Ratings based on 745 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, excellent piano bar

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Location: Very well located close to restaurants, bars and beaches
Great staff, fun piano bar with best view in town. Comfortable beds, some construction on-going. Overall a really nice time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Suttons Bay MI

Great downtown location, friendly staff, best view

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Pros: Location, front desk staff, roof top bar (Top of the Park)
Cons: It will be great when the tear down and reconstruction of the adjacent property is completed. There was normal-level construction noise.
Location: Walk downtown, movie theater, beaches, shopping, public art
We are locals and decided on a little get away. We wanted to be in walking distance of the downtown, beach and bookstores. The Park Place is a Traverse City mainstay. Fantastic location for strolling down, beaches, theater, galleries and dining. It is an older hotel in the process of some updates. We would definitely do this again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location, outdated hotel

Posted Sep 10, 2017
The Park Place is in a great location to walk around downtown. The hotel itself needs a major update. The bathroom is small. The beds dip in the middle. The sheets and towels were clean. On a positive note, I was greeted by staff when coming and going from the hotel. I was disappointed that the pool and exercise room were not open due to reconstruction.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

good location, outdated

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Pros: Good location to downtown, walking around.
Cons: Rooms are below average - dated and worn.
Location: Shops, restaurants, downtown right there.
Nice staff. Good location, nice lobby, rooms outdated and worn. Pillows way too lumpy.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Grand Rapids, MI

Nice place but a bit cramped where it counts

Posted Sep 7, 2017
Pros: Clean and quiet room. Ample parking
Cons: Elevator cleanliness and better pizza
Location: N/A I was gone by 5AM
The front desk guy was nice enough and checked me in quickly. The elevators were gross. Stains on the carpet and smudges and smears all over the doors...I pushed the 4th floor button with a knuckle just in case those were grimy too. The hallway had a funny smell as I walked it toward my room. The room was clean but the bathroom was tiny and a bit cramped for my taste. Different rooms may have larger bathrooms but my room did not. The bed was comfy and well made with lots of pillows. My UV light turned up nothing on the bedding so that's a HUGE plus. I was able to easily run an HDMI cable from my laptop to the tv and change inputs which is not always easy at some places. I brought my swimsuit but the pool and hot tub are closed right now due to renovations. Bad timing I guess. I ordered a chopped salad and pizza from room service. The food came within the time specified when I ordered and the chopped salad was d@mn good. The pizza was a soggy mess and weak on the toppings...major disappointment to say the least. After that I got a good night's sleep with no noises during the night. The next morning I got good water pressure for the shower but it was 4:30 AM. How it would be around 6-7 AM when everyone else is getting up I couldn't tell but mine was nice. I checked out shortly after and that only took a minute. Overall I would stay here again and maybe try a burger or order out if I want pizza again. The clean quiet rooms are the real draw.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Look elsewhere

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Great location but the great stops there. Hotel is under construction and remodeling which wasn't mentioned when I made reservations. Parking is a little funky with no place to park close to entrance and unload your car. Staff was nice and helpful. Our room was recently updated and you could tell - which was a plus. So far not bad. That changed quickly when we found stains on our bedsheets. This was fixed but NEVER should have happened. Bathroom is very small and water temp is difficult to manage in the shower- never really got consistently hot. Despite some of these issues, we had. Good time in Traverse City.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Super comfy beds!

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Expect a great nights sleep at this property! Bathroom is tiny but functional. Downtown location is very convenient to all the good that Traverse City has to offer.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Well-situated, close to restaurants, shops and bea

Posted Sep 2, 2017
Pros: Proximity to Beach walk, and Front Street. Courteous staff.
Cons: MUCH!! See first paragraph above.
The hotel is perfectly situated, as my title says. But the building and rooms are very tired. When we checked into our room, one bedside light bulb needed to be replaced, the bathroom faucet would not turn to HOT, the shower had to be manipulated to turn off, so mostly it just dripped - a lot., and the mattress was positioned such that two metal supports protruded, and could have injured the person getting in or out of that side. The good news is that when we reported those issues, they were repaired very quickly. The bathroom in Rm 333 is so small and poorly designed as to really not work even for one! The service in Restaurant Minerva, where we ate breakfast for 4 days was excellent, as were the breakfasts. Big plus, and, as we said, the hotel is so well situated - for someone like us who didn't need to be ON the beach, but it just needs to be pretty much upgraded.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oscoda, Mi

Great downtown hotel

Posted Sep 2, 2017
Had a great time on our girls trip to Traverse City! Loved being able to stay downtown and walk everywhere. Our rooms were spacious and had had comfortable beds. All amenties included....plus having adjoining rooms was a huge bonus. We will definitely stay there again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Petoskey, Mi

Great location but needs repairs

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Close to downtown. Nice bar/restaurant. Room had cobwebs in corners, hole in bathroom sink, trash in shower, dirt on edges of carpet, bathroom needed to be cleaner. Front desk staff did make a room charge adjustment. Only hotel in downtown. They are working on improvements.