Ratings based on 41 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
53% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 8, 2017
Was electrocuted by a hairdryer and the breakfast was not nice
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Building site

Posted Nov 19, 2016
This hotel has rude staff, and has a sky scraper being built nx door. No hot water, and I've had better meals out of a 10 man rashion box in the Marines. Stay away from this dump.
2 out of 5
by Jamie from London

Not good for the price paid!

Posted Jun 17, 2016 on Hotels
Staff spoke little English and on our last day they didn't give us fresh towels but took the old one. It took 45 minutes and 3 trips to reception to finally get a towel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Do not stay at this hotel!!!!

Posted May 25, 2016
It took them 45 mins to find are booking when it was right under there noses then they tried to make it look like it was are fault the staff at this hotel is very poorly trained They keep you passport in a unlocked draw at reception The rooms are not clean and unsafe The safe in the room is not bolted down you could just pick it up and walk away with it Will never stay at this hotel again
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Western Australia

DON'T STAY HERE!

Posted Mar 29, 2016
Pros: Nothing! The only perk was the location.
Cons: Everything! The cleanliness and condition of the rooms for a start.
Location: 2 minute walk from the beach, restaurants, bars and shopping.
Let me start by saying no part of my review is an exaggeration. I booked this hotel based on the photos in this Expedia page of the hotel and the rooms. The room we received is NOTHING like the photos. It was old, run down, smelly, not clean, extremely dimly lit, no soundproofing, and the bathroom was beyond disgusting! There were also ants in the room and on the bed! Even though we booked a non-smoking room it wreaked of stale cigarettes. I wish I had taken photos of it. We soon realised that there is in fact two Happy Light Hotels side by side, one is old and awful and the other is the one in the pictures. If you book here specify that you want a room in the new building. On top of the general level of dissatisfaction with the room there was also construction happening in the building beside us which started at 8am every morning and lasted the whole day. Due to the lack of adequate soundproofing you could hear traffic, pedestrians and constant car horns beeping all night. There was nothing in the minibar which wasn’t so important to us but worth a mention anyway.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 23, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from australia

Good if you plan on being out all day

Posted Dec 2, 2015
Great location and great pool deck. The breakfast was sub-par and was more like dinner left overs. No milk available for coffees. Also they keep your passport on check in until you check out which is something I find uncomfortable as it is an important personal document. They did not allow me to keep it even when I asked and was clearly uncomfortable. Room was relatively clean and had a great air conditioner (important as it gets quite hot). The bathroom gets very slippery as no shower curtain or screen - which made a bit of a mess! Overall good place to stay if you will be spending most your time outside hotel or on pool deck (great view).
4 out of 5
by Reiner from Augsburg Germanyclean,

Good value for money.

Posted Sep 7, 2015 on Hotels
Clean, new, convenient with a pool in top.
1 out of 5
by Aaron from Melbourne

Never again

Posted Apr 5, 2013
Pros: Checking out
Cons: Breakfast
Location: Not bad
I do not have one positive thing to say about this, bus business masquerading as a hotel operator. We bought our room on Expedia and paid above marks rate for what we thought was a seaview room that looked pretty clean and spacious fr the pictures. When we arrived they checked us in without any explanation as to breakfast times, checkout, mini bar inclusions etc. Their English skills were almost non existent so communicating was incredibly difficult. The room key didn't work so had to be fixed when we got there. The bathroom stunk so badly that the whole room reeked of off eggs. The room was filthy dirty, had not been wiped, dusted or vacuumed or even been in for a while it seemed. A female staff member came to give the bathroom a cursory wipe over but it was redundant. The carpet was rank - with used toothpicks and toenail clippings on it! We walked down to reception and told them it needed to be cleaned and left for 2 hours. Upon our return nothing had been done. We had to ring reception twice and honest to god I don't think the cleaner had ever used a vacuum before. If you are Australian, English, American etc you will find the 'breakfast' (strange dinner food like stew and noodles) just off putting, as there are no other options - not even milk for coffee or butter for toast. When I asked for these things they actually just shook their head and said no.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 4, 2012 on Hotels
Very good hotel, central location, good views from the hotel balcony, but breakfast service could be improved.