Ratings based on 300 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Kissimmee, FL

Great boutique hotel

Posted Oct 26, 2017
Pros: Location and staff
Cons: Fluffier pillows and TV reception.
Location: Could walk to Trevi Fountain, the Coliseum, and Vatican. Everything you could want was nearby.
Hotel Bolivar is within walking distance of most major attractions, as well as, the hop on hop off bus, and restaurants.The hotel itself is small, yet comfortable and clean. Breakfast was provided and adequate. Our only complaint would be the hard, flat pillows. Peter, the host at the front desk was exceptional. He went out of his way to ensure all of our questions were answered and also arranged for our private transportation to the hotel and ship at a competitive price. We were very please with our visit and would stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 29, 2017 by Peter, Hotel Management
Thank you very much. See you again Best Regards Peter
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from VIRGINIA, USA

Close to everything

Posted Aug 2, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Linens, breakfast, cleaniness
Location: The gelato place opposite the hotel is really good. You can walk to all the locations and even all the branded stores. Felt pretty safe.
The hotel is on the backside in a quite location. Small rooms, just okay breakfast, could have been better, fruits looked rotten, the lady helping in the breakfast area was also putting food in her mouth while restocking the food. Beddings are not too comfy, linens look very old. No tea kettle in the room. The only good part is that you can walk to all the attractions. Won't mind staying again because of the location. The front staff was very helpful. Bathrooms are too small. The money we paid for 3 nights was more according to the room and food condition. Go in the downtown area to try the food, it's good there, instead of trying something next to the hotel.
5 out of 5
by Dean

Wow

Posted May 17, 2017 on Hotels
Everything was spot on with excellent staff. Beds were a little hard, but all in all excellent and location was literally a few steps away from the centre
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 7, 2017
Dear Sir, thank you very much. Hope to see you again. Best regards Hotel Staff
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 17, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice clean staff friendly

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Rooms were nice clean breakfast was very nice aswell as the staff
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 29, 2016 by Peter, Hotel Management
Thank you very much, hope to see you again. Hotel Staff
4 out of 5
by robert k. from Chicago, USA

Posted Mar 6, 2016 on Hotels
We were there for 5 nights. The first night we were assigned room 102, on the first floor. This room is not 4*. Noisy, and depressing. We asked to change rooms the next morning and were put in room 111, on the second floor. Much nicer and much quieter. The breakfasts are nice, as is the view from the top floor breakfast area. The help at the front desk was first class. The location is wonderful. Our mattress was a bit too firm. Probably varies, room to room.
3 out of 5
by Laura

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 1, 2015 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by John from US

Bait and Switch again!!

Posted Jul 13, 2015 on Hotels
Horrible experience. They did not have our rooms and tried to move us to a "sister" property that was not in the center of Rome. We refused and rebooked another hotel on Hotels.com. Hotel Bolivar assured us we would not be charged as it was their mistake. The second place was great but now we are trying to get our refund back from Hotels.com for Bolivar since Bolivar charged for the rooms. I've read a few times this happens so obviously Bolivar, being centrally located, overbooks on purpose then tries to relocate you to one of their less desirable properties hoping you won't complain.
1 out of 5
by John from US

Bad experience!!!!!

Posted Jul 10, 2015 on Hotels
Horrible experience!!! Arrived at hotel 7pm after an 8 hr drive to find out that they did not have our 4 rooms bc A/C was broken. They wanted to move us to another property that was not near center of Rome. We refused and rebooked on Hotels.com at another hotel which was great but this hotel still charged Hotels.com for our rooms and now Hotels.com isn't giving us a refund even though we rebooked on Hotels.com for another hotel on same days!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Too many stars

Posted Jun 21, 2015
Pros: The breakfast room is lovely with great views over Rome. The food was also good.
Cons: Staff could improve their interpersonal skills.
Location: The location is handy to all the main sights of Rome.
This is more like a 3 star hotel. For example, room service was not available and room inclusions were minimal. The bed was hard and bedspread dirty, and there were plumbing problems in the bathroom. Staff were generally abrupt and rude, with a couple of exceptions.