Ratings based on 873 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice view of Beach

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Nice clean hotel. Nice amenities. Right on the beach!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice view of the bay.

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Nice hotel. Nice room and clean. Comfortable bed.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Glen Ellyn, IL

A Nice Clean Resort with great service

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Pros: Room cleaning was just excellent!
Cons: Border around bathroom mirror was from another life of that hotel, and while I can appreciate the retro look it was just grimy & disgusting to look at
Location: We were there 4 years ago and it's amazing to see the growth in the wineries (particularly on the mission peninsula). Traverse city area is great
We stayed there for 5-days and the (recently upgraded) room was a great stay through the whole week. The bedding was very good, giving us a good night's sleep our whole stay and the cleaning staff was just excellent. Beach front and property are very well maintained. Only minor issue with room was with the bathroom mirror that had yet to be replaced, but bath room itself was updated and clean. We will be coming back!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ann Arbor Mi

Great Beach location, 10 mins from everything

Posted Sep 14, 2016
The room, location, and staff was great. Only advice I would give, is if you book through expedia call ahead. Our reservation did not go through completly and when we called to verify that morning they had no record of our reservation even though we has booked 2 months prior. It took them about 15 mins to get everything figured out and were very accomodating to make up for the error. overall great experience and will stay here again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Beach , Clean hotel friendly staff

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Pros: Beach, breakfast, amenities, staff and very clean You can use the beach while waiting to check in
Cons: 4 pm check is a bit late Hotel would benefit from a lounge/bar
Location: need a car to get downtown and to most things put put golf across the street.
Great stay, beach and view are beautiful, clean hotel, friendly staff.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel on the beach

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Room was nice. Very clean. Price was not bad for being right on the beach plus we had a jacuzzi tub in the room. Staff was very friendly. Beach was well kept. Breakfast was a little lacking. I was expecting more options. Overall great place to stay. Will definitely stay again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from emmett mi

Lovely Hotel

Posted Sep 11, 2016
Check in was ackward. Front desk staff condescending attitude and frequently mentioned this was an Expedia booking w/ an eye roll, as if my reservation wasn't as important and could be rushed through without giving me directions to the room. Again, the Exoedia booked room didn't offer a lake view, which was ok since we were rarely in the room. Beds were a little stiff, I prefer the hotels who offer the higher end mattresses. Continental breakfast was good but the area it's served in is way too small. If you can afford it, book the ground floor suites. This seems to be the way to truly enjoy this resort.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from michigan

Nice hotel on the beach

Posted Sep 8, 2016
Pros: On the beach!
Location: Boat rental is right on the beach in front of the hotel, Red Mesa grill is a great Mexican restaurant right across the street.
I love this hotel! It has a beautiful beach with plenty of chairs, and having a patio door directly from the room and stepping out onto the beach is absolutely the best. The rooms have a refrigerator and microwave so there is no reason to leave. The rooms are very quiet, but our stay was not during peak travel. They don't guarantee check in until 4pm, and my room was not available when I tried to check in at 2:30. But the desk took my number and said they would call me if available sooner. So I made myself comfortable on the beach and waited for a call that never came, but I was able to check in right at 4pm
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dayton, Oh

Wonderful Beachfront Hotel

Posted Sep 8, 2016
If you're looking for a clean, beach front hotel on the Traverse Bay--this hotel is the place to stay. The staff is extremely accommodating, the facilities are spacious, new, and offer a fantastic indoor pool for when the weather turns gloomy. I would definitely recommend the Grand Beach Hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Windsor, Ontario, Canada

Nice hotel, great private beach, excellent service

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Grand Beach exceeded expectations and was a great value relative to other similar Traverse City locations. It wasn't inexpensive, but I was happy with the value, especially during peak season. I have stayed in several other Traverse hotels, which were more expensive than Grand Beach but less enjoyable. The private beach is fantastic and the hotel was remarkably clean given the number of people coming straight in from the sand. The beach had a box of toys for children, which was a nice touch. Our room was recently renovated and far better than expected. We were told all rooms will be renovated by the start of summer season in 2017. While we didn't have a beach view, each room has a private balcony, which was a nice touch. Plus the mini fridge and microwave came in very handy. The included breakfast doesn't have the most options, but it was better than I expected based on what I read in the reviews. It had more than enough options for our two night stay. The staff was very friendly and attentive to our needs. Both the front desk crew and the staff at the beach were ready to assist with any request. I have recommended this hotel to several friends already. It's a great option, especially for families. We plan to return next year.