Ratings based on 30 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by Per

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 15, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Really don't believe the 4* rating

Posted May 19, 2016
The best thing about this hotel is the location; right on the river. After that I've run out of positives. My room was a granny-flat. Bedroom, separate bathroom & wc, small pointless sitting room with a tv (there's not one in the bedroom). My bedroom window was 1m from the adjacent building, which looked right into mine. The was only enough curtain to cover half the window. The bed was like a plank of wood, and neither of my colleagues slept well in their rooms either. The toiletries provided consisted of a small bar of soap & a sachet of shampoo. The decor of the place is really dated, bathrooms look like they were done on the cheap 30 years ago. Room numbers are missing from directional signs & have been drawn back on with a marker pen. The "free parking" is about 10 spaces. We had to pay to park in a car park. Breakfast is as basic as it gets. I had cereal & bread. The fresh fruit had run out & wasn't replaced. I wasnt offered any hot drink so took the end of my colleagues cold coffee. If you like cake & ham for breakfast there was plenty of that. On top of this it cost €147 for one night. If you are charmed by old hotels then this might be for you. If, however, you can tell the difference between an old, traditional hotel, and an old, neglected hotel, then it's not for you. I'll be going back to Steyr in 3 weeks but I won't be staying here.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 13, 2016 by Yvonne Viertler-Schürz, Hotel Management
Dear Sir, we really apologise for your unconveniences during your last stay here! You are right that this experience is all over not satisfying and also not usual here at all. We are very sorry about the mistakes and promise that this will not happen again.
5 out of 5
by kai from München

Toller Blick

Posted Nov 23, 2015 on Hotels
Freundliches Personal, das auch schwierige Probleme gerne löst. Steyr ist eine schöne gemütliche Stadt; den Zusammenfluss der beiden Flüsse kann man nirgends besser sehen als von unserem Hotelzimmer aus
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 13, 2016 by Yvonne, Hotel Management
Herzlichen Dank lieber Gast! Wir freuen uns wirklich sehr dass es Ihnen bei uns so gut gefallen hat und wir hoffen auf ein baldiges Wiedersehen am Zusammenfluss in Steyr und unserem Minichmayr!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Gute Lage

Posted Nov 7, 2015 on Hotels
Sehr zufriedenstellend
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It does not please me to write this comment

Posted Sep 14, 2015
I was on a motorbike tour for two days in Austria. Not the first time in Steyr. I did not read wrong review of this hotel so this time decided to stay there for one night. I stayed at room 118. Steped in to the room (quite tired) and the first thing to be noticed was the terrible unpleasent smell of the bathroom,spread in the whole room, like someone left the toilet unflushed for a week ..... The carpet, furniture served its time, would not say that is was even clean. My whole night was terrible, had to keep the window open, the noise did not let me sleep.... Breakfast .... I'have seen much better for less. I would not recomend to anyone. Very bad experience on a nice trip....
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 13, 2016 by Yvonne , Hotel Management
Dear Sir, we are really so sorry that you did not enjoy your stay here at our hotel! You are right, there are usually no wrong reviews of our hotel, we apologise for your inconveniences this time! We cannot explain the smell in your room. The noises you hear with open window are from the rivers Enns & Steyr, sorry our regular guests enjoy the water which you hear very much. We do hope to welcome you here another time and promise to do our best next time again!
4 out of 5
by Ramon from Budel

Schitterend hotel

Posted Sep 5, 2015 on Hotels
Mooi business suite met apart zitkamer en apart Badkamer ,mooi uitzicht over de rivieren ,dichtbij stadtplatz met winkels en restaurants ,hotel staff vriendelijk
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 13, 2016 by Yvonne, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay here at our hotel and restaurant at the rivers Enns and Steyr! Thank you for your good comment on your stay here. We do hope to welcome you here again!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vienna

Friendly, charming, and sumptuous

Posted Jul 29, 2015
Pros: I like the ambience, the friendliness of the staff, the old worldy charm which Austria is rightly famous for, ect.
Cons: There is a bar in the room but no refrigerator. During hot summer days, it is nice to have a cold beer on tap.
Location: It is just ten minutes walk from the train station.
I came the hotel at 11 am and to my surprise there was a sign at the window of the hotel stating, 'open at 2 PM.' This was the only hiccup in an otherwise memorable and pleasant three day stay. My spacious room had a fanatstic view to the river and the confines of the city. Excellent breakfast buffet with a select choice of meat cuts and an assortment of cheeses was the perfect way to start the day. The receptionist not only manned the desk, answered phone calls and even cooked me some scrambled eggs. In this hotel, I was treated like a king. Highly recommended for those who want to be spoiled during your vacation.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 13, 2016 by Yvonne, Hotel Management
Dear Sir, thank you very much for your positive comment on your last stay here! Our aim is to make you feel here as good as possible, we are happy to hear that you felt like a king :-) and enjoyed the beautiful view, room, the friendlyness and ambience here! We are sorry about the room bar, we now offer cold drinks anytime at the bar. We wish you all the best and hope to see you again!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 22, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Stefano

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 28, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

The view of the river and the town was amazing.

Posted Apr 7, 2015 on Wotif
We were delighted with the presentation of the hotel and the foyer and rooms. So welcoming and inviting. The windows in the bar and restaurant looked out directly over the river and across to the old town area. There is so many things to see and do across the river such as eateries, shops, and beautiful architecture. Our room was gorgeous with crisp white clean linen, and very spacious with a sitting area, bed area and full bathroom. The two windows looked out directly to the rive and across to a beautiful old township and amazing old churches. So beautiful. We could also see beautiful snow capped mountain ranges in the distance. The staff were extremely helpful and their English was very good. We had lovely pre dinner drinks in the bar. The meals we had in the restaurant were above average, the flavours and choices were great and honestly, we could not have had better anywhere else.