Ratings based on 83 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

beautiful , comfortable hotel

Posted Sep 20, 2016 on Hotels
this hotel is beautifully decorated for every single detail to catching our eyes and nice swimming pool and everybody said the restaurant in this hotel is so well known for good food. i want to stay again whenever i have a chance to come this area.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San francisco

Away in alcamo

Posted Sep 8, 2016 on Hotels
Wonderful stay without having to spend a ton of money. Giuliani and Mario working the front desk were magnificent in helping us out and recommending places to visit and restaurants. Good buffet breakfast buffet. Nice restaurant upstairs, fun pizzeria downstairs. Would definitely book this place again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel

Posted Jul 14, 2016
Pros: Good location
Cons: The restaurant
Location: Beach 4 miles
Interesting hotel Fairly good location for north west Sicily Hotel staff very helpful Food poor
5 out of 5
by Massimo

Posted Jul 9, 2016 on Hotels
perfect in all. Very nice hotel, very comfortable and great decorations
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent find

Posted Jun 5, 2016
Great hotel, awesome staff! Only thing I would recommend is having coffee tea service in the room so customers can self serve at odd times. I would highly recommend this place ! Staff goes out of their way to be helpful !
4 out of 5
by Samo from Ljubljana

Nice stay in excelently transformed monastery.

Posted Oct 30, 2015 on Hotels
You need a car to get here, but otherwise it is a nice place, excelent breakfast. It is a good base to discover palermo and western sicily. Would stay again definitely.
4 out of 5
by Anastasia from New York

Great Home Base!

Posted Apr 28, 2015 on Hotels
We picked this hotel as our home base to explore the Western part of Sicily. It was a good choice. Beautifully restored former convent is perfectly located: short drive to Palermo, Tripani, Erice, Zingaro park, Segesta, etc. with an easy access to the highway. The breakfast was decent, served in a nice room with fabulous sea views. Our room was small, but comfortable. The balcony was a big plus. The hotel has a great restaurant, which is written up in guide books, which was great. Unfortunately, that was also the down side: our balcony was right above the restaurant and it was VERY noisy all three nights we were there up until about 1AM. So, make sure to ask for a room as far away from the restaurant entrance as possible. Contact the hotel before you book. They may give you lower price.
5 out of 5
by maria from Long Beach, New York

Heavenly Stay

Posted Oct 14, 2014 on Hotels
We had a very comfortable stay.The service was wonderful. Regina, the front desk person was extremely helpful. The restaurant was beautiful, the food good and the service excellent. Everybody there was great. The room needed to be painted and the windows need screens. We would come again .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Warren from Bath, England

The extra mile

Posted Jun 7, 2014
Pros: The room provided. It's central location.
Cons: The dining experience.
Location: This is a central Hotel in the city of Catania and although busy was not as hectic as Palermo. Bars and cafes are nearby.
We had booked this Hotel on the last night of our Sicilian holiday. We had told all three Hotels that this trip was to mark our 20th Wedding Anniversary but the Royal was the only one that had taken note of the fact and placed us in a special room. We had a luxury room containing a four poster bed and luxury bathroom. The only complaint was that although we had informed the Hotel in advance that we wished to have dinner there we were told that two private functions had been booked and there was no room for us. The Receptionist did, however, arrange with the dining staff for us to be accommodated but we were stuffed outside the main dining area and the food was not that brilliant. The breakfast was not ready when we attended at 7.30 am having been told it was from 7.00 am and we brought that fact to the attention of reception on departure. All in all though this was a very enjoyable experience where the Hotel had gone the extra mile to help us celebrate our anniversary.
4 out of 5
by sicily visitor from london

pretty monastry near to sights

Posted Oct 18, 2013 on Hotels
very pretty hotel - tastefully decorated and in good location for driving to segesta and nearby coves. highly recommend a trip to the park and swimming in the lagoons there. we went in october so it wasnt too busy but can imagine that finding a spot on a busy day would be difficult. the room in the hotel was attractive but there was no bath and the shower would spray on the floor as it was wet room design but with no drainage which was a little messy. the bed was also very hard and no duvet was provided. overall though the hotel was very pleasant and the drinks and cocktails very reasonably priced. definitely one of the better hotels in the area.