Ratings based on 311 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boone, NC

Great Hotel with History

Posted Jan 20, 2017
The front desk personnel were awesome! Food at the restaurant was Great! Highly recommend! Best in Comfort and Class!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from AZ

Great Hotel

Posted Jan 12, 2017
Fantastic staff Fantastic rooms Great bar Highly recommend
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from 37760

Posted Dec 18, 2016
The heater did not work in the room we were only going to stay one night but they gave us a good deal and fix the heat on the second night plus give us complementary breakfast tickets.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NC

Just a couple of imperfections.

Posted Dec 16, 2016
They did not have my reservation upon check in. I had two text confirmations.instead of allowing me to check in and then figure out the mishap, I had to stand there while they unraveled their mystery. Also, there were gnats at the front desk and also in the restaurant. I mentioned this at check out and the Desk clerk said.." well it's Tennesseeand they stay around till January. Well I lived in Johnson City for 12 years and now in NC and the only time I had gnats was from produce getting rotten.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel was a very good choice!

Posted Dec 13, 2016
Very nice and clean! It was pleasant atmosphere. Would stay again when I come to this area. Staff was very nice and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mystic, CT

Great place for ETSU graduation.

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Pros: The lobby upstairs and down were awesome. The rooms were very roomy and comfortable. Very convenient location to ETSU!
Cons: There are some places that show some wear as it is an older hotel, but that adds to the charm.
Location: Downtown restaurants and bars less than one mile away!
From the moment we walked in and were warmly welcomed by the helpful staff, we knew we made the right choice. Take a walk into the grandness of the past. The hotel was decorated beautifully for Christmas. There are so many wonderful places to sit and relax in the lobby. The restaurant was also excellent and reasonably priced. There is so much detail in all the woodwork and lights. The room was spacious and comfortable. What a great experience. And...we were able to walk over the pedestrian bridge to the field-house at ETSU for the graduation ceremony. Very Convenient! Staff was friendly and helpful!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 1, 2016
Great but i dont want to write a review, clean nice etc
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Great and classy!

Posted Nov 28, 2016
The hotel is amazing and very classy. From the moment you walk in the staff are eager to meet any needs you may have. I loved the the decor and felt like I was a Vanderbilt as I walked down the halls. The restaurant, wellingtons, was perfect. I had the ny strip and it was flawless. The desserts were beautiful as well. The rooms are very large and spacious and the bed was so comfy. I was surprised at how soft and relaxing it was. It was comparable to the Inn at Christmas Place. I read reviews speaking of scratched furniture and did find our bed to be scratched. But I didn't care. It didn't take anything away. It was a very high quality bed and I would not expect it to be flawless. The bathrooms are also large and elegant. I was highly impressed with my accommodations on almost facet. The only negatives I had is that the fridge did not work, and the air conditioning did not work. We used the sink to ice our drinks. And despite opening windows and having the air on cool, we still were unable to sleep due to it being 80 in our room at 2 am. We did tell the desk of these issues and they did immediately offer to send maintenance to fix it. But since we were only staying for one night, we didn't feel it was necessary. All in all, I would highly recommend the Carnegie. They do not just offer a room to stay, but offer an amazing experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 30, 2016 by Christian L., Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of the Carnegie Hotel! I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay! We regret that your A/C and mini fridge was not available for your stay, but I am glad it did not hinder your stay form being a positive one. If you are ever in the Johnson City area again we would love to have you as a guest again! Regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Close to family. Comfortable , safe hotel.

Posted Nov 26, 2016
Pros: Well maintained. Helpful, friendly, courteous staff.
Conveniently located. Close to family in the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Comfortable and well run hotel

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Pros: Clean, quiet, well laid out room. Surprisingly good restaurant. Nice to have a separate bath and shower.
Cons: The bed had a pillow top that was too squishy soft for us. I think hotels should err on the side of firmness for beds.
Location: Great location across the street from the ETSU campus. Easy drive to downtown. We bicycled on the Tweetsie Trail, a short drive away.
We found the room to be very clean, well thought out, easy temperature control, quiet, and with a nice view of the mountains behind ETSU. No smell of cleaning liquids or deodorizer. There was a baby crying in the room across the hall, but with our door shut we literally could not hear it. The normal check-in time is 3pm, which is very civilized, and our room was ready when we arrived just a few minutes after 3. We usually don't eat in hotel restaurants, but in this case we decided to try it and were pleasantly surprised. The food was excellent, the service was superb, and the cost was reasonable.