Ratings based on 33 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
56% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Superb hotel in a great location!

Posted Nov 17, 2016 on Hotels
Our stay was amazing. Staff were all friendly and helpful. Breakfast spread was awesome as compared to other hotels. The staff also kept making sure that everything was topped up so that guests will be spoilt for choices. The room itself was amazing too! Huge! Very very cozy. I enjoyed my 2 nights there. Also very near town. Within walking distance.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 23, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel is near Kaiservilla and center, though it takes about 20 minutes for walking from train station.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from toronto , canada

Posted Sep 27, 2015
Pros: The hotel location and food were excellent and the service was very good.
Cons: The WIFI was horrible and the room needs a fan for air movement and noise cancellation as the road outside is very noisy at night
We stayed in Bad Ischl for 3 nights and loved the area. The front desk was very helpful and always available. The dinner in the restaurant was the best we had in the area during our visit and the breakfast was excellent for the size of the hotel. Unfortunately the room was very noisy from the road outside and there was no ventilation(fan) for air movement so you had to keep the window open at night. We would unlikely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

nice hotel in the middle of Bad Ischl

Posted Sep 3, 2015
Pros: It was very traditionally Austrian.
Cons: Could be a safe in the room.
Location: We were only there a night but it was very close to the centre of town, close to nice restaurants, etc.
Stayed here one night in August on our way through Bad Ischl. Spacious room with everything we needed (except a safe). Comfortable large sized bed, good shower. Friendly staff and good breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vienna

Nice weekend getaway

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Pros: The hotel was REALLY REALLY clean. I read previous complaints about the bathrooms/showers and uneven water pressure but had no problems whatsoever.
Cons: Staff knowledge about local attractions/excursions/transport. There isn't much, so it shouldn't be too difficult.
Location: Decent hiking, lots of local music/cultural events.
Bad Ischl isn't the center of skiing or hiking but a nice weekend getaway. The hotel was well situated in the town--convenient and close to everything. The staff was polite and helpful, although not the most knowledgeable about local hiking/transportation. We asked several questions about hiking and taking the gondola and trails and buses back. When we returned from our hike, we noticed a sign in the doorway which said the hotel sold discounted gondola passes--something the staff neglected to mention full-stop. So, they're not unhelpful, but not exactly helpful either. Breakfast was typical but not remarkable.
5 out of 5
by Thomas

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 10, 2014 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient location, poor service

Posted Apr 27, 2014 on Hotels
The reception staff seemed like she wanted to quit her job, and not particularly interested in helping us with checking in, or getting drinks at the bar later in the evening (she seemed to be the only one working). The poor service might have been a product of the fact that we were there on the off season, but I don't think that is a good excuse. The hotel neighborhood was okay, but I suspect it would be more interesting and lively in peak tourist season. The hotel was walking distance, about 10 minutes, from the city centre and most of the attractions and restaurants you would likely want to visit.
3 out of 5
by aquaori from vancouver

a small hotel on the hill

Posted Apr 19, 2014
Pros: furnitures and color of the wall.
Cons: shower system, keys, front desk hours, and the smell of the entire hotel.
Location: Gosausee, Hallstatt, Obertraune.
This little place looks warm, elegant, and comfortable. I got a small one person room with a window facing street. Therefore, it was noisy because of the cars driving by, and it was smoky because there are people smoking on the street. My room was clean but the pillow was very shallow. The bathroom was clean but the water flowing out from the shower head was not warm and water volume was low. The door of each room still use a standard key and lock system. When you go out, you have to bring a very heavy key holder with you. it looks like the handle of a small hammer. the front counter only opens from 8am to roughly 6pm, which means you can't check in later than that and you can't check out earlier than that. you have to check out between 8 and 11 am. I went to Hallstatt in the morning, and I have to rush back for the check out. The whole hotel smells smoky. If you don't like to smell of cigarette, you would try to avoid this place. Other than all the above things, this is a cozy and beautiful hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from PA

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 9, 2011 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 25, 2016 on Hotels
Basic Hotel, with good breakfast