Ratings based on 329 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Very nice hotel

Posted Aug 8, 2017
Very clean hotel, room and common areas were well maintained and looked recently updated. would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from tampa bay fl

AWESOME employees Nice hotel

Posted Aug 7, 2017
This hotel has a terrific location right in the heart of everything The breakfast is continental plus The room was nice All employees are friendly and beyond helpful. This is the best asset of this hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fun Trip

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Great hotel. Will stay there again. Reseasonable rates. Did not receive a copy of the check in form.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Nice room

Posted Jun 6, 2017
Pros: close to lots of stuff to eat and things to do.
Cons: desk chair in my room didn't work very well was the ONLY bad thing. It didn't lean back like it should.
Location: see above.
They kept me close to front door on first floor which I requested in my reservation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Big Rapids, MI

Excellent Hotel

Posted Jun 3, 2017
Pros: Clean, good condition, great staff.
Location: In a famous tourist area.
We originally were to stay 2 nights, but liked the area and hotel so much that we stayed another night. The staff was extremely helpful and courteous. Recommend this small hotel to anyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, close to everything

Posted May 30, 2017
Pros: Just 8 minutes from downtown Traverse City, it's extremely close to all the fun, touristy things there.
Cons: The complementary shuttle to the casino is a nice touch, but much of the area competition offers free shuttle service to and from downtown.
Location: Wineries, breweries, distilleries located throughout the region. Go karts & putt-putt next door. Miles of nature trails that run directly behind them
On the outside, Grandstay looks unassuming, but inside it really shines. From the beautiful lobby, excellent breakfast buffet, large comfortable rooms and indoor pool, everything about Grandstay is first class. Even the Bath and Bodyworks soaps provided by them are easily better than most of their competition. Only a few minutes from downtown and everything that can be found there, there are also numerous activities, restaurants, beach access and more all within walking distance. I was there for two weeks on business, even at their peak on weekends, it stayed nice and quiet allowing me to concentrate on my work. If nature is you thing, it's not far from many local attractions, and the large network of bike paths runs directly behind it. About the only fault I had, and it was relatively minor, was my particular room had a somewhat musty smell the first few days. It seemed to die down after that though.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 13, 2017 by Nick Trahair, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your kind words regarding your recent stay at GrandStay. We are proud of our hotel and are so happy that you found it relaxing, quiet and enjoyable. We hope that we will be able to welcome you back again very soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mid Michigan

Very nice hotel. Very comfortable.

Posted May 27, 2017
Stayed in a double queen room which was good sized. Stayed for 3 nights. Staff was very pleasant and accommodating. Heather at the desk was very helpful. Would return again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Grand Rapids, MI

It was very nice...some mold base of the tub

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Pros: Excellent value.
Cons: cleaner bathroom around the outside base of the tub
Location: love traverse city area
Excellent help...very inviting counter staff and breakfast worker
5 out of 5
by Suzanne

Clean and comfortable at a great price

Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Hotels
This hotel is very clean and comfortable, with a nice breakfast, and 24/7 coffee station. We didn't spend much time there, as we were enjoying Traverse City, but the location is good, and the price was great. Would definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

CLEAN hotel.

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Cons: Offer pillow options; not everyone wants an overly soft and utterly flat pillow.
Location: Located across the road from the beach; walking trail at back door, state campground less than a block away, good restaurants within easy walking dist
Room was spic and span. I noticed a housekeeper literally on her knees in a room down the hall cleaning the bathroom floor. This gave me comfort knowing they really do CLEAN the rooms. The bed was okay, but the pillows were horrible----way too soft. I ended up using a whopping seven pillows in an effort to get some neck support. I asked the Front Desk for a pillow with medium firmness, but they told me they don't offer a "pillow menu". This one aspect of my stay was the only downside. Next time I'd book here again, but would bring my own pillow. Staff were nice, though it did take a bit of conversation to get them to open up. They recommended restaurants nearby and even called a couple to make sure they were open (I was there on Easter Sunday) which I thought was nice of them to do. They're recommendations were right on in terms of food quality. Breakfast is upgraded Continental, meaning they offered waffles, eggs, sausage, and basic array of cereals. Room was quiet. I'd definitely stay at this hotel again.