Ratings based on 156 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from whitehall michigan

Concevience

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Fire alarms went off after most guests were tucked in for the night, fire dept., arrived, checked everywhere found nothing wrong, but getting back to sleep was a challenge. I thought we might get a discount on the room for our inconvenience of standing in the lobby while things were checked, but no such luck. Breakfast was okay, eggs leave a lot to be desired, and we are not a fan of frozen fruit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

The room was clean and comfortable

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: Room was comfortable and having plenty of outlets easily accessible was a plus.
Cons: The service could have been a little friendlier and they messed up my bill by making 2 charges on my Visa card.
Location: Close to Traverse City and the shops and it's right across from Grand Traverse Bay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Nice hotel with a few quirks.

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff. Nice furnishings.
Cons: HVAC controls are strange. DO not seem to respond well.
Location: Traverse City is always a great place to visit. Fall colors, winter snow, summer lakeshore, quaint shops and great places to eat.
The Hampton is on the main street across from the beach. The rooms are clean, but small. The thermostat seems to be motion activated. So in the middle of the night the heat/air seems to go off. It took some coaxing to get it to come back on in the morning. Breakfast was nice, above average.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Columbus OH

nice hotel with lake view

Posted Oct 3, 2016
very clean and well laid out rooms. Relatively small but very well done. Great location. Clean and very nice decor in rooms and very nice bathrooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Osseo, MI

It was close to the beach, close to downtown shops

Posted Oct 2, 2016
Pros: It was close to what we wanted to do.
Cons: For breakfast, there were fruit flies by the orange juice dispenser....maybe it needed cleaned?
Location: Great location to downtown Traverse City. The beach is right across the road.
We were there just to get away. It was nice to be close to the beach and the downtown area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from jackson, michiganp

Centrally located

Posted Sep 17, 2016
It's across the street from a state park with a beach, reasonable distance from the city for downtown events and the same for wineries locations on the leelanau and old mission peninsulas.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Small rooms

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Pros: Breakfasts and freshly baked cookies.
Cons: Quality of mattresses. Other Ha,pylon Inns change duvet cover with each guest. This one had a heavy coverlet only.
Location: Good location across from lake.
Not up to other Hampton Inns I have stayed in. Rooms were small, had backache from mattress. Breakfast was good. Location was good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Nice hotel close to beach, city and airport

Posted Sep 10, 2016
Have stayed there before and it did not disappoint. Clean very comfortable hotel at an acceptable price. Staff are extremely professional, helpful, welcoming and friendly.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from michigan

Interesting

Posted Sep 7, 2016
The staff was friendly. We checked in and went to our room. The lamp was broken. There was no fridge in the room anywhere. Checked at front desk to find out you have to request a fridge it's on a first come basis. Never heard of that. Could keep my things in the employee fridge. REALLY!!!! Breakfast was not all its made bout to be either.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Extreme small room

Posted Sep 4, 2016
Pros: Not much
Cons: Warn people they are paying for a half sized room at full price.
Location: Enjoyed Traverse City and the bike trails
Our room was extremely small especially considering the price we paid. There was only a narrow walk way around the bed. Two people could not walk from one side of the room to the other without the other person being totally out of the way. Forget about sitting in the chair and having someone being able to pass by to the other side of the bed. Very disappointed!!