Ratings based on 450 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Cairo, Egypt

Quiet picturesque hotel in artistic Trastevere

Posted Feb 20, 2018
Pros: So calm and peaceful yet located in the middle of ancient and artistic Trastevere, the ideal sanctuary after a hectic sightseeing day.
Cons: Perfect
Location: Walking through the ancient streets and alleys of Trastevere is a feast to the eye, and a delicious meal at one of the several cosy restaurants.
Quiet, with friendly staff and beautiful gardens and conveniently furnished rooms. The location is quite central to most tourist attractions, the Vatican, Piazza Navona and the Pantheon are all within walking distance, other attractions are within easy reach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Uk

Posted Feb 15, 2018
Excellent hotel - very helpful and friendly staff - an ideal location for walking around Rome and plenty of great restaurants nearby. Deffinatly would recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Lovely hotel in great location

Posted Feb 14, 2018
Great hotel with lovely staff. Clean rooms and very nice breakfast. Walking distance to most sites and loads of restaurants and cafes around the hotel. Highly recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel Santa Maria in Trestevere

Posted Nov 29, 2017
Pros: Centrally located. Public transportation is close by.
Great hotel in the heart of Trestevere. Lots of great restaurants close by and the heart of Rome is just across the river.
5 out of 5
by Jose

Excellent 5 night stay

Posted Nov 21, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent 5 night stay at Hotel Santa Maria. Loved the neighbourhood and really appreciated the great restaurant recommendations from the staff. Breakfast was great. We will definitely return our next trip to Rome!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Guildford, UK

Great location and a great hotel

Posted Nov 19, 2017 on Ebookers
Pros: The location, its ambiance, gardens and staff.
Cons: We didn't notice anything that needed improvement
Location: Trastevere is a popular area for eating and drinking with loads of restaurants and bars. A visit to the church of Santa Maria is a must.
The hotel is located in a quiet pedestrianised part of Trastevere. A former monastery with just 20 rooms, mainly set around open gardens full of orange trees. Our room (which would sleep 3/4) was up a few stairs with a terrace/ sun bed area outside. The room was in excellent condition and kept very clean. Wifi works throughout the hotel. The location means al the major sights of Rome can be directly walked to within 30 to 40 minutes, including the Vatican, Forum/Coliseum and medieval Rome (Trevi Fountain/Spanish Steps).
5 out of 5
by Michael

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 16, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oxford

Very good hotel

Posted Nov 6, 2017
Pros: The decor, the staff, the comfortable bed and the tables and chairs outside under the orange trees.
Cons: A walk in shower and BBC news on the TV would be good.
Location: Very close to the square where there are bars, restaurants, people watching and a beautiful church and easy walking distance to the main sights.
This was my third visit to this hotel. It is in a very good location, the facilities are excellent and the beds are extremely comfortable. The staff cannot do enough to help and I shall be going back to this hotel next time I am in Rome.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from mcr

Lovely chalet style hotel with peaceful courtyard

Posted Sep 26, 2017
Pros: Friendliness , location , peaceful , outdoor seating , bar
Cons: Better Soundproofing of rooms
Location: Perfect for bars and restaurants and only half an hours walk from all attractions.
As above , nice hotel providing a peaceful haven with the busy trastevere on your doorstep , staff couldn't have been any nicer , any more welcoming and anymore helpful, perfect location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC Canada

Great little find

Posted Sep 24, 2017
Pros: The outdoor spaces, the breakfast included in the price, and the Happy Hour
Cons: Zero
Location: Close to everything. Central. Lovely charming neighborhood. Many restaurants nearby.
My friend and I stayed for three nights at Hotel Santa Maria. The location was perfect and Trastevere was delightful and filled with great little inexpensive restaurants. The staff was wonderful and very helpful especially the morning staff in the breakfast room.; super friendly, funny, and quick to get whatever we needed. We really appreciated the Happy Hour offered in the late afternoon as well! This will be our go to next time we visit Rome!!!