Ratings based on 1,084 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Great location. Unsanitary Room

Posted Apr 11, 2018
I would recommend that anyone who stays at this location double check to make sure that your sheets have been changed prior to settling in. I had the unfortunate experience of finding a substantial amount of dried blood on my bedsheets as I climbed into the bed on our first evening there. Clearly, the sheets had not been changed after the previous customer. Hotel staff was willing to provide us with a new room, and thankfully it was the room next door, but our family had to move all of our luggage and belongings out of the room at night, in the dark, during a winter storm. Not the most ideal situation.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 15, 2018 by Josh Q, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We sincerely apologize for the experience with the sheets, that is inexcusable. Glad we were able to get you another room so close, but we apologize for the inconvenience of having to move all your things during bad weather. Thank you again and we hope to see you in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 24, 2018
Best i've stayed at in TC. Would stay there again in a heartbeat.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2018 by Josh Q, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We appreciate any and all feedback we can got from our guests to improve the quality of future visits. Thanks and we hope to see you again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great room for the price

Posted Mar 16, 2018
The room rate was so low that we were surprised by how clean and comfortable it was. We booked two rooms with 2 queen-sized beds each. The rooms had a fresh, clean smell without the use of chemicals or fragrances, which I can't tolerate for health reasons. The only thing we could have wished for would be more than one chair to sit on.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Inexpensive hotel close to downtown

Posted Feb 19, 2018
Howard Johnson's is an inexpensive place to stay if you're not in Traverse City to stay in your motel room. Basic amenities and pleasant staff make this the ideal location for a long weekend or business trip where all you need is a clean place to stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 4, 2018 by Josh Q, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! We take pride in our customer service and our cleanliness. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

WORKING IN TOWN

Posted Feb 16, 2018
Pros: CLEAN
Cons: BETTER REMOTE FOR TV AND EARLIER BREAKFAST
VERY NICE AND CLEAN, HAD NICE TV (EXCEPT REMOTE), WIFI, MINI FRIDGE, BIG SHOWER AND CLEAN TOILET AREA
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 25, 2018 by Josh Q, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We have had a few issues with our cable/remotes recently and are working to correct it. As for the breakfast, the times are something we have discussed adjusting. Thanks again and we hope to see you in the future!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from traverse city michigan

Stay away!!!!

Posted Feb 15, 2018
Shower floor filthy. Stains all over bottom of tub. No blanket on bed worst hobo ever stayed in. Steps had ripped carpet. Could have tripped and fallen easily. Also steps horribly rusted should have called health inspector. Maybe still will.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 25, 2018 by Josh Q, Hotel Management
We sincerely apologize for any experience that does not live up to customer standards. All of our rooms have outdoor access only, and therefore the stairs are outside as well. As such, they are subject to much wear and tear from the weather and heavy foot traffic.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Traverse City, MI

Posted Feb 6, 2018
They called me to confirm my reservation and assure me I had a room. Check in was fast, easy, and informative. Room was clean, nice size, great internet, with nice amenities. Everything I needed at a very fair price. What could be better?
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 25, 2018 by Josh Q, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! We take pride in our cleanliness and our customer service and we are glad to have been able to provide an enjoyable experience. Thanks again and we hope to see you in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

clean warm quiet nice place

Posted Feb 2, 2018
Pros: location great
Always friendly people very clean rooms good price always stay here when in traverse city.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 24, 2018 by Josh Q, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! We are a small place so we take pride in the customer care and cleanliness we provide, Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you in the future!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice motel, close to downtown

Posted Jan 22, 2018
Pros: Cleanliness
Cons: Loud bathroom fan
Location: Great restaurants downtown and close to airport
Spacious, clean room with standard amenities. Free, simple breakfast. Very nice for the budget traveler. We will come again when we visit Traverse City.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 9, 2018 by Josh Q, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay, and we apologize for the noisy fan in the bathroom. During our upcoming renovation, we hope to take care of several small issues such as this to enhance the stay experience for everyone. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you in the future!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cheboygan,Mi

Great price!

Posted Jan 21, 2018
Love having a little weekend get away. Great prices, comfortable beds, good continental breakfast! Stayed here twice a so far and will stay again soon.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 9, 2018 by Josh Q, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you in the future!!