Ratings based on 300 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles

Good place to be amongst locals

Posted Sep 14, 2017
location a bit away from the sites but great to be amongst more locals. The room was decent, although by no means fancy. Some problems with tv/cable and staff was not exactly helpful with it. But good bargain overall.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

area is in a bad location but hotel is very nice

Posted Jun 30, 2017
Very roomy and kitchen accommodation were great. The location is not the best safety wise but easy to get the bus and metro from hotel. Wifi was flaky with some phones but worked great with others. One of the nices places we stayed. It is gated.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ab

Great place to stay for a few nights

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Great place to stay for a few nights. We had booked two nights here and had some trouble with our flights so we asked for a third. We were very happy with the staff, and the rooms were clean. It's also a 15-20 minute bus ride to most of the sites to see in Rome.
4 out of 5
by Martin

Not Trastevere

Posted Jun 11, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel itself is OK, but with an odd location, not close to anything really and not near Trastevere, but rather tucked into a corner of the next neighborhood south, Portuense. We intended to be closer to Trastevere, or in Trastevere, but another booking fell through at the last minute, so we ended up here. Should have looked more carefully at the location. Not terrible, but to get anywhere you walk up a poorly lit path through some woods into the neighborhood. As it turned out, it was all quite safe, but not a lot in the neighborhood, and took too much time to get to where we wanted to the north. Still, it was clean and quiet, and the staff was nice and helpful.
4 out of 5
by Andy

Posted May 23, 2017 on Hotels
Stayed here for 7 nights & if was coming back to Rome would return here. I was concerned about some reviews regarding area but these were probably outdated. Area appears to be up& coming with new hotel opposite and other building work. We wanted a walking holiday and it took 1 hour following river Tiber to get to most attractions including Vatican City. We parked car in gated car park and was ok for whole holiday.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Reading

This is a gem of a place to stay in Rome

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Pros: The security, the size of the rooms, it's very spacious, it's modern and conveniently situated for central Rome and Piramide (20 min walk) metro.
Cons: Bigger sign.
Location: It's 15 minutes by bus to the P. Venezia for forum, coliseum and palatino. Piramide metro is 20 mins walk back across the Tiber for trains to Ostia.
I was impressed by what it looked like when I got there and even more so wen I saw the room. This is where I will book next time I am in Rome as its perfect. It's just off a main road with shops and good bus links into Rome central. It takes about an hour to walk in, via the Porta Portese and P. Sublicio and along the southern bank of the Tiber past the mouth of truth and past the teatro Marcello and the Capotoline. The apartment block is secure.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Excellent but far from my Tram

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Excellent accommodations, yet 20 minute walk to my Tram. Although I walked often and far in Rome, it was a little scary walking the last 20 minutes to the hotel at night.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Weekend away in Rome

Posted Mar 29, 2017
My boyfriend and I spent a long weekend in Rome and chose Borgo Papareschi due to the charm of the building and the positive reviews. For the most part the apartments did live up to their descriptions, but there were some aspects of staying at Borgo that has left me not wanting to choose it as a future destination. Positives: The staff were very friendly and helpful and allowed us to leave our bags while we explored the city before we could check in. The exterior of the hotel is very quaint and the rooms are very charming in a rustic way and mostly clean. The furnishings were adequate for meals and having a fridge/freezer was very helpful when you didn't want to spend money dining out. Transportation is quite close as well. Negatives: The area Borgo is in looked quite rough and included an abandoned factory nearby that was home to squatters who had dogs that barked all day long which made it frustrating having the windows open. The nearby main road has lots of nice shops, but the buildings are covered in graffiti and the walk to the main road is a bit dubious at night. I found the lack of soundproofing in the apartments very frustrating as well. We could hear our upstairs neighbors walking, talking and various thuds and bangs. There was also mold around the shower window and bits missing on the edges of the counters. The mattress was quite thin and we were only given one thin pillow each.
5 out of 5
by Joseph

Brilliant stay - really recommend it!

Posted Mar 14, 2017 on Hotels
Our stay here was incredible! The apartment was so big and clean, there was plenty of space to do everything and the fridge/freezer was so useful - there was even a kettle which is great to make tea! The location is great, just around the corner is a supermarket, restaurants, cafés, gaming shops, clothes shops, etc. It is also just round the corner from the bus stop which gets your directly to the center of Rome. There is a secure car park in front of the reception. The staff were really helpful, they also let us keep our car in the car park on check-out day until we returned to leave in the afternoon. I have already recommended this place to my mum for if she ever visits Rome.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gold Coast, Australia

Great Value for Money Rome Hotel

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Location: See above plus very close to great pizza places, supermarkets, and transport.
The Borgo Papareschi was a very pleasant surprise for our 2 night stay in Rome. The staff were outstanding and very welcoming and friendly. Our apartment was spacious, clean and very comfortable. Whilst being a little out of the way from the old town it is still well located for buses, trams, cabs, or even a decent walk. Great value for money and certainly recommended especially if travelling by car.