Ratings based on 617 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Great location on Palmer Street

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Pros: Free parking, easy access to restaurants, shops and beach.
Cons: Cutlery and kitchen utensils.
Location: Palmer Street is a premium dining area for Townsville, with several excellent options available within 200M of the hotel.
The hotel is 20 minutes from the airpot and is centrally located to good eating establishments, the beach and shops.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 16, 2016 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Hi Ron, I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We certainly are fortunate to have such a central location. I am sorry you found the kitchen utensils to be a negative. Was there a specific issue with the cutlery and utensils? While not extensive, we have found those provided usually suit most circumstances.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to restaurants and shops

Posted Jul 4, 2016
hotel staff were very helpful. nice basic room. very small tv. unable to close blinds properly
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 16, 2016 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Hi, I am pleased to hear that you found the team at Gateway to be helpful during your recent stay. We have investigated the maintenance issues you have raised and are currently working to resolve these.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sydney

Very basic

Posted May 11, 2016
Pros: The bed
Cons: Fist of all sun unbrellas at the pool area. Larger TV screen.
Location: Very close to the city centre. Everything in walking distance. And very close to the busiest bridge in Townsville. Loud traffic noise.
Nothing is really wrong with this place but nothing amazing either. The smallest TV screen ever seen to mankind only matched by the bath tub. Very clean and comfy bed. Good airconditioning. Small balcony with too large furniture and aircon unit very loud. Add the traffic noise from the busy bridge next by and you don't want to go outside. The pool area is fab but unusable as there is no shade whatsoever. Welcome to the land of skin cancer!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Very well presented property conveniently located.

Posted May 10, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Refer above.
Cons: More Foxtel Channels.
Location: Good restaurants in walking distance in Palmer Street and the CBD.
We enjoyed our stay in a hotel very well presented with good security,conveniently located,free parking and a pool and fitness centre.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible start to weekend getaway

Posted May 9, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: The rooms were nice.
Our experience at Oaks was quite shocking from the start. As soon as we checked in we were ready for a great weekend in Townsville but as soon as the elevator doors opened on to our Level 8 floor we were confronted by the most repulsive smell and a strange man outside on of our hotel rooms. We rang reception who did come up straight away but they were unsuccessful in convincing him to come down to level 1. We were also concerned for the receptionist's safety speaking to this man as she was the only on duty. She then apologized and told us to come down to reception and they'd sort out a new room. We left all of our bags in one of our rooms so had to return to the same level. Much to our surprise the strange man was still there as well as the stench. We felt unsettled instantly and rushed downstairs. The ordeal put us behind a good hour and although the staff were apologetic at first there was no follow up. We also weren't made aware the man was still there. We had assumed police had already taken him away. The new rooms were nice but the experience was all a bit strange. I'm sure the receptionist was a little shaken by the experience too and would have preferred to have another staff member there to support her.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from melbourne australia

Needs an urgent update

Posted May 8, 2016
No remote for the aircon in the bedroom No TV in the bedroom Old looking Bed was rather comfortable
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

All good - will stay again

Posted Apr 30, 2016 on Wotif
Convenient, as advertised, pleasant staff, good parking
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NQ.

Good location , close to restaurants and CBD .

Posted Apr 25, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Location and overall cleanliness
Cons: As stated above , media entertainment as a matter of necessity !
Location: Good locations with many dining and bar / lounge options .
Very disappointed with the rating of this hotel that the tv was so small in size . Also no Foxtel channels is unheard of today even in the lowest rated accomodation options . We're told by one of the managers that some of the rooms we're still awaiting this upgrade . Will not return anytime soon !
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cairns

Posted Apr 25, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Convenience and price for two bedrooms
Cons: the bed throw is stained. More milk
Nice rooms, great view, spacious balcony, accessible parking. Great that it had a washing machine.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to excellent restaurants

Posted Apr 24, 2016
Fabulous 2 bedroom unit on level 2 near the pool. Quick check in, friendly staff who were welcoming