Ratings based on 48 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel, Great Beach, and Great Food

Posted Apr 10, 2016
Pros: The location, the beach, the food and drink.
Cons: It can be hard to find a beach chair either at the pool or on the beach unless you get up early in the morning and claim it.
Location: Nice and secluded.
We decided to do a short, hot trip to get away for a few days. After doing some research I decided to book at the Sandals Whithouse. We had previously been to the Sandals Antigua and had a very good experience. This hotel did not disappoint. Although it is an hour and a half drive from the airport it is worth it to be nice and secluded and away from any other resort. The beach was great and we spent most of our time just relaxing there. We managed to go to each restaurant (nice to have a variety) and enjoyed our meals and drinks at all of them. It was definitely sad to leave.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from chicago

Too long a drive from the airport

Posted Apr 7, 2016
Drive was too long from airport. Roughly 1.5 hours. Had to wait 45 minutes for bellman to get us our bags
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Louisiana

Wonderful hotel right on the beach

Posted Mar 29, 2016
This hotel is an absolute gem! The hotel staff are some of the friendliest I have ever encountered. Our room was very clean and had a nice view of the ocean. The was a nice variety of restaurants to choose from as well. It's about an hour and a half ride from the airport and there is nothing to do around the resort without getting a taxi. It's a wonderful place to relax and enjoy yourself. The dive team is also amazing-I highly recommend them!!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dayton, Ohio

Excellent Resort

Posted Feb 17, 2016
Pros: Resort layout makes it easy to get to and from different venues.
Cons: It would be nice if they could improve the beach conditions for water activities by possibly adding some sand to eroded areas.
Location: Not much nearby. There are a few activities and excursions to enjoy, but we were more interested in relaxing and re-charging than anything else.
We were pleased with the entire experience. Staff was friendly and always accommodating. Food was delicious. Food choices were outstanding. The beach was beautiful and meticulously maintained everyday. While beaches were very nice, there was some erosion which meant there were quite a few rocks in the water just off the shore. Not a big deal, but to really enjoy the water, you need to wear water shoes - which we did. Wifi service was adequate. Overall, we had a great time. Highly recommend.
5 out of 5
by Angela from Miami

Amazing and romantic honeymoon!

Posted Nov 22, 2015 on Hotels
It was an amazing experience on so many levels. Before you travel: bring small bills to tip luggage handlers and your driver. 2) there's a tour where you spend time at a local elementary school, reading with the kids and interacting with them. It’s amazing, if you can, bring books to donate. Our club level room meant a speedy checkin at a separate lounge just for us. It’s open 24/7 for us, stocked with books, coffee/expresso machine, snacks, champagne, JW black label, etc. Our room was lovely. In the Dutch Village, which was nicely located in the resort. For a livelier setting, the French village. The whole resort is gorgeous and well kept. Food: eat dinner at each restaurant! Delicious food at each one. Bluefields is not only romantic, they serve an outstanding traditional appetizer.Follow it up with the lobster,which is TO DIE FOR! Drinks: all top shelf stuff, Glenfiddich,Appleton Reserve, French champagne, etc. Catamaran cruise: Awesome.On the way back its smooth sailing with the wind, nonstop beer and rum punch, and the best DJ around. Fun! Jamaican hospitality: everyone’s so nice and helpful. As we were leaving the staff serenaded us with a farewell song. We'll definitely be back. Cons: 1) wine included is a Mondavi wine made for Sandals… meh. The restaurants offer a limited wine list for purchase, with some decent ones for $50-$60. 2)reserving a chair at the pools. People go at 7am, place a hat/magazine on chairs, and not come back to them until hours later.
4 out of 5
by Lara from Pt. Pleasant, NJ

Sandals Whitehouse relaxing and beautiful

Posted Nov 17, 2015 on Hotels
The grounds of the hotel were gorgeous! The mountains in the back made for a secluded, tropical vacation. The food was good. They could have used better quality liquor, but the drinks were fine. We had fun at the martini bar and on the catamaran to the Pelican Bar. The pools were beautiful and large. After seeing other resorts in Negril and Montego Bay I was thrilled we chose Sandals Whitehouse.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Honeymoon

Posted Nov 2, 2015
Really pleased with our stay at Sandals Whitehouse for our honeymoon. Everything excellent - only negative callouts are distance from airport, 90 min drive through windy roads, and the beach is really shallow (have to swim out past seaweed which isn't ideal). Entertainment is so-so, but they do their best and the staff is very friendly. The day trips are quite expensive and are further from resort (2 hours or so), but I suppose this is standard. Overall though we really enjoyed it and will definitely visit another Sandals resort !
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from BC Canada

Private beach (no other resorts around)

Posted Sep 30, 2015
We had our weddingmoon here and it was PERFECT! The resort provided the beat of all world's. It was quiet and intimate with amazing service and food and activities. And ecen am active night life. Only down was the bed was brutal-we both woke up every morning with a sore back. We didn't want to complain but found out upon checkout that you can ask to have the bed padded or could have been moved to another room. :)
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Richmond, VA

Exceptional experience

Posted Sep 10, 2015
Best vacation ever. Everything about this resort is top notch. From the location, ambience, service, facilities, staff and activities is second to none.
5 out of 5
by Lauren from Houston

AMAZING service and experience

Posted Aug 24, 2015 on Hotels
The resort was beautiful and well-kept. Our room was great with all your basic amenities provided such as shampoo, conditioner, lotion, and facial soap. The quality of service is what really wowed us as every employee went above and beyond to ensure our stay was beyond our expectations. The resort provided transportation to and from the airport with a 'welcome' lounge to relax and grab refreshments upon arrival which is always a nice touch. We would definitely return to this Sandals without a doubt.