Ratings based on 1,417 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean comfortable hotel with good roof terrace bar

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Being right on the tram route makes this hotel a decent option. Only 10 mins on the tram into city centre. Clean and comfortable rooms and good breakfast. Helpful friendly staff
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from 92870

Hotel policy not flexible and refuse to refund

Posted Sep 7, 2017
Booked for 3 nights but due to flight cancellation, I couldnt make it to rome on time . Asked Expedia to cancel hotel but hotel mgr would not agree and also removed 3 days stay because I didnt check in on time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Somerset UK

Helpful staff, good location for public transport.

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Pros: Friendly and helpful staff. Good wifi reception. Good breakfast. Hotel well kept and clean. Convenient public and airport transport .
Cons: Sky TV is supposed to be multilingual, but I could only get Sky News in English. Movies subtitled. Not a critical issue (operator error!?)
Location: Residential location with good tram/bus links. Few local bars/cafes but Trastevere area & the river a short stroll for bars and restaurants.
The staff were some of the friendliest and helpful I've met. Good breakfast. The hotel is clean and well appointed inside. Good access to free wifi during my stay, no interruption and better than many well-known hotels that I've stayed at! The location at the south end of Trastevere area is mostly residential, and if you don't want to stay in the very centre of Rome for some reason, this is excellent. There is a tram stop outside the hotel for 3 and 8 tram routes, which go to Piazza Venezia/Corso shopping area, Colosseum, Circus, etc - buses also run up and down to various places in Rome. (The hotel sells Metrotickets for buses/trams). The airport train stops at Trastevere Station (2 tram stops or a walk from the hotel) so very easy to come from and go to Fiumicino airport (buy a ticket online beforehand or from the multilingual machine at the stations). A plus point for me was that there is a huge Sunday market on the opposite side of the street! Lots of the usual stuff, clothes, shoes, "antiques" - well worth a stroll. Hours are 5.30am - 3.30pm I believe. The stalls run around a few streets so lots to see and I expect it gets very busy (I was there at 9am on the first Sunday in September). Lastly, the hotel has a pleasant roof garden open all day, with bar service in the evenings. I took no photos of hotel except one from roof garden. Would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from dominican republic

Perfect hote for short stay

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Perfect hotel for a short stay Good hotel located in a neighborhood with restaurants and bars although you should walk a little is close, its a good hotel with very friendly people
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from scotland

The staff were simply fabulous from arrival.

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Close to Trastevere which is fab and the no 8 Tram was very convenient. The staff particularly were simply delightful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect stay

Posted Aug 8, 2017
The hotel is in a great location, lovely bars and restaurants near by. The tram stop is just across the road and is a short journey to all the major tourist spots. The room was ideal for what we needed lovely and clean. Could not fault the hotel staff, so pleasant and helpful they gave us some great recommendations on traditional italian restaurants to eat at away from all the tourist spots. The rooftop cocktail bar was a lovely bonus too, the barman was so lovely and made the best cocktails! Beautiful views from the rooftop also!! Would definitely stay at Trilussa again! Thanks for a lovely stay
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rome

Incredibly helpful staff

Posted Aug 2, 2017
We found the rooms really clean with everything we needed. We arrived late in the evening after a delayed flight and there was a delightful rooftop terrace open still serving a delicious Penze. Breakfast was disappointing as cooked food at the buffet was stone cold, but there was a sign saying they'd cook to order so it was only our 'Britishness' that stopped us asking because we didn't want to trouble them. Lovely young waiter with an infectious smile. The hotel came into its own when we discovered that one member of our party had lost her passport - three hours before flying. They were so incredibly kind and helpful. They sourced phone numbers, gave directions on maps and arranged transport. For this alone, I'd thoroughly recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Selby, North Yorkshire

Friendly hotel close to great transport links

Posted Aug 1, 2017
Friendly hotel close to great transport links into central Rome. We stayed for 4 nights and upgraded from our standard room as we found out that breakfast was not included with our booking - not the hotels fault but a misunderstanding between me and Expedia! The upgrade gave us a slightly bigger room and an earlier check in which were added bonuses. The room was very clean and well maintained. Plentiful hot water for showers which was great as the temperature was over 30 each day! Initially I wasn't overly impressed with the area surrounding the hotel but it was so easy to get in and out of Rome. We bought metro passes from a local shop which allowed us to hop on and off of trams, buses and the underground metro. Good value at 18 euros for a 72 hour pass. Two trams right outside the hotel into the key areas which ran regularly. The hotel staff were all lovely - friendly and helpful. They booked tour tickets for us for a skip the line visit to the Vatican with an English speaking guide - that was brilliant. They were also great at making sure we knew where we were going! We didn't get chance to use the Spa which looked amazing. On our last night we had drinks on the rooftop bar which was lovely - fabulous views over Rome, drinks were a good price and the bar man was great. A pleasant way to spend an evening watching the sunset - we even had a firework display in the distance!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orange County, CA

Average hotel in a bad neighbor

Posted Jul 29, 2017
I reserved the hotel based on the rating and pictures posted online. What you don't see in the pics is the graffiti everywhere. The taxi driver asked me to remove my watch before he dropped me off. He said I would get mugged in this area. There were huge water puddles outside the hotel that we had to maneuver around with our luggage (in the middle of July); mind you there was no hotel staff anywhere to help. There was only one nice young lady working the front desk. The entrence to the guests area is locked behind glass doors for added security. Makes you wonder why the hotel feels they need extra security. As soon as I walked into the hotel, I decided to book somewhere else. I went online and booked at The Splendid Royal (5 stars hotel - top notch). The manager was called to convince to me stay. He made the situation worse; his zipper was open and he looked like he was intoxicated at 8 am. In summary, you get what you pay for. I recommend spending a little bit more money and going somewhere nicer. After all, getting mugged will ruin your entire vacation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great location and facilities

Posted Jul 28, 2017
Very accomodating staff, room was very clean, facilities were also clean and well maintained. Food menu options at the roof terrace bar were limited but the waiter tried hard to please and even opened the kitchen after hours to prepare a meal following my late arrival with 2 hungry children at 2am! Good vareity at breakfast and all the staff were welcoming and helpful. The location is in easy reach of the tram, buses and train that service all areas. Not the cleanest street but a great feel of Rome. I would revisit and reccomend.