Ratings based on 38 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Sheffield

Characterful medieval hotel with modern comforts

Posted Oct 17, 2017
My partner and I went to Rome for a weekend break and stayed at Torre Colonna for 3 nights. I choose the hotel because it's a converted medieval tower and I loved the idea of staying somewhere with a bit of history. The hotel has wonderful character and has been converted very nicely, with beautiful original features everywhere such as the shuttered windows, painted wooden ceilings and hard floors. The newer touches, such as the big beds and secondary glazing to keep out street noise (very effectively) made it a very pleasant and comfy stay. We stayed in room 2 (the yellow one) which had a nice spacious bathroom with jacuzzi bath (we didn't use this as didn't have time - so much to see in Rome!) and good shower, along with a walk-in wardrobe space. The room was a comfortable size - not huge but not small either and plenty of space for the two of us, with a handy desk area and armchair too. Outside the room, the rest of the hotel was just as lovely, with a nice breakfast area with a view of Il Vittoriano from one side. Breakfast was lovely - fresh cheeses, meats, breads, fruit and cereal each morning, wish freshly squeezed juice and a hot drink - nothing was too much effort for the staff here. The roof terrace was also a great space with far-reaching views across Rome - we could see the Colosseum not far away! The hotel is brilliantly located, we wandered along to Trevi Fountain most evenings and were just on the doorstep of loads of sights. Loved our stay here!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 12, 2017 on Hotels
Amazing stay! Loved the location and excellent staff
5 out of 5
by Joseph

Great location, great staff, great experience

Posted May 3, 2017 on Hotels
Super friendly and helpful staff. Very nice breakfast offered and on-demand fresh-squeezed orange juice! Upon our arrival we received a map with helpful tips and recommendations. Very central location- seemingly 15 minutes from everything. Would stay there again for sure.
5 out of 5
by Kevin

Great hotel and location.

Posted Apr 17, 2017 on Hotels
The staff was extremely helpful, especially Alvin.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Salem, Oregon

Unique hotel in excellent location

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Pros: The overall feel and the location.
Cons: It's not that we didn't like it, but this was difficult to find. Just get some good directions before hand then no problem
Location: walking distance from many of Rome's must see's
We stayed for 3 nights in this lovely hotel. The decor is unique and very interesting. We enjoyed the stone floors and the wooden details. The bed I must say was very comfortable. Visiting Rome we wanted to be out exploring, but the bed was hard to get out of at times. The hotel provided us with a list of places to eat with a small review, this was very helpful and provided us with a couple great meals. I highly recommend this as a place to stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very Close to historic centre

Posted Jul 7, 2016
Hotel was an ancient tower that is 850 years old. So it's quite an experience
5 out of 5
by Duane from Atlanta

In the middle of everything!

Posted Oct 7, 2015 on Hotels
Very accommodating staff and the hotel is right in the middle of many of the key sites in Rome Centro.
5 out of 5
by Maria from New Jersey

Posted Aug 3, 2015 on Hotels
One of our best stays in Italy. The staff was very helpful and kind. Great accomodations!
5 out of 5
by Patrick

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 31, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Victor from Dallas

This is a must stay! The best of Rome.

Posted May 20, 2015 on Hotels
Unique rooms located in an old tower. Excellent breakfast and service provided by Alvin. This is located just a few blocks from the Coliseum and other historic sites. The terrace at the top of the building has excellent views of these same sites! Best lodgings we have had in 3 trips to Rome!