Ratings based on 505 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orange, CA USA

Nice older hotel in a fantastic location.

Posted Aug 3, 2017
Pros: Fantastic, friendly and helpful staff and a very nice breakfast every morning. There is a great view of Trevi Fountain from the bar/breakfast room.
Cons: NOTHING! Everything was perfect!
Location: The central location was wonderful. Almost everything was walking distance.
I couldn't have asked for more. It was a great hotel for the price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. Louis, MO

Very Nice Hotel and Excellent Staff

Posted Aug 1, 2017
Pros: Staff, Location, Breakfast
Location: Great, trevi fountain, Spanish Steps, Pantheon ...etc all with a walking distance. Restaurants, gelato stores, cafes, bus stops and safe.
My daughter and I really enjoyed our stay at the Fontana Hotel. The staff at the reception desk and also at the roof who serve the breakfast are super friendly and nice. I don't know all their names but I remember Fausto and Isaac but everyone else was very helpful and kind too. All our questions and requests were answered immediately with courtesy and respect, even the lady who serves breakfast over the weekend with her daughter was giving us directions on how to go to places we wanted to visit. Breakfast was great. I also recommend this hotel because of it's location with too many restaurants around the hotel and the area is very safe.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Location - Inconsistent wifi and A/C

Posted Jul 28, 2017
Pros: location and staff
Cons: A/C and wifi
Location: perfect
The staff were great and did what they could to deal with inconsistent A/C in some of the rooms (I was with a group of 6 couples staying at the hotel and 3 of them didn't have A/C at the start of the stay). The rooftop breakfast was amazing with views of the fountain and amazing staff. Evenings were time to visit Isaac at the rooftop bar - such a nice man. You step out of the hotel and are in the heart of the city, the envy of all the visitors to the fountain. You can walk to everything including great public transportation to all the sites. If you get a room with A/C, it's a perfect, reasonably priced stay. If not, well, just don't go in July when Rome is insanely hot. Also, don't expect an american sized shower. Those were small, but it doesn't bother me - the room was actually quite large by EU standards.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Kansas City

Enjoy the view but not the noise

Posted Jul 22, 2017
Pros: loved the view of the Trevi and walking distance to other attractions.
Cons: Need new mattresses.
Location: Trevi fountain.. steps away , Pantheon a few blocks away, access to shopping, dining, snacks.. Great place for a few nights
The view of the fountain is amazing.. but it comes with a price.. Noise and people up way past midnight and yes the noise with the whistle blowing and such. So be prepared for lots of noise if your room is on the facing the fountain side. Great staff very helpful across the board. Incredible view from their private bar/snack on the 3rd floor. It is worth the look before breakfast as it gets quite crowded during the time of the breakfast. Mattress need major upgrade, I love being in the "old world" but prefer mattress that I can not feel all the springs in them. Bathroom, small but effective, hand held shower head
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Great location directly opposite the Trevi Fountain and in walking distance to various archaeological Sites and places of interest. Great reception and friendly helpful staff at check in/out. The room was spacious with a comfortable bed and air conditioing, which was very much needed during the hot nights. The bathroom was small (room 204) with not an adequately sized shower resulting in the water flooding the floor. The toilet was situated close to and partially under the sink so will be difficult to access for some. The breakfast was adequate but not pleasing, with not so friendly staff, but a fantastic view of the fountain.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Amazing view - Take Advantage!

Posted May 16, 2017
I came here with my sister for a long weekend and was not disappointed by our room's view. We had a twin room with all the necessities and a bath as well as a shower. There wasn't any tea/coffee/water in the rooms (as stated in description) but there are plenty of cafes/shops very close by to grab anything you need. The room was lovely & cleaned regularly, although some small details were a little past it's time. E.g one of the plug sockets came out of the wall when fitting an adaptor - but still worked fine. They had a good range of food for breakfast along with pleasant staff. The receptionists were very kind & helpful upon arrival, departure & generally throughout, with no language barrier from all staff. A couple of things I would say is, if you get a view room, be prepared for the noise into early hours of the morning & starting up around 7-8am again. We had lots of proposals so at times the cheering would wake us up, as well as the continuous sound of the fountain. Lastly, Rome in general doesn't have many information spots - so make sure you research before coming. Lovely, lovely hotel, lovely staff (especially Fabbio - I think that was his name) take advantage of the view & location of this hotel! Thank you all!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dublin

Expensive basic hotel in an excellent location

Posted May 3, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Needs renovation and somewhere to have a coffee or glass of wine.
Location: Literally outside the door is the Trevi Fountain
Very basic but expensive hotel in a super location. The hotel reception told us nothing about the hotel when we checked in. It was only the next day when I discovered we paid for breakfast. We asked about location and was told then it was on the 3rd floor. The rooms are very small and the noise coming from the water pipes when flushing toilet our running water is load. However, that said it is in a super location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

I woke up to a view of the Trevi Fountain.

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Pros: The hotel was old, quirky and interesting.
Cons: The shower/bath in our room was very small and showering was interesting.
Location: Take comfortable shoes Book what you can in advance The volume of people in and around attractions is vast Metro/trains easy to use
The staff couldn't do more to help. They arranged the taxi from the airport, they had our room ready at 9am when we arrived and then found us a different room when we required twin beds and not a double bed, they phoned a tour guide when we had a query ..... excellent service, you felt valued. The view from our room was of the Trevi Fountain which was amazing. Obviously this meant we also had the babble of noise and the sound of the water then the window was open; but for me this just added to the joy of the experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Milwaukee

Trevi Fountain right outside the door.

Posted Apr 1, 2017
Nice hotel. Cute room. But no shower curtain made it hard to shower without getting water all over. Very touristy, crowded area. But great for visiting city center sites and tons of restaurants. Front desk staff was not very helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, traditionally charming decor

Posted Mar 24, 2017
Location is amazing - busy but beautiful! hotel has old style charm, comfortable rooms and lovely breakfast. Staff are helpful without being intrusive and ALL major sights can be walked to with relative ease. We cannot wait to visit again!