Ratings based on 193 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vienna

Wonderful stay

Posted Jan 18, 2017
We stayed 3 nights and really enjoyed our stay. The B&B is in the middle of the vineyard and has amazing mountain view. Our room was spotlessly clean and comfortable. The entire place is furnished with antiques so if you like bland corporate hotels, this is probably not for you. We loved the unique style of this property. We had dinner in the restaurant on Saturday night and it was delicious. The lady who runs the place is so helpful and made sure we were comfortable. Greatly recommended.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from fayetteville nc

Super unique opportunity.

Posted Oct 1, 2016
Staying at a working winery was really different. Very beautiful one of a kind experience. Hotel staff made you feel very welcome. On site resturant prepared very tasty meals. Was a little out of the way but well worth the effort.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami

Spectacular Trento

Posted Sep 12, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Trento is a gorgeous city, an absolute jewel, Majestic mountains, vineyards more spectacular than Monterrey. The historic town is chic
Cons: Many things, but enjoy what exists
Location: Visit magnificent Trento, its spectacular cathedral, the town square, great restaurants. Overall, the area is a most beautiful parts of Italy
The hotel is a very old and lovingly restored property - much still needs to be done. But it is stunning and majestic
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 10, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Yorkshire, UK

Great, interesting and quirky hotel

Posted Aug 19, 2016
Pros: It is very 'different,' interesting and in a great location. The food was excellent.
Cons: Some of the decor, fixtures and fittings in the rooms, particularly the bathrooms could be a bit better quality.
Location: Very scenic location in the hills beneath imposing mountains. It is about 12 minute drive to the centre of Trento with it's beautiful historic areas.
A 'very different' hotel experience in a hillside villa estate on the outskirts of Trento. The rooms are within an annex to the main villa, which looks like a large Alpine chalet. It is very quirky, in a nice way. It is a veritable maze of passages filled with eclectic antiques and ornaments. Although quite rustic, it has a vast amount of character. The dining hall is an elegant, vaulted cellar and the breakfast room is in a well appointed farm building. In warm weather there are covered verandahs with scenic views of the vineyards, hills and mountains. The owner is a lovely lady. The evening meals were of outstanding quality produced by her chef brother. Note that the hotel is a little difficult to find, a sat-nav is essential. Right on the edge of a vineyard, the entrance is down a gravel driveway and through an impressive stone archway gate.
5 out of 5
by Jamie from COLUMBUS

Highly recommend for quite and relaxing stay

Posted Aug 7, 2016 on Hotels
Great hotel away from the chaos of Venice, free boat transfers, great breakfast, comfortable and a great price.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 29, 2016 on Hotels
We booked 3 rooms with balcony for 3 nights. However we were allocated to 3 attic rooms without balconies. Air con is not working in the rooms so it was very hot during the day. Bathroom could do with an update. Toilet seats are not fitted properly. We had a laugh about this. Rooms had almost everything we needed for the stay. Food is serviced in the restaurant. Very tasty food but The portions are on the small side.The hotel is beautiful and situated in a very scenic location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington State

Beautiful

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Pros: Beautiful building set in mountains and vineyards. In the country but only a five minute drive into city.
Cons: Wifi didn't work. No cups or glasses in bathrooms for drinking.
Location: In the country but a five minute drive into Trento.
This was one of the most beautiful hotels and settings I have ever stayed in. That being said it is hundreds of years old and reflects such. It does not have the modern amenities we frequently expect. I have traveled to over 40 countries over the past few decades and enjoy staying in a variety of locales ranging from small mom and pop places to 5 star resorts. This is definitely unique and a place I will always remember (In a good way). We have a twelve year old son and daughter. This was their favorite place on our recent 12 day trip to Europe. The room had a loft they slept in which they felt was fun.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

A piece of paradise in Northern Italy !!

Posted Jul 4, 2016
Pros: The atmosphere and personal attention
Cons: The mattresses...they are a bit oudated.
We landed in Locanda del Bel Sorriso almost by accident (last minute booking) on our way from Rome to Munich. We found an old country house (mansion?) nailed on the side of the Dolomite Mountains, overlooking viniadrs, streams and fruit trees. We were warmely received by the owner Mariana and her lovely daughter Diana. We were told that since the cook was off that day we could either go down to town to eat or stay and have a "simple dinner" at the place which Mariana prepared herself: a three course meal with homemade grappa to finish !!! The next mornig after brakfast, she offered a walking tour of the sorroundings, Not only would I recommed Villa Bertagnoli to stay, I will go back for a few days !!1
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Idaho

In Italian Experience

Posted May 1, 2016
Pros: Atmosphere, location, views
Cons: Beds are not very comfortable
Location: The town square and cathedral in Trento was interesting and well worth the time to visit.
The rooms are old, the beds are not comfortable, and the bathrooms were not by any means fancy. But I would stay there again as it was a truly remarkable experience being at an Italian Inn in the midst of the vineyards with a view of the beautiful Dolomite Mountains. The staff was kind and even though they spoke little English, they felt like our friends at the end of our visit. The breakfast was delightful and had a lot of variety too. The Inn was gated and I felt comfortable parking our rented Mercedes there. I may never have the opportunity to stay there again, but if we are in the area, I would definitely stay there again.