Ratings based on 1,019 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lansing, MI

Okay location, a little removed from downtown

Posted Mar 17, 2017
The main reason I chose this hotel was the low cost. Visiting Traverse I wanted the chance to see more wineries and just needed a place to sleep. With the low cost, the room met my expectations of what I was paying for.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from northern Michigan

Nice hotel, very quiet

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Pros: Very quiet
Cons: Carpet could be a little cleaner, I wiped up some water on the carpet with a towel, and the towel was black,, so carpet was not very clean.
I had surgery on my arms, and stayed at this motel overnight to recooperate before I could travel back, and it was very quiet, so I got the rest I needed. Would recommend this hotel, it is nothing fancy, but was clean and quiet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Simple and pet friendly

Posted Feb 14, 2017
We frequent this hotel because it's simple and pet friendly. They have a small complimentary breakfast, but it's just enough to grab something and go. We don't spend much time in our hotel room, but it's comfortable and good for the price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from boyne city, mi

Nice hotel.

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Was nice it had a flat screen tv, microwave and a mini fridge. The bed was a little to hard for my comfort but that was the only bad thing about the place.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cheboygan, MI

Great location, except for noise...

Posted Feb 1, 2017
Pros: The free breakfast was a wonderful surprise: waffles, bagels w/ cream cheese, hot or cold cereals, breads, fresh apples, juices, all nicely presented.
Cons: Cleanliness of room.
Location: On way into town, next to US 31. Good location.
This Travelodge is in a convenient location on the edge of Traverse City with great access to US 31 by way of a side street that had a stoplight at the intersection, making it super easy to enter the highway during rush hour and heavy traffic. Unfortunately, road noise was a bit of a problem on the north side of the building, and sounds from morning traffic on 31 could be heard quite loudly in my 2nd floor room from about 5:30 am onward. The building seemed to have issues with a lack of sound insulation for water pipes and bathrooms as well. Lying in bed well after midnight, I could hear clear sounds of one neighbor using his toilet, another's infant crying, and later, rushing water sounds of a very-early morning shower, loud enough to wake me up. The room was nicely furnished and comfortable, but not as clean as I expected. The carpet had a trail of granules of salt that someone (not me-I took my boots off at the door) had tracked into the bathroom, and the bathroom floor had mostly-dried footprints on it from someone's wet, dirty boots. There had just been a snowstorm, so I found that excusable. I was dismayed to discover a wet, soiled washcloth in the sink, and would have requested a properly-cleaned room, but this was after I had ordered pizza and settled in the room. The desk clerk did apologize for this inconvenience. Best thing was the excellent complimentary breakfast, with a good number of choices of food served in a spacious, tidy, and comfortable room.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lake Orion, MI

About what you'd expect

Posted Jan 31, 2017
Not bad for the price but the heater was noisy, the heat got turned down to 65 every day when we were out, and we got locked out of our room with no apology.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlevoix

Posted Jan 10, 2017
Very clean and nice place to stay. We had a king room.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 30, 2016
The only negative in a positive experience with a refurbished and nice room at a great price, was that the blanket on the beds was a very light summer weight material. If they added one heavier winter blanket during the winter months ....the guests comfort would be greatly enhanced. We didn't mention it to the front desk....as they were cordial and pleasant. This issue would be above their pay grade. Over all it was a very nice experience at a bargain price!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 16, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lewiston

Convenient for getting to the airport & good price

Posted Dec 15, 2016
The lodge is okay, if I had to stay for more than one night, I wouldn't because we were so cold, thin blankets and bredspread. Should change the blankets according to the season, thin for summer, heavier one for winter. Heating system takes forever to heat up the room.