Ratings based on 142 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ca

Must stay

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Staff is beyond friendly . The place has little amount of rooms , so it's perfect cause it's not over crowded. Checkin was a bit hassle. They asked us to present the card we originally booked with room with. We didn't bring it with us . It was a hassle cause we had to log into our online banking and screen shot the original charge , then email it to them. We also had to email the booking confirmarion to them. Still Don't understand why. The room is perfect. Except the bed. The beds were like wood underneath us. The beach dinners were amazing , also very tasty and affordable. We didn't eat out only considering we stayed there three nights (on the island). The hotel takes you to the near by waterfall (it's about half a mile hike/walk) that was nice. Another thing was annoying is that at check in they give you. Voucher for 10% off your first dining, then another 10% then another 20%. Since we ate at the hotel , we couldn't saved money. What they didn't tell me was you have to present it to the staff when asking for the bill. That made me upset because they didn't say that at check -in. And when I brought it up at check out , it was too late. Another thing I was annoyed with was during dinner I ordered wine. Half way and I fought a big bug/insect I'm it. When I brought it up to the waiters attention , he looked me at with a blank stare then said I can take it off ... I'm thinking he's talking about the bill. I said no pleaaw bring me another one. They charged me twice for wine.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beach Buffett

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Pros: Staff were pleasant good breakfast
Cons: Layout of the rooms
Location: good location
Do not try this if you do not like shell fish as the choice is very limited and poor service
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location but poor management.

Posted Mar 13, 2017
The Dewa has a nice location with beach access around 20 minutes drive from the ferry terminal. The hotel has an interesting 'modern Asian' design with a good size pool and spacious deluxe rooms. However the overall 'feel' of staying in the hotel is that the management really put their effort into marketing the hotel above ensuring guests may want to return. Simple things like only providing 1 key for 2 guests staying in the same room and not having nearly enough staff on duty point to cost saving above guest comfort. Upon check in you are given a plastic 'towel voucher' so if you want to swim in the pool you must first redeem your voucher. Sounds simple but in reality the pool is next to reception and the pool bar but neither location will give you a towel. Instead you must walk to the beach bar to get a towel and then walk all the way back to the pool to use your towel. However when I did this the beach bar simple said sorry 'towel finish'. After complaining that I wanted to swim the staff then walked all the way to reception to get fresh towels and ten minutes later I was able to use the pool with my towel... Every night they have a theme dinner. The charcoal grill buffet was 750 baht and comprised a few soggy vegetables and meat of seafood 'on request' and heavily rationed. Luckily we looked at the food before sitting down so cancelled our table before getting fleeced. If you stay here EAT OUT! So in conclusion if you stay here, take your own beach towelsand eat out...
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 7, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean and relaxing

Posted Oct 24, 2016 on Hotels
I had a great time at the dewa. The staff was very helpful. Although they misplaced my bag, they immediately rectified it in a friendly anf efficient manner. Super clean rooms, beautiful beach. Great complimentary breakfast. Would 100% stay here again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

best hospitality

Posted Sep 18, 2016 on Hotels
its was a nice stay Thanks for the hospitality
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Moscow

Nice hotel near the beach with perfect architectur

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Pros: Architecture, very green. In our opinion this is the best hotel on the island
Cons: I think they have to remove large stones from entering the sea. And they have to improve air conditioner - too loud
Everything was perfect except mosquitos :-) the staff try hard but nature stronger :-)
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great place with reasonable price

Posted Jun 23, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel layout and room design are awesome. Pool is huge and located in the middle of the property. A lot of greenery with beautiful beach front. We had Seafood buffet for dinner and it was absolutely yummy and worth for the price (THB 699). We enjoyed our two-nights stay so much. Just two comments for future improvement, weak wifi and weak water in a shower.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlotte nc

Good, almost great, resort

Posted Jun 22, 2016
The design of the Dewa is a lust for the senses; modern Thai with concrete, thatch roofs, wood, fabric, and nice floors. However, the condition of the best place is getting a little long in the tooth: spotty wifi at times, towels that are not always clean, etc. (we had to be moved to another room). On the other hand, the pool is excellent, the beach more than adequate, the staff marvelous; and the places to lounge plenty.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, beautiful setting

Posted Dec 27, 2015 on Hotels
We really loved this hotel. The hotel is right on the beach and the pool area is really lovely (although the sun loungers at the pool are in the shade for a high proportion of the day when we were there). The hotel is walkimg distance to other beach front reastaurants and bars and to the high street. Would highly recommend.