Ratings based on 512 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Doncaster, England

what an amazing view!

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Just returned home after 4 days and nights. The hotel itself is old but that for me adds to its character. The rooms were cleaned daily, and even better, as the temperatures were in the high 30's, when we returned after the room had been cleaned, the windows had been closed and air conditioning was on, it was lovely to come back to after being in the heat. All of the staff were friendly and helpful. We paid extra for a fountain view, and WOW what a view! Worth every penny! The only thing I will say is that the fountain is such a popular site, there are hundreds of people visiting it from as early as 7am to the early hours. This did not bother me, but may put some people off. For me, the view of the fountain and the relaxing sound of the water made a beautiful holiday into a perfect holiday. Rome is a truly amazing place and Hotel Fontana was perfect for me :)
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

View of trevi fountain

Posted Aug 27, 2017
Rooms very small but view worth it. Wake up to trevi fountain every morning.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel room

Posted Aug 27, 2017
The hotel is super old! The bathroom and the standing showers ( only about your body size ) are next to one another not even an inch apart and are separated by shower curtain!!! No place to leave your soap or shampoo! you can only stand rinse and get out!!! Super uncomfortable!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orange, CA USA

Nice older hotel in a fantastic location.

Posted Aug 3, 2017
Pros: Fantastic, friendly and helpful staff and a very nice breakfast every morning. There is a great view of Trevi Fountain from the bar/breakfast room.
Cons: NOTHING! Everything was perfect!
Location: The central location was wonderful. Almost everything was walking distance.
I couldn't have asked for more. It was a great hotel for the price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. Louis, MO

Very Nice Hotel and Excellent Staff

Posted Aug 1, 2017
Pros: Staff, Location, Breakfast
Location: Great, trevi fountain, Spanish Steps, Pantheon ...etc all with a walking distance. Restaurants, gelato stores, cafes, bus stops and safe.
My daughter and I really enjoyed our stay at the Fontana Hotel. The staff at the reception desk and also at the roof who serve the breakfast are super friendly and nice. I don't know all their names but I remember Fausto and Isaac but everyone else was very helpful and kind too. All our questions and requests were answered immediately with courtesy and respect, even the lady who serves breakfast over the weekend with her daughter was giving us directions on how to go to places we wanted to visit. Breakfast was great. I also recommend this hotel because of it's location with too many restaurants around the hotel and the area is very safe.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Location - Inconsistent wifi and A/C

Posted Jul 28, 2017
Pros: location and staff
Cons: A/C and wifi
Location: perfect
The staff were great and did what they could to deal with inconsistent A/C in some of the rooms (I was with a group of 6 couples staying at the hotel and 3 of them didn't have A/C at the start of the stay). The rooftop breakfast was amazing with views of the fountain and amazing staff. Evenings were time to visit Isaac at the rooftop bar - such a nice man. You step out of the hotel and are in the heart of the city, the envy of all the visitors to the fountain. You can walk to everything including great public transportation to all the sites. If you get a room with A/C, it's a perfect, reasonably priced stay. If not, well, just don't go in July when Rome is insanely hot. Also, don't expect an american sized shower. Those were small, but it doesn't bother me - the room was actually quite large by EU standards.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Kansas City

Enjoy the view but not the noise

Posted Jul 22, 2017
Pros: loved the view of the Trevi and walking distance to other attractions.
Cons: Need new mattresses.
Location: Trevi fountain.. steps away , Pantheon a few blocks away, access to shopping, dining, snacks.. Great place for a few nights
The view of the fountain is amazing.. but it comes with a price.. Noise and people up way past midnight and yes the noise with the whistle blowing and such. So be prepared for lots of noise if your room is on the facing the fountain side. Great staff very helpful across the board. Incredible view from their private bar/snack on the 3rd floor. It is worth the look before breakfast as it gets quite crowded during the time of the breakfast. Mattress need major upgrade, I love being in the "old world" but prefer mattress that I can not feel all the springs in them. Bathroom, small but effective, hand held shower head
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Great location directly opposite the Trevi Fountain and in walking distance to various archaeological Sites and places of interest. Great reception and friendly helpful staff at check in/out. The room was spacious with a comfortable bed and air conditioing, which was very much needed during the hot nights. The bathroom was small (room 204) with not an adequately sized shower resulting in the water flooding the floor. The toilet was situated close to and partially under the sink so will be difficult to access for some. The breakfast was adequate but not pleasing, with not so friendly staff, but a fantastic view of the fountain.
3 out of 5
by Holly

If you don't enjoy police whistle

Posted Jun 22, 2017 on Hotels
The Hotel was clean,quaint and had the best air conditioner we had while visiting Italy. The breakfast area was lovely and housekeeping did a great job.We requested a room with a view of trevi fountain which we got. We didn't realize when we booked that there was constantly 150-200 people outside our window with police presence. We could hear the people and there were several engagements that occurred the 4 nights we were there. The sound of the people was tolerable but the police whistle(s) that blew about every 8-15 seconds between the hours of about 7 am-330 am was really annoying and made it difficult to get to sleep at night or get a nap I realize isn't responsible for that and the Hotel was nice but wouldn't stay there again.
2 out of 5
by Penelope

From 1000's of hotels in Rome, don't pick this one

Posted Jun 17, 2017 on Hotels
Could not believe the poor Attitude of the staff. From the moment we arrived, we were treated as an inconvenience. Each time we came and went we would say good morning and good evening but no one replied, got eye contact once and a single word "ok" Staff smoked inside the hotel, air conditioning and ceiling fan did not work at all and the room temperature was a constant 28o Celsius. I could go on but there is no point, as this hotel is probably full every night because of their proximity to the Fontana Di Trevi, so no need for them to improve a thing.