Ratings based on 380 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Plymouth, MI

Great hotel, but needs a few updates

Posted Apr 14, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Great views, great staff and many places to shop in the hotel;
Cons: Updates of the hotel walkways and the rooms;
Location: Golf; Downtown Traverse and Elk Rapids; There are plenty of breweries within 5 miles for you to tour and taste;
Grand Traverse is a great hotel. You can still see it for miles. The service is tremendous and the amenities are out of site. IT is however a bit dated. Now with the casino, there is strong competition. If you a looking for a great stay with golf, restaurants and plenty of space for you and a party, this is still the gem of the area.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful

Posted Mar 31, 2016 on Hotels
Beautiful place to stay. Only disappointment was the pool with the water slide and kids toys was closed and being used as a lap pool on the day we checked out. The kids wanted to play for a little while before checking out and couldn't use the slide.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 21, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Been here many times

Posted Jan 30, 2016
Still a fine place to stay. We go for winter escapes . Great staff, dining. Rooms in the towers have great views. Don't miss sunsets at the Aerie lounge. Enjoy a snowshower from an outdoor hot tub.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2016 by Kelly, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for choosing to stay with us again and thank you for taking the time to contact us regarding your stay at Grand Traverse Resort and Spa. We are so pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your winter escapes with us. You have definitely captured some of what makes a winter stay so special. The Tower views and sunsets from Aerie Restaurant never disappoint. And of course, we love getting in the outdoor hot tubs during snowstorms too! Thank you again for your feedback as well as for choosing to stay with us. We hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you again. Thank you, Grand Traverse Resort and Spa Management
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 26, 2016
Hotel was nice overall. Rooms need some upgrading, but overall satisfactory. The pool was rusty everywhere, would definitely invest in cleaning that facility up before the summer rush.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 28, 2016 by Jessica, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for staying with us and thank you for taking the time to contact us regarding your recent visit to Grand Traverse Resort and Spa. We appreciate your review and are glad to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay with us. We are sorry that the pools and your guestroom did not meet your expectations. We would love for you to return and experience one our newly renovated tower guestrooms. We hope to have the opportunity to have you stay with us again. Thank you, Grand Traverse Resort and Spa
5 out of 5
by Tracy

Posted Jan 18, 2016 on Hotels
Great stay. Hotels.com should have offered the tower rooms as an option, standard rooms are old..
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 2, 2016 by Kelly, Hotel Management
Hello Tracy, Thank you for staying with us and thank you for taking the time to contact us regarding your recent visit to Grand Traverse Resort and Spa. We appreciate your review and are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are sorry that the your guestroom did not meet your expectations. We would love for you to return and experience one our newly renovated tower guestrooms. We hope to have the opportunity to have you stay with us again. Thank you, Grand Traverse Resort and Spa
5 out of 5
by Teresa

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 29, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Jessica from Middleville

Nice, but overpriced

Posted Dec 10, 2015 on Hotels
My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon 15 years ago. We were planning a business trip to northern Michigan last June and couldn't quite remember why we didn't love The Grand Traverse Resort, but after this stay, we remembered. The Grand Traverse Resort and Spa is a nice hotel and you can't beat the location on the golf course if you're in Traverse City to golf. If, however, you are in town for downtown shopping or the beach, it is quite a drive (15 minutes or so) and there was not a shuttle bus running from the hotel into town when we went in June. There are several dining and shopping options on site, which is a plus, and my husband's business conference was being held there in the hotel, so he didn't have to drive for that. I felt like the rooms were very much overpriced for what I would call standard amenities. We wouldn't choose to stay at the Grand Traverse Resort again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 20, 2016 by Kelly, Hotel Management
Hello Jessica, Thank you for staying with us and thank you for taking the time to contact us regarding your recent visit to Grand Traverse Resort and Spa. We are very sorry to hear your stay did not meet your expectations. This is not the typical experience that we deliver to our guests. Please be assured that your comments will be shared with our management and staff. Our goal is to exceed your expectations. In your instance, it appears we missed the mark and for that I apologize on behalf of our entire staff. Please be assured that your comments have been shared with our staff and management team. Again, thank you for your comments. It is only through comments such as yours that we become cognizant of our shortcomings and work towards improving our service and amenities. Thank you, Grand Traverse Resort and Spa
5 out of 5
by kennett c.

awesome family week

Posted Dec 1, 2015 on Orbitz
the hotel was great and a great location thanksgiving day brunch and service was great facility and pool was very nice
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Grand Rapids, MI

Nice Ambience.

Posted Nov 29, 2015
We were put up in the older part which is pretty dated. Closer to the pool and exercise facility. Pools and hot tubs are very nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 17, 2015 by Jessica, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for staying with us and thank you for taking the time to contact us regarding your recent visit to Grand Traverse Resort and Spa. We appreciate your review and are glad to hear that you enjoyed the pools and hot tubs. We are sorry that your guestroom experience did not meet your expectations. We would love for you to return and experience one our newly renovated tower guestrooms. We hope to have the opportunity to have you stay with us again. Thank you, Grand Traverse Resort and Spa