Ratings based on 987 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overnight Stay

Posted Sep 1, 2016
Friendly staff on arrival, good selection at Breakfast, rooms neat and tidy, central location to restaurants. Definitely will stay there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient for the ferry

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Ok place to stay overnight. The hotel is a little tired.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

great central Townsville location.

Posted Jun 15, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: everything closeness to Woolies and a corner convenience store negates the need for mini-bars
Cons: Free WiFi would bring it up to 'par' with other contenders, but then again, these services are catastrophically slow anyway. No dramas with a hotspot.
Location: Nice and central, 5 to 10 minutes walk to Palmer Street and Flinders Street restaurants. 5mins to city centre.
A solid hotel experience, pleasing to see the HI brand is still strongly serving the travelling public, as it did when I first encountered it as a youngster. Large comfortable and clean room, great panoramic views, central location to walk to the Strand, Palmer Street and Flinders Street restaurants, or city centre. Friendly capable reception and restaurant staff, no dramas with anything. 2 days on business, only sampled their continental breakfast (excellent), so can't rate their dinners. 24 Hr gym looked great for an hour's workout, but chose the outdoor running option instead. Would stay there again anyday. Thanks HI, keep up the proud tradition in TSV.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel very central

Posted Jun 11, 2016 on Lastminute
I spent 5 nights there. Enjoyed my stay. Only negative was the shower. On two occasions the shower temperature was cold. Breakfast was nice and all the staff were very friendly.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to everything, great restaurants, shops etc

Posted May 31, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Easy - staff helpful, friendly and rooms were lovely
Cons: Nothing
Location: In the centre of everything!
Friendly warm staff, great buffet and comfortable rooms
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Great location and views

Posted May 4, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: View and cleanliness was 1st class.
Cons: Nothing really maybe give customers the option of micro wave ....
Location: Cowboys leagues club,taxis & restaurants right there Sunday markets at front door. Enjoyable walk to The Strand. Magnetic island breathtaking.
Quite enjoyed our stay. Would have topped it off for us if there was a microwave in the room as well as ice ... We were able to get an ice bucket from the kitchen though with no problems at all .... The cleaning staff were fantastic .... The view was amazing and being close to everything made it easy to get around ... Would defiantly recommend staying here ....
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 16, 2016 on Wotif
Great value for money Lovely breakfast If you offer to do a survey you should not have to put more detail than what you want to put
5 out of 5
by Zita from Townsville

Perfect City Stay

Posted Mar 8, 2016 on Hotels
Had a pleasant stay. Friendly easy check in & check out. Right in the City so a great location & walking distance to everything except the Strand/Beach which is still walk-able but probably a bit far for most & out of the question if you have kids. Overall perfect stay - just wish we could have made the most out of it by staying another night Roof top Pool is horrible. Seriously need to fix that up!!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 14, 2016 by Michelle, Hotel Management
Hi Zita, Thank you for your review. I am thrilled that you had a pleasant stay with us recently with a seamless check in and check out. It is great to know that our central location within the city is ideal for your recent stay. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel for an extended stay in the future. Kind regards Rachel Marsilio Marketing Executive
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Outdated and in need of repair!

Posted Mar 3, 2016 on Hotels
Thankfully only stayed overnight whilst on a business trip. The room was old, dated and in desperate need of repair. The air con and room had a very damp mildew smell. Bathroom was also dated and need of repair. The pictures do not match what you get!!!!!! The room was definitely not designed for the business traveller as the work desk could hardly fit a laptop, yet alone the lamp on the desk! Being an IHG member also meant nothing and the front desk staff seemed to not care, when all these issues were raised with them.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 14, 2016 by Michelle, Hotel Management
Hi Traveller, Thank you for your review. I regret that our hotel did not meet your expectations during your recent stay with us. Please accept my apologies for the issues you encountered as an IHG Rewards Club Member. I hope welcome you back to the hotel in the future so that we can provide you with the stay experience you have come to expect from Holiday Inn. Kind regards Rachel Marsilio Marketing Executive
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Posted Mar 1, 2016 on Wotif
close to great Restaurants, sunday market is right out front, hotel staff were all awesome and very helpful , had a fantastic holiday!...very relaxing would definitely stay here again
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 7, 2016 by Rachel, Hotel Management
Hi Jody, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I was pleased to read that you had a fantastic holiday with us recently. It is wonderful to receive such great feedback about the service provided by our team. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind regards Rachel Marsilio Marketing Executive