Ratings based on 378 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Good hotel close to town

Posted Oct 7, 2017
Hotel was located right in the water and walking distance to town. Room was comfortable and quiet. Only negative was check in person was unfriendly and seemed put out that he had to actually do his job. Correct that issue and the experience moves even higher. Also, when a hotel is about 60 percent full (Sunday night), don't give people the worst view room in the hotel. The room had one small window and the only view was looking straight into another hotel room window. I understand if the hotel is full but not if you have dozens of rooms with wonderful water or city views.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Plymouth

Walk to town

Posted Oct 7, 2017
Hotel is close to town. However, one night decided to eat at the restaurant in hotel. We sat down and two servers walked past us more than once. We waited a total of ten minutes to be greeted and left. They seem to take more interest when their shift ended then greeting table. ( this was also the case when we came for a drink too at first check in) Also “regulars” are the preferential treatment. We ate outside of hotel and that was that. Next night ordered room service. No silverware w my meal and I gave a $6.00 tip for one sandwich. Oh well. Food service thumbs down. Hotel location is why we stayed.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CA

Nice hotel but I lost my camera

Posted Sep 25, 2017
This is a nice hotel with fantastic lake view. However, I left behind my camera in my room and checked out. I called back 6 hours later and I was told my camera is not found in my room. I am pretty sure my camera was left in my room
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good Hotel in Traverse City

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Hotel is on the bay and close to downtown activities. Many downtown facilities are within walking distance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Detroit, MI

Great location and amenities

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Pros: The amenities, the distance from downtown Traverse city and the service.
Location: Close to downtown (walking distance) where you can go to eat, shop, or hangout. The beach is downstairs and they have boat and bike rentals.
This was our second time in Traverse City. The first time we stayed at the Traverse Grande Hotel Resort and Spa and it was a good stay too. We chose this hotel because of how close it was to the beach and downtown Traverse City. We were very happy with it's location. We were able to go to the beach, walk to downtown TC (which is convenient when you want to drink and don't want to worry about driving back), go to the indoor pool with hot tub and sauna. We used the indoor gym on the day it was a raining. This place also came with a heated outdoor pool that was nice to use when it got chilly. The breakfast that is included with the meal was excellent. You get the choice of a buffet or order off the menu. The staff at the restaurant, bar, and maintenance were friendly and helpful. Would highly recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Columbus, OH

Nice hotel with a great location

Posted Sep 1, 2017
This hotel is a little dated, but it is clean. It has a great location right on the water. There is a really cute outdoor bar area with a small beach.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brighton, MI

Nice enough - but in need of face lift

Posted Aug 22, 2017
The hotel was nice enough, but for the rate we paid we were expecting nicer. It was close to the water with a private beach which was crowded with no room to sit. The pool was nice, but in the shade most of the time and if it was heated, I couldn't tell. Hotel is in definite need of upgrade and make over - decor was 70's ish. The best part was the little cafe with the Starbucks coffee. Worst part was the elevators. For four floors, you would have thought it was 40 for how slow it was.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wi

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Nice location, near downtown, nice area by the beach and great patio area. Take the cataraman, it is a great time. Also seek out Cait, she was full of good advice and a great bartender/ waitress!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lapeer, Mi

Great family place

Posted Aug 15, 2017
Nice comfortable rooms, polite staff, great entertainment, great beach area & bar, within walking distance to shopping, breweries, food & downtown Traverse city. We will come back n
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 17, 2017 on Hotels
Great location. Quick walk to downtown. Only disappointed with not getting our room cleaned. I was told the crew must have been busy. Never heard that before.