Ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tel Aviv,Israel

Amazing view from balcony but thats about it.

Posted Aug 6, 2016
Pros: The view.
Cons: Air conditioners in the rooms. Rides to the cable car station. Redo the pipe system in the toilet.
Location: Great location right next to Erice sights.
By far the best "value for money" hotel in our trip. The view from the balcony left us speechless. About the hotel itself, there isn't an air condition in the room and it takes time to the water in the toilet to refill. So to sum up, the view is amazing but do expect the amenity of a real hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Bargain hotel with million dollar views

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Pros: The views, cleanliness, pleasant staff and positioning of the hotel close to the medieval streets of Erice but beautifully quiet from the hordes.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Erice is a gem of a town towering on cliffs overlooking the coast. One can wander the narrow streets and lose oneself in the past
This was an excellent find! Although rooms were smallish, they were adequate and clean. The downstairs lounge & breakfast room is cavernous. Breakfast was very good but the highlight of San Giovanni is the magnificent views down to the coast north of Trapani. Make sure you book a room with this view. The steep, twisting road to the top that the GPS led us along is not for the fainthearted! Once Erice was reached the actual hotel was difficult to find. In a narrow-laned, car-less town the hotel managed to provide parking space outside the door.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Michael from Chichester.UK

Great location

Posted May 29, 2014
Pros: The views
First appearances can be deceiving. The hotel is comfortable, spacious and the accommodation is good. Make sure you have a room with a view of the sea and landscape as this is spectacular. Good parking and very close to the centre.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Nashville, TN

Beautiful view

Posted Sep 4, 2010
Very nice staff. Room had balcony overlooking Taramina and the sea. Bathroom was very small, even by European standards. 6'2" husband had difficulty fitting into shower as well. Breakfast was ample. We stayed an additional day, as the place was so relaxing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Great Location & View

Posted Oct 16, 2008
I was very pleased with Hotel Giovanni. Spartan but good value and great location for a spectacular town - Erice. No hesitation in recommending it.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

vieil hotel dont le seul atout est la vue

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Pros: la vue
Cons: à peu près tout
Location: village médiéval magnifique
la vue de la chambre ou de la salle du petit déjeuner est le seul intérêt chambre petite dont la porte de la salle d'eau est endommagée pas de cintres et des oreillers très durs
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Normandie

Recherche dans le brouillard.

Posted May 23, 2015
Pros: Sa situation.
Cons: Les trois chambres que j'ai vues devraient être entièrement restylées. Sinon les parties communes sont acceptables
Location: La ville d'Erice n'est pas très grande mais semble charmante. En réalité nous n'avons vraiment vu que les belles rues pavées, du fait du brouillard...
Arrivés en fin de soirée à Palerme nous avons pris l'autoroute (gratuite) pour aller à Erice. Ensuite, nous avons pris une petite route en lacets avec une vue magnifique sur Trapani et un splendide coucher de soleil, nous sommes arrivés dans les nuages. Un brouillard qui s'épaississait au fur et à mesure que nous montions. C'est une ville fantôme que nous avons atteinte. Pas un chat dans les rues.... Nous avons eu les plus grandes difficultés à découvrir l'hôtel car on voyait à peine les panneaux indicateurs. Le réceptionniste a dû s'y reprendre en trois fois pour me donner enfin la chambre à deux lits que j'avais réservée... Pour au final obtenir une chambre sans aucun charme, quatre murs deux lits et une salle de bains avec juste un filet d'eau chaude dans la douche...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from roma

A due passi dal centro, mantiene ciò che promette

Posted Aug 23, 2014
Pros: Si, molto
Cons: Si tratta di una struttura non recente ma ben tenuta. Lo scotto della non eccessiva modernità si paga con un prezzo più che accettabile
Location: Posizione ottima, a due passi (reali) dal centro di Erice
Ci siamo stati per un fine settimana, abbiamo un bambino piccolo. Siamo stati accolti e assistiti dal personale con cordialità e gentilezza. Ci hanno persino permesso di fare colazione nonostante il ritardo
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Roma

Grazioso albergo al centro di erice

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Molto caratteristico ricavato da un ex convento. Uniche pecche mancanza di tv e asciugacapelli in camera
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ct

Ottimo rapporto qualità\prezzo

Posted Aug 7, 2014
Vista panoramica mozzafiato. La camera era spartana e con bagno europeo, ma in linea con la tariffa pagata. Colazione più che abbondante.