Ratings based on 528 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel was close to the Vatican

Posted Nov 15, 2017
Cons: The bathroom was very beautiful but it was difficult to shower in the tub. It was hard to get in and out of and the bottom of the tub was not flat
Staff was very friendly and accommodating. Smart phone provided by the hotel was very useful
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2018 by S. Hamilton - Assistant Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for reviewing our Luxury Urban Resort after your stay with us. We would like to thank you for your positive comments regarding our helpful and passionate staff, always at our Guests’ complete disposal, to anticipating their needs and exceeding their expectations. We are pleased to hear our quality of service has been appreciated during your stay as well as our Handy Phone which each room is provided with, a device completely free of charge which includes free calls to several countries all around the world and free internet access. Moreover, we would like to thank you also for your comments regarding our room and especially bathroom concept, since our Guests’ comforts are always our priority, therefore we will do our best to make sure we are always able to meet all our Guests’ needs. We hope you will come back soon, and we remain at your complete disposal.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, PA

Fantastic staff, Amenities & Location!

Posted Nov 14, 2017
Pros: Location, room quality
Cons: Gym, a king bed instead of two doubles.
Location: You can walk tot he Vatican and all of downtown. We also walked to the Colosseum - even though it was a good walk ~ 1.5 miles/ 2 Kilometers.
Staff was wonderful, Hotel is beautiful. Would have liked a better Gym, but it was adequate. Really nice location. No complaints (and we are picky).
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2018 by S. Hamilton - Assistant Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking your time to review our Luxury Urban Resort after your stay. We are pleased to hear our amazing location has been up to your expectations being situated just in the heart of the Eternal City, just a few minutes walking from the Vatican and from the nicest areas of the historical center of Rome. Thank you for appreciating our stunning property, surrounded by marvellous blossoming flowers and green areas, and our room concept, designed to meet our Guests’ needs and expectation offering comforts and commodities. We wish to thank you as well for your comments regarding our gym, being a service we provide, since all our Guests’ feedback helps us improve. We hope we will welcome you back soon!
3 out of 5
by Juan

Posted Nov 6, 2017 on Hotels
Expensive for the room size and quality. The building seems like a vacation holiday more than a luxury hotel. Very limited food menu, particularly for vegetarians. The staff was nice and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel

Posted Oct 28, 2017
Great amenities, great food, great staff, wonderful rooms. Very good Location near the Vatican and not far away from Trastevre.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 10, 2018 by S. Hamilton, Assistant Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We are grateful to you for choosing to spend your recent stay in Rome at our Luxury Urban Resort and for the time spent in sharing such lovely feelings about. We are glad to know how much you enjoyed your experience with the amenities, the room and its facilities and the location of Gran Melia Rome… We are just delighted to know that we were able to transmit you our ‘passion for service’, through our professional and attentive service, making your stay such a memorable one. We look forward to welcoming you back soon to your favorite hotel in the Eternal City, to let you continue your unforgettable experience...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Detroit, MI

Beautiful villas in prime location

Posted Oct 4, 2017
Pros: The people
Location: Right near everything!
The management at this hotel was exceptional and made for an incredible experience!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 23, 2018 by S. Hamilton, Assistant Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for taking your precious time to review our Luxury Urban Resort expressing your feelings with reference to your recent stay with us. We would like to thank you for underlining our stunning location, being located just in the heart of the Eternal City, close to the main sites of Rome… On behalf of our staff, our warmest gratitude to you, for being the perfect ambassador of our service culture. We are already expecting you to come back to Gran Meliá Rome to let you keep enjoying your incredible experience in the Eternal City...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Office was very helpful with a booking error made

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Pros: Cooperation by office.
Office was very helpful with a booking error I made. Long story, but I will stay at this hotel next time I am in Rome.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 21, 2018 by S. Hamilton, Assistant Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We wish to express our gratitude for taking the time to report your ‘amazing’ experience at our Luxury Urban Resort. Thank you for highlighting our passionate and dedicated service, in particular of the Reservations department. We will be really happy to welcome you back for your future visit to the Eternal City and we will be glad to assist you with your reservation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from delraybeach fla

Posted Sep 24, 2017
Was great , love the location and how friendly every one was
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from U.K.

Quiet Luxury

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Pros: Ambience, decor, facilities, room and breakfast (yummy ricotta and salmon)
Cons: no need for continual muzak pool side.
Location: Very close to Castello d'Angelo, Vatican City and a 15 minute walk to Via del Corso/ Piazza del Popolo.
Excellent location, although within walking distance of most sites, it feels like a little oasis in the middle of a hectic city. Very pleasant staff, helpful yet not obtrusive. Had an excellent room, spacious, clean, modern, all the amenities you could want, all with a view of the gardens. Noticed a few 'irks'on other sites regarding breakfast and the added extra's if you want more than the buffet. You don't need anymore than the buffet, there is plenty of choice and it's delicious: fruits, cereals, sweet pastries, breads, yoghurts, hams, cheeses, salmon, eggs, waffles, donuts, fresh fruit juices - oh and prosecco. Swimming pool was lovely - plenty of space and sun loungers. Contemporary yet comfortable feel to the place. Liked the uniforms the staff wore in the morning. My only little grumble would be the pool side music - I'm not sure it could be anyone's taste. It was so tranquil there was no need for the piped 'muzak'. Would definitely return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston

Relaxation at its best

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Pros: Staff, facilities, location, resturant options.
Cons: Nothing of note.
Location: Easy walking to Vatican and central Rome. Locally there are lots of things to do and see. We love the local shopping around Campo di Fiori.
Great location and great staff. Only stayed for one night but will be back. Easy walking distance to central Rome. Pool and spa provided a great way to relax after sight seeing, and shopping. Room was available even though we arrived early. Staff were very attentive to make our stay perfect. The junior suite had all the amenities we needed and justifies its 5 star rating.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No better option in Rome..., best in class

Posted Sep 15, 2017 on Hotels
Location and facilities are awesome but service is unique! Best hotel in Rome