Ratings based on 121 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
56% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Will not stay at an Econolodge again.

Posted Sep 12, 2016 on Hotels
Bad smell in room - cigarette smoke, pet urine, disinfectant, damp carpet; Shower curtain was old and stained; No security on outside doors or security bars on room door; Only two (flat) pillows on each bed; Old mattress sunk in middle; Sheets smelled of above odors... Staff at the front desk was courteous, competent and helpful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Traverse cotu

Posted Sep 9, 2016 on Hotels
room smelled smoky, obviously it wasn't non smoking as advertised. I am allergic to smoke so this was a huge deal. priced higher than usual or holiday.... not a good value coffee bad
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Needs updating

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Pros: Easy parking, since we had a boat on a trailer with us. The front desk staff was great!
Cons: New carpet. Clean the bedding. Clean the floors.
The front desk staff was wonderful. They were very pleasant, helpful and just a delight to encounter. The room itself was something else, based on the money we spent. There were stains on the bedding-comforter(not the sheets),on the carpets and on the walls. The floors need a good cleaning! The furniture is old and worn. We had 3 families in 3 different rooms and they all felt the same.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lower MI

Centrally located to drive and sight see.

Posted Sep 3, 2016
Farther out of town than expected, but easy drive to downtown. Reserved one night, but decided on two since we wanted to drive north for the day and then come back before heading south. I'd go back. I needed a repair and they fixed it immediately.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from OKC

Good place

Posted Aug 18, 2016
Room was ok. Breakfast was sparse. Pool and spa were good. Definitely not high class but served its purpose. We were out and about each day. Returned to clean room and a nice swim. Near fairgrounds and baseball stadium, which is what we wanted. Restaurants and stores nearby.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 21, 2016 by Lisa, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing the Traverse City Econo Lodge. We are pleased to hear you were happy with your stay. Although we currently exceed the breakfast requirements for the Econo Lodge brand, we are considering some additions to our menu. We hope all the changes we will be making over the winter will make your next stay even more enoyable.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst Motel don't go there

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Expansive No elevator Dirty carpets and walls tub worn out Bad breakfast No redeeming quality except for the bed
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 7, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We are sorry to hear you were unhappy with your stay. We research rates on a regular basis and keep ours among the most affordable in the area. Two floor hotels are not required to have elevators and we make an effort to inform all guests who book directly through us of this. Unfortunately, we are limted as to what information is conveyed to guests who book using a third party . We are sorry that our breakfast of waffles, bagels, danishes, Raisin Bran, Cheerioes and assorted varities of Quaker Instant Oatmeal did not meet your needs.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 2, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was perfectly fine. Nothing amazing but it is cheaper. It is a short drive into downtown Traverse City.
3 out of 5
by sharon from Flushing MI

Please read my comments so you know what to expect

Posted Jul 30, 2016 on Hotels
We were charged a little more than our Hotels.com confirmation stated. When we checked in, the WIFI would not work in our 2nd floor room. After some calls and visits to the lobby, the hotel staff made calls to the cable company and got WIFI working (continued to work for the remainder of the stay). The toilet itself was in bad shape. The back corner of the tank cover was broken off and missing. The toilet seat was loose. The toilet did not flush properly. When I stepped on the area where the carpet met the bathroom floor, a carpet nail stuck my toe. My husband checked the strip and found there were two nails sticking up that he bent over so they would no longer be a problem. The table in our room had a loose, broken leg. There were cracks/gaps between the wall and the ceiling. We had no maid service on the 2nd day and had to ask for clean towels. This hotel is in need of TLC; it could be much nicer than it is. Our stay was 3 nights and it was reasonably quiet. There is a minimal, included continental breakfast.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from st. louis, mo

Inexpensive in an expensive area

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Everything was fine but there were several spots in the room that had not been cleaned. Crumbs on counter in front of microwave and also the cover for the kleenex holder had smudges on it. Took less than 5 mins to tidy up and everything else was fine. Desk staff was very, very nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 26, 2016 by Lisa, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing the Traverse City Econo Lodge. Thank you for letting us know about the problems in your room, so we could address them with this new housekeeper. We are pleased to hear that our front desk staff was able to meet your needs. We hope to see you again.
2 out of 5
by Tamara from Lansing

Posted Jul 22, 2016 on Hotels
Was ok