Ratings based on 1,157 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brighton

It was a nice hotel right on the beach

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Pros: The hotel is right on the beach, has a nice breakfast and it is kept up really good. Very clean.
Cons: the breakfast could include a little more fresh fruit and better pastries.
Location: Dairy Queen right across the street along with miniature golf and two restaurants close by.
It was good, very accommodating.They have an inside pool and hot tub plus an exercise room.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Plus-On the Beach, Minus-A bit outdated

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Pros: Friendly front desk staff.
Cons: Minimally update bedding covers.
Location: Great place to visit, tour the area or even do beach time.
Nice location on the beach along Hotel Row. It is somewhat outdated and very motel-like. Perfect beach location and the front desk staff are phenomenally helpful to tourists and are very natural-friendly not the fake type because they have to please the customer. The staff were quite genuine. Limited continental breakfast which was decent enough. The rooms were in in the 70's and need update. Although given demand in summer months I don't see them making any changes.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great location

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Location: ropes course and miniature gof across the street
wonderful off-season stay................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Clean

Posted Sep 7, 2017
Cleanliness is my number priority especially traveling with kids. This place is great!!! Right on a nice clean beach with great views also.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2017 by Mary B. - Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Matt, Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the newly renovated Grand Beach Resort Hotel. We take great pride in our hotel and the amenities we have to offer. We are trilled to hear you loved your stay and we look forward to seeing you on your return trip to Traverse City.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tomahawk, WI

Nice hotel on the beach

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Pros: Location, nice beach, and fairly large rooms.
Cons: The breakfast had trouble sometimes keeping up with the numbers of people
The hotel is on the beach and has easy access to everything in Traverse City. Well maintained and attentive staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel on beach .

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Pros: Very clean .
Excellent staff very friendly and helpful gave us great directions to different sites . Bonus for me DQ across the street . They had last hour for pool adults only .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Nice Hotel & Beach

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Pros: Very nice beach and quiet
Location: It was nice to have Pirate's Cove across the street
It was a nice visit to Traverse City - not enough night life on the water
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Detroit, MI

Location location location.

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Pros: Loved the sound of the waves as I fell asleep. Location is perfect. Lake Michigan didn't disappoint.
Cons: I thought bed linens were sub par. I expect better linens at a hotel than home but sheets especially were scratchy.
Location: Only there for one night. Not enough time ever to fully enjoy but hotel is close to everything you might need or want. Traverse City is lovely.
We arrived later in the day, our own fault of course. One day was not enough time to enjoy all of the nice facilities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beach front walk out

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Pros: Location was great. On beach and short drive to downtown Traverse City.
Location: Putt putt,go carts,zip line,& Dairy Queen directly across street for entertainment.Public beach and gift shop as well as several restaurants close by.
Room was as promised with patio leading to beach. Beach area well set up but a bit smaller than expected due to "private" beach areas on either side. Room clean with comfortable bed and good service by all staff. AC unit was a bit noisy and we never quite figured out the perfect setting for us but room was still very comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Livonia, Michigan

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Pros: Friendliness of staff
Cons: Extend the breakfast time
Moved here after staying one night at a different hotel which we didn't like