Ratings based on 723 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Johnson City, TN

Parking no existence...

Posted Feb 8, 2016
Husband disabiled and could not find a parking space. "ALL" spaces were taken up by non-room quests attending some kind of event or either restaurant. Was told to park in parking garage out back, which we were never told they had or my husband would have never kept driving around the parking lot for someone to leave so he could park closer. Close parking spaces should be for room guests and party/event goers told to park in garage. Will never stay again due to the fact parking is especially just as important for someone disabled as having a room available.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Asheville, NC

Great, roomy rooms

Posted Feb 1, 2016
Pros: Antique feel with modern amenities
Cons: Black tile along the floors are pretty beat up
Interesting the the hotel interior has antique wood accents but the hotel was built in 2000 or so. They did a great job making the hotel feel 'classic'. It's the only hotel we know of that features both a shower and bath tub and 2 sinks, I think in every room. For the money, we felt it was a great deal.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel located near shopping and dinning.

Posted Feb 1, 2016
This was a great hotel overall but I would not stay there again for serval reasons. It is located in front of East Tennessee State Universty which makes it difficult at times to get in and out of traffic. Train tracks run past the Motel and there is no problem hearing the trains come through a couple times at night. The bed was very uncomfortable and after speaking with someone at the front desk they said they were very suprised because the mattresses were new but they would take care of it. Upon our return that night nothing had been done about it. We decided to flip the mattress ourselves and and outside of being woke up by the train we were able to get a good nights rest. I guess our mattress wasn't as new as soom of the rest!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 24, 2016
It was a great time. It made my say in town good. Thank you
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great beds and bathtub!

Posted Jan 18, 2016
Pros: TUB and BED
Cons: Food-room service...fruit plate was not fresh. Citrus was dried out. Grapes past their prime. More expensive than stated on in room menu.
It makes a business trip more enjoyable.xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best hotel in the Tri-Cities

Posted Jan 4, 2016
Another great stay at the Carnegie. Beautiful hotel, great restaurant, friendly staff. Couldn't be better!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best place to stay in Johnson City, TN!

Posted Dec 29, 2015
Pros: Everything!
I'm always surprised at 1) the competitive rates and 2) the availability of rooms on short notice. This is by far the best place to stay in town. The rooms are large and well furnished, the staff is extremely friendly, and the location is excellent!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 29, 2015
This is a beautiful Victorian hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I had a pedicure in the Salon and Spa and it was wonderful. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking to have a great experience in Johnson City!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 22, 2015
Nice hotel. Gorgeous decorations for Christmas time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Knoxville, TN

Elegant independent hotel convenient to University

Posted Dec 18, 2015
Pros: Large rooms, friendly staff.
Cons: No need for improvement.
Location: Surrounded by mountains, interesting place for a weekend trip. Good restaurants, great crafts, and interesting museums.
The hotel is a surprising, elegant experience in a small city.