Ratings based on 535 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC

Very hard mattress. Otherwise very good.

Posted Feb 9, 2018
Pros: The Breakfast. Well worth the €7.50.
Cons: The mattress, very hard and poor quality.
Location: In Trastevere near cafes and restaurants and convenient to transit.
Well positioned near restaurants and transit in Trastevere. Excellent breakfast with high quality baked goods, fruits and other choices. Nice hotel overall with comfortable seating in lobby. Very friendly and helpful staff. Good housekeeping. Only downside is very hard poor quality mattresses even by Italian standards. Queen bed is two single beds joined and one of them in my room was not level but sloped slightly to one side.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Burleson TX

Third Stay at HSF

Posted Nov 26, 2017
We love the area, quiet and nontouristy. The hotel is perfect for its pricing point with a good breakfast, clean rooms, and ample shower space. I require theee things in a hotel: clean room, comfortable bed, and a nice shower. HSF excels at all three.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 21, 2017 on Hotels
close to my meeting place, clean and affordable
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from birmingham, alabama

Great location and out of the touristy frenzy!

Posted Nov 10, 2017
The hotel was very quaint and has the feel of a boutique hotel. It has a great location in Trastevere with a 5 minute walk to the heart of Trastevere or over the bridge into the Jewish ghetto or Testaccio. The breakfast was a pretty good spread of cheeses, cured meats, pastries, tarts, cereals, breads, fresh fruit, and great cappuccino. The staff was friendly and fun. The rooms were a good size with modern bathroom. The rooftop bar is an added bonus. It has a great view! We will stay there again when in Rome!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

Adequate facilities, but poor customer service

Posted Nov 10, 2017
Cons: Obviously, I'd recommend fees and details like cash only payments to be indicated in writing somewhere in or around the hotel.
We stayed for just one night before a 4:30 am pickup to get to the airport. Our check in process was easy and friendly, and our room was perfectly adequate - it was clean, and though a bit more barebones than the photos on the website indicate, the room was fine. We had an issue upon checkout however with the night staff. I had taken a bottle of water from the minifridge (which had two small bottles of water, and nothing else), listed for 1.50 euros on the price list - no other information about fees or taxes on the price list, though I know there's usually some hidden fee. Indeed, the water came with an 8 euro city tax (4 euros per person, per day of stay). I was a bit shocked, but the water was opened so I couldn't return it. I agreed and asked them to go ahead and charge my card, but they couldn't do this because I had paid via Expedia. They needed cash, which we didn't have anymore as we had deliberately spent all our euros at dinner the night previous. Irritated, the manager took my credit card, but the charge was declined. We tried another card, then my husband's card. All declined though we'd used them for the past 2 weeks with no issue. Little did I know that the manager had written all my credit card numbers with security code down on a piece of paper, and he wouldn't return it, then said combatively "why don't you trust me?" when I asked to get one card's information back - he didn't need both of them. I wasn't comfortable at all, but we had to leave. Not good.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel nice area

Posted Nov 7, 2017
Nice hotel in nice area breakfast good staff nice & friendly
5 out of 5
by Andre

Very friendly small hotel

Posted Nov 5, 2017 on Hotels
A very good small hotel near restaurants and bars. Super buffet breakfast. Close to all sites by trams à block away.
4 out of 5
by Maria

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 21, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice hotel, in great location (not touristy)

Posted Oct 7, 2017
Stayed for three nights and four days! Location great, could walk everywhere. Less touristic area, less busy than central. Staff on the desk were amazing. Rooftop bar lovely.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from austin TX

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Well located in Trastevere and closed to various bus and train stations; staff was very nice and corteous; rooms are comfortable; breakfast is also good. Very good value for your money.