great place to stay in the Loire Valley

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Pros: It's an actual historic chateau in the valley of chateaux (Loire Valley, France).
Location: Loire Valley, France. Many chateaux nearby ready to be explored.
We were moving from west to east in the Loire Valley to stay near chateaux that we wanted to explore. This was a delight, and we could have stayed at least two nights in order to see more of the other chateaux in the area, but they were booked (we made extreme last-minute arrangements). Lots of grounds to explore, a swimming pool, tennis court, and an active tomato farm with an unbelievable variety of tomatoes (we had no idea) made this an interesting find. The decor was also quite eclectic, which further added to the charm.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Pretty chateau set in nice grounds

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Hotel itself was pleasant but spoilt by being advised on the Saturday night that the restaurant was fully booked and furthermore the restaurant would be closed on the Sunday evening as well. At the time of booking we were not advised of the likelihood of being unable to eat our evening meal unless we reserved a table in advance. As the hotel is located a few kilometres from the centre of town we were forced to drive into town looking for a place to eat.