Ratings based on 886 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 1, 2016
Great but i dont want to write a review, clean nice etc
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Great and classy!

Posted Nov 28, 2016
The hotel is amazing and very classy. From the moment you walk in the staff are eager to meet any needs you may have. I loved the the decor and felt like I was a Vanderbilt as I walked down the halls. The restaurant, wellingtons, was perfect. I had the ny strip and it was flawless. The desserts were beautiful as well. The rooms are very large and spacious and the bed was so comfy. I was surprised at how soft and relaxing it was. It was comparable to the Inn at Christmas Place. I read reviews speaking of scratched furniture and did find our bed to be scratched. But I didn't care. It didn't take anything away. It was a very high quality bed and I would not expect it to be flawless. The bathrooms are also large and elegant. I was highly impressed with my accommodations on almost facet. The only negatives I had is that the fridge did not work, and the air conditioning did not work. We used the sink to ice our drinks. And despite opening windows and having the air on cool, we still were unable to sleep due to it being 80 in our room at 2 am. We did tell the desk of these issues and they did immediately offer to send maintenance to fix it. But since we were only staying for one night, we didn't feel it was necessary. All in all, I would highly recommend the Carnegie. They do not just offer a room to stay, but offer an amazing experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 30, 2016 by Christian L., Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of the Carnegie Hotel! I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay! We regret that your A/C and mini fridge was not available for your stay, but I am glad it did not hinder your stay form being a positive one. If you are ever in the Johnson City area again we would love to have you as a guest again! Regards,
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Close to family. Comfortable , safe hotel.

Posted Nov 26, 2016
Pros: Well maintained. Helpful, friendly, courteous staff.
Conveniently located. Close to family in the area.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Comfortable and well run hotel

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Pros: Clean, quiet, well laid out room. Surprisingly good restaurant. Nice to have a separate bath and shower.
Cons: The bed had a pillow top that was too squishy soft for us. I think hotels should err on the side of firmness for beds.
Location: Great location across the street from the ETSU campus. Easy drive to downtown. We bicycled on the Tweetsie Trail, a short drive away.
We found the room to be very clean, well thought out, easy temperature control, quiet, and with a nice view of the mountains behind ETSU. No smell of cleaning liquids or deodorizer. There was a baby crying in the room across the hall, but with our door shut we literally could not hear it. The normal check-in time is 3pm, which is very civilized, and our room was ready when we arrived just a few minutes after 3. We usually don't eat in hotel restaurants, but in this case we decided to try it and were pleasantly surprised. The food was excellent, the service was superb, and the cost was reasonable.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Staying in Class

Posted Nov 17, 2016
The hotel staff, facilities, comfort, and being treated very well are the best things about this stay. I felt as if I was royalty! Highly recommend!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 22, 2016 by Christian L., Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback of the Carnegie Hotel! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and we hope to see you again soon! Regards,
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 17, 2016
Hotel was spacious and clean. I loved the historic feel to the decor and atmosphere.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 22, 2016 by Christian L., Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of the Carnegie Hotel! We are glad you enjoyed your stay, and we hope that you will visit Johnson City again in the near future! Regards,
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 12, 2016
Room was clean and service good. We enjoyed the restaurant.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver

Excellent hotel, staff, location.

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: We travel to Johnson City several times a year. We would not consider staying anywhere else. The staff are superb, truly knowledgeable about the hotel services and surrounding area. The hotel is impeccably clean and all requests are immediately tended to. The adjacent restaurant is amazing and don't forget the spa services.
Cons: There is nothing we would change about this hotel.
Location: Hiking, shopping, relaxing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 26, 2016 by Christian L., Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, Pam! I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and your previous stays! We appreciate your repeat business, and Johnson City appreciates your visits! Thank you for your comments on our establishment as well as Wellington's Restaurant and Austin Springs Spa & Salon! We look forward to your next visit!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Jersey

Nice hotel with clean and comfortable rooms.

Posted Oct 22, 2016
Pros: The size, comfort, and cleanliness of the room.
Location: It is a good location near ETSU, lots of shopping, and lots of restaurants.
The hotel is very nice, the staff are very nice, and the rooms are very large, clean, and comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 25, 2016 by Christian L., Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Gem of a hotel in Johnson City, TN

Posted Oct 21, 2016
This is a great hotel. The bed was so comfortable and the front office staff friendly and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 25, 2016 by Christian L., Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! I am delighted to hear your stay was enjoyable and the staff was helpful!