Ratings based on 59 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 8, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 10, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for your message. We hope you can came again. Best regards from A. Montesinho team, Alexandrina Fernandes
5 out of 5
by Herculano from Northampton

Idyllic place

Posted Oct 6, 2015 on Hotels
Idyllic place! Staff were very friendly and always went the extra mile to accommodate any requests. Close to really good restaurants!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from v

Hard to find

Posted Jul 10, 2015
Gimonde needs to be included in the address as the TomTom did not find it in Braganca. The breakfast was terrible- bread in edible and coffee not drinkable. And the flies!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 24, 2015 by Fernandes, Hotel Management
Thanks for your review. We are working on improve breakfast. We hope next time you can came, you can tasted it. Best regards from all A. Montesinho team, Alexandrina Fernandes
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from lancashire, U.K.

A good place to explore the national park.

Posted May 24, 2015
Pros: Comfortable bed. Nice towels. Nice location in a very old village.
Cons: Maybe the sign posting to the hotel.
Location: Said already about the national park, the river. Hiking.
Walked along the river teeming with noisy frogs. (They were not on the menu though) we ate at the hotel restaurant. We had the most fabulous meal, excellent wonderfully cooked steak served with roast chestnuts and an equally wonderful pork steak. Strongly recommend it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 24, 2015 by Fernandes, Hotel Management
Hello Lancashire, Many thanks for your review. We hope you come again and stay more time with us. Best regards from all A. Montesinho team, Alexandrina Fernandes
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Beautiful mountains & very pleasant stay

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Pros: It is not an hotel but old village houses that have been rebuilt and have all the facilities even if you want to cook. Very good to take the family.
Cons: The restaurant area.
Location: Lots & lots in the Montesinho natural park in northwest of Portugal. Very near the International Douro Natural park. Beautiful places full of history.
Beautiful place with nice facilities to explore the Montesinho National Park and the North West of Portugal. Great food as well.
3 out of 5
by Mário from Kitchener, ON

Great place to sleep, but avoid the restaurant

Posted Jul 26, 2014 on Hotels
The hotel's receptionist was very helpful, the room was clean and comfortable. Avoid the restaurant: we went there for a ludicrously overpriced breakfast, got treated like second class citizens (when compared with the larger group seated nearby), and the quality of the food was sub-par for Portuguese standards. We made the right choice and went down the street to Assares for most of our meals instead, and it was delicious.
4 out of 5
by John and Joyce from Uk

Posted Jun 1, 2014 on Hotels
We were lucky to have the whole house to ourselves, therefore we could spread out and make ourselves at home. Breakfast was served at the taverna 3euros each for bread ham cheeses and coffee. Good wifi at the house.The old village was interesting to walk round and pretty by the river. Close enough to Braganca to visit but not in a busy area. We also drove around the national park and enjoyed the natural beauty. Only complaint was noise at night from a generator or air conditioner in the next property. Outside Ares was sufficient but no comfortable seats for the garden. Kitchen well equipped.
2 out of 5
by Paulinha Ollivier from Australia

totally misrepresented. Ask more questions.

Posted Feb 20, 2014 on Hotels
While staff were exceptionally pleasant, we had no idea that it was housed in the country. Not that we mind 'country' but we were simply not told and directions to get to it were very poor. We were in a 'share house' with two other couples, sharing the kitchen and lounge. Again, we coped, but this was not mentioned in the notes accompanying acceptance of the booking.In our opinion, it is 2 star, not 4 star. I must re-iterate that Catherine, the receptionist was exceptionally nice and paved the way for us, impeccably. She could work in an international hotel and be an asset to them. My husband had a sleepless night because of very noisy heating system. or pumping water system. The other couples complained of the same thing, when we mentioned it, over breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by alan from UK

Well placed

Posted Oct 12, 2013
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing.It's perfect
Location: Close to Le Mont Saint Michael.The small village has a good choice of restaurants within easy walking distance
A nice warm welcome.A very pleasant and spotlessly clean small hotel.The room looked new and was spacious with an excellent bathroom and comfortable bed.A great breakfast after a very quiet and peacefull night.A delight to stay here
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel Pequeno muito acolhedor.

Posted Nov 3, 2016 on Hotels
Foi um experiência muito boa no ambiente Rural envolvente numa das Aldeias de Bragança no Nordeste Transmontano um Paraíso de Natureza . Recomendo.