Ratings based on 707 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from DC

A Jewel of a Place

Posted Jul 30, 2017
Pros: Pretty much everything was great. Wonderful staff, great location, friendly guests, walking or uber distance to everything.
Booked this place randomly, and was not expecting a whole lot based on others' negative reviews, but since it was a beach vacation, I wasn't being overly particular. When we arrived and got settled in our room, I was pleasantly surprised. The room was clean, AC was kicking (because it's hot as BLAZES down there!), and staff was friendly and helpful. Nearly all of the rooms have apparently been updated, with new furniture, paint, carpet, etc., so complaints about those are void. While it wasn't the Ritz, of course, it was a wonderfully delightful beach hotel with a fun outdoor tiki bar right by the pool. There are many outdoor gathering/seating areas right by the rooms, which encourages strangers to get to know each other, and the pool has no closing time as long as things are peaceful for other guests. The hotel is almost perfect, a gem of an oasis right off the beach. It's not as close to the beach as it appears, which is about my only complaint, but apparently at some time the beach was built up for hurricane protection, making the hotel farther away from the shore line. There is an army of staff cleaning, taking meticulous care of the grounds, and running the front office. Everyone was super friendly and very accommodating. My husband and I were there for nine days, and would most definitely return. Other hotel guests were nice, and we wound up making friends with several, hanging out a the numerous beach bars and restaurants. Had an awesome time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 31, 2017 by KP, Hotel Management
Felicia; Thank you for the wonderful review. I am so glad that you and your husband enjoyed your stay with us for nine days. I hope that you will visit us again real soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 29, 2017
Friendly staff....beautifully landscaped....rooms and beds were cozy...bathrooms could use an update and the water pressure was awful...pool and surrounding area was very nice and relaxing...very convenient to have gas grills available....we will for sure return next summer
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 31, 2017 by KP, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope you will visit again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great value

Posted Jul 21, 2017
The property is pretty, location is great and staff was helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2017 by KP, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Overall, not bad...

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Like others have said, the hotel is a bit outdated. However, the location is good, the rooms were clean and the bed was comfortable. The room was small, but we were only in it to sleep & shower, so it really didn't bother us. The price was good as well. The "tiki bar" by the pool is open for very limited hours and has no food or snacks, so make sure you have some for yourself. The only thing that did bother us is that some of the hotel staff's relatives came swimming one afternoon. By itself, that's ok, but one of the children vomited in the pool. When I told the front desk, the lady laughed at me as she called maintenance. Maintenance came but were unfriendly & rude & and didn't do anything about the fact that the child had vomited in the pool. He stated "there's so much chlorine in there that it'll be fine." Health codes state they should've done a whole lot more than that. That was the only sour note in our 4 night stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2017 by KP, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will definitely look into the comments and pool situation. I am sorry to hear this and we will take care of it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Regular old Motel

Posted Jul 13, 2017
The front desk are very nice ladies The Motel is an old one I would say the price is way high for the quality . needs more fix is an outdated motel . needs more parking space and more handicap parking space . would come back I don't Think so .
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 13, 2017 by KP, Hotel Management
Bqua; Thank you for your review. We are updating rooms now with new furniture and carpet so I hope you will visit us again soon.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unauthorized credit card charges

Posted Jul 9, 2017
We booked our hotel through Expedia and paid in full when booked. When we reached the hotel they asked for a credit card to "hold" in case of damages and said they would not charge the card. The next morning I woke up to several emails from my credit card company that the hotel attempted to charge my card. Over our 2 day stat they tried to charge my credit card 6 times for the hotel room charges because Expedia had not forwarded the payment yet. The hotel never contacted Expedia and never contacted me during our stay about these charges. It wasn't until I left and called back to the hotel and asked them what was going on that I found out they charged me by mistake and finally they called Expedia to get the payment.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 13, 2017 by KP, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. Sorry about the charges, it sounds as thought our staff didn't understand the charges. I am very sorry to hear that this happened. I do hope that you will try us again soon.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Bugs in the room! Friendly staff but cleanliness was terrible!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2017 by KP, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. Sorry to hear about your stay. Hope you will try us again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, close to the beach.

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Great outdoor space for lounging, watching the sunset or sunrise.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 3, 2017 by KP, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 30, 2017
I needed a handicap room for my daughter's wheelchair.they told me i had one..was not at all! Very hard for me to get her around and in and out of room. Also the bathtub didnt drain and filled up as i was trying to wash my kids. The bar was right by the pool where i had my kids and the bar tender was incrrdiably rude and loud about things children shouldnt hear. (She ended up quitting that night so apparently she didnt care) and another child pooped in the pool! Just wasn't what we expected for the price we paid
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 3, 2017 by KP, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear about your stay. I am not aware of all these problems but I will look into. I do hope that you will try us again soon.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Average hotel

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Staff was nice but room needed some repairs, and pool was dirty! I suppose to get a room with pullout sofa, but only had two queen size beds! Also, I brung my kid and adults were practially having sex in the pool, which made me feel uncomfortable!!! Not worth the money I spent to stay at this hotel!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 3, 2017 by KP, Hotel Management
Lisa; Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear about your stay. I will look into the issues at the pool because you are right we are a family oriented property so we do not want this happening. I do hope that you will try us again soon.