Ratings based on 552 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

nice hotel, close to opera house and downtown

Posted Feb 1, 2016
Pros: comfortable, close to everything
Cons: restaurant/bar stay open
Location: restaurants, opera house, and bars
we did receive a noise complaint, I feel the bar/restaurant should stay open per bar hours.... other than that, all was well
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bay City, MI

Nice and close to down town. Great restaurants!

Posted Jan 29, 2016
Nice and convenient location. Nice restaurants and a beautiful view of the city at night from the lounge at the top of the hotel. Love this! The room was spacious and clean, staff couldn't have been more accommodating and we will return and would highly recommend it.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Only for the location

Posted Dec 21, 2015
Pros: The location is perfect.
Cons: The rooms are small and dingy. Most of the hotel staff was not welcoming, besides the bartender and one waitress at the Beacon.
Location: The location makes all of the shops and restaurants walking distance. The location is wonderful.
The older wing of the hotel is very disappointing. The front desk was unfriendly and some of the restaurant staff were as well.
3 out of 5
by HS

Not a good hotel

Posted Nov 8, 2015 on Orbitz
Everything is old. AC is noisy. Could not find a good power port to charge cellphone. Bathroom is tiny. The location is perfect though.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Zhe

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 7, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 26, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Small but good location (and they know it).

Posted Oct 20, 2015 on Hotels
I've stayed here a few times in the past 5 years and will continue to stay here on special occasions or when I want to stay right downtown for a certain particular reason. Other than that, I'll stick to some much cheaper options just outside of downtown. The Park Place charges an unreasonable rate simply because they can (mostly due to location and their "history"). Rooms in the West Wing are ridiculously small for the north of $200 they charge a night on certain weekends. Even more in the summer. The rooms and bathrooms are smaller than most of the economical options just down the road (15 minute walk or 5 minute cab ride). But if you're willing to pay the money to feel fancy right downtown but in reality, really cramped and hurting in the wallet, then go for it. Like I said, I'll probably stay here again sometime in the future, as long as I book months and months in advance or in the Winter when their rates go down to a still unreasonable but somewhat doable price. So I'm being a little hypocritical. Comfy bed too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by David H.

Sweetest Day Trip

Posted Oct 20, 2015 on Orbitz
Our stay at the Park Place was exceptional. Great customer service! Great view from our room of Traverse Bay! Great location to walk to area shops, restaurants.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Old hotel in desperate need of a remodel

Posted Oct 20, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Cleanliness
Location: Great winery's with in a 15 minute drive
Pros: The hotel is in the middle of downtown, within walking distance to most areas. Minervas restaurant has really good food, for a reasonable price. There is a lounge on the 10th floor of the hotel that has gorgeous views of the bay, and surrounding city, drink prices are a little steep though. Cons: -Hotel was built in 1930 and has very few updates done to it. The room was increadibly small, the bathroom was so small that if you went to turn the shower on, if someone opened the door, they would hit you with it. No more than one person could fit in the bathroom. There was caulk holding just about everything together in the bathroom, Including the drop ceiling tiles. -The heat barely worked, We had it turned up to 75 when we 1st got there, it never made it above 70, then turned it up to 80, never made it above 70. Sunday morning, I went to take a shower, low and behold, I had no hot water. What a way to start my day off. -The pool area was nasty, they wanted you to take a shower in the locker room before you swam, but I didn't want to take off my shoes in the locker room. The pool room had all sorts of gunk built up in the corners. The "dome" actually rained on you while you were swimming, its a really nice way to explain to your kids how it rains, but not any other time. All of this said, I would expect this from a $69 a night, but not a $300 a night place. I did mention all of this to the front desk manager (Tom) when we checked out and he did discount the room.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old and somewhat dirty

Posted Oct 19, 2015
Pros: close to town and walking distance to shopping
Cons: total remodel of hotel
Location: shopping
overpriced for the condition on the building, what not worth the price we paid for one night