Ratings based on 1,069 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Inexpensive hotel close to downtown

Posted Feb 19, 2018
Howard Johnson's is an inexpensive place to stay if you're not in Traverse City to stay in your motel room. Basic amenities and pleasant staff make this the ideal location for a long weekend or business trip where all you need is a clean place to stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

WORKING IN TOWN

Posted Feb 16, 2018
Pros: CLEAN
Cons: BETTER REMOTE FOR TV AND EARLIER BREAKFAST
VERY NICE AND CLEAN, HAD NICE TV (EXCEPT REMOTE), WIFI, MINI FRIDGE, BIG SHOWER AND CLEAN TOILET AREA
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 25, 2018 by Josh Q, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We have had a few issues with our cable/remotes recently and are working to correct it. As for the breakfast, the times are something we have discussed adjusting. Thanks again and we hope to see you in the future!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from traverse city michigan

Stay away!!!!

Posted Feb 15, 2018
Shower floor filthy. Stains all over bottom of tub. No blanket on bed worst hobo ever stayed in. Steps had ripped carpet. Could have tripped and fallen easily. Also steps horribly rusted should have called health inspector. Maybe still will.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 25, 2018 by Josh Q, Hotel Management
We sincerely apologize for any experience that does not live up to customer standards. All of our rooms have outdoor access only, and therefore the stairs are outside as well. As such, they are subject to much wear and tear from the weather and heavy foot traffic.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Traverse City, MI

Posted Feb 6, 2018
They called me to confirm my reservation and assure me I had a room. Check in was fast, easy, and informative. Room was clean, nice size, great internet, with nice amenities. Everything I needed at a very fair price. What could be better?
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 25, 2018 by Josh Q, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! We take pride in our cleanliness and our customer service and we are glad to have been able to provide an enjoyable experience. Thanks again and we hope to see you in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

clean warm quiet nice place

Posted Feb 2, 2018
Pros: location great
Always friendly people very clean rooms good price always stay here when in traverse city.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 24, 2018 by Josh Q, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! We are a small place so we take pride in the customer care and cleanliness we provide, Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you in the future!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice motel, close to downtown

Posted Jan 22, 2018
Pros: Cleanliness
Cons: Loud bathroom fan
Location: Great restaurants downtown and close to airport
Spacious, clean room with standard amenities. Free, simple breakfast. Very nice for the budget traveler. We will come again when we visit Traverse City.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 9, 2018 by Josh Q, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay, and we apologize for the noisy fan in the bathroom. During our upcoming renovation, we hope to take care of several small issues such as this to enhance the stay experience for everyone. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you in the future!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cheboygan,Mi

Great price!

Posted Jan 21, 2018
Love having a little weekend get away. Great prices, comfortable beds, good continental breakfast! Stayed here twice a so far and will stay again soon.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 9, 2018 by Josh Q, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you in the future!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Keep in mind this is a motel not a hotel.

Posted Dec 4, 2017
Pros: That I won't be going back.
Cons: For things that should be improved I would start with better staff and then really clean the rooms(s) shampoo carpet (it was rather dirty).
The first impression of the front desk clerk was great. I got a very warm welcome but everything quickly changed after the initial greeting. Wife and I stayed in the room with king bed (which was not comfortable) and jet tub. Went down and asked for extra towels clerk made it seem as though it was a chore to get the towels even though they were just a few feet away. The fan in the bathroom and in the heater were both excessively noisy. Many of the other guests were also extremely noisy. Which ya I can understand that a bit when one first gets there but running up and down the walkways, slamming doors, acting like a pack of wild animals till after four thirty in the morning is unacceptable. Tried to get the staff to do something about the noise but there was no one on site in the middle of the night to address any issues. In the morning once we went down for the continental breakfast, we got kicked out of our room early. Not because we did anything wrong, they decided it was time to change the room over for the next guests. The am clerk just wanted to argue with me about my problems and the horrible stay rather than try to fix anything. So no I can't this was a nice place to stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Traverse City

Posted Nov 26, 2017 on Hotels
The desk staff was terrific, only issue was that the internet connection was really slow
4 out of 5
by Karen

Comfortable

Posted Nov 23, 2017 on Hotels
Great off season rate! Comfortable and clean.