Ratings based on 302 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
57% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Clemson

Stayed for Bristol race

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Pros: Same as above.
Cons: No refrigerator as described in Expedia.
Location: Bristol Speedway about 20 miles but convenient.
Easy check-in and no problems. Nice hotel for the price. Good location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 28, 2017 by Jeremy, Hotel Management
We're glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope you will visit us again sometime. Thanks!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Long Island, NY

Excellent staff at budget motel

Posted Mar 1, 2017
The staff's kindness and genuine desire to help and be accommodating made this hotel great. It is budget (lowest price in area) so you know what to expect there but they treated us like family and went above and beyond, which is what ultimately matters on the road when you need sleep and care. Thanks Johnson City Econo.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 28, 2017 by Jeremy, Hotel Management
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us! We strive to provide the best customer service to our guests, and we thank you for staying with us. Hope you visit us again soon.
1 out of 5
by Sharon

Posted Feb 5, 2017 on Hotels
It was the worst hotel ever. I want my money back The bed was like sleeping on a rock the bathroom was disgusting the sheets smelled. It was horrible
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 13, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Sharon, We apologize that you had this experience. If you do ever choose to stay here again, please let our front desk know about any issues concerning you and we will do anything we can to fix this. Your feedback is valuable to us. Sincerely, Econo Lodge Johnson City, Tennessee
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Who likes the ghetto?

Posted Jan 3, 2017 on Hotels
Very ghetto, nothing worked, but the black guy with blue eyes was very helpful
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 13, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We are sorry that you had this experience. We have been making some changes recently such as getting new TVs. We hope that you will choose to stay here next time you are in the area and we will do anything to help fix any issues that concern you. Just let our front desk know and we will be right there to fix it. Your feedback means a lot to us here at Econo Lodge in Johnson City, Tennessee
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 16, 2016 on Hotels
There were roaches in the room. The was also a large fly that was found dead in the morning. What kills a fly? Look also at the condition of the mattress.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 13, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We are sorry you had this experience. We have been working to rectify these things and have made some changes in recent weeks. We welcome you to come stay again and see the changes we have made. If you have any issues, please feel free to bring them up to our front desk and we will do what we can to fix it immediately. Our staff is always here to help, so please do not hesitate to ask if you need help with anything. Your feedback means a lot to us. Sincerely, Econo Lodge Johnson City, Tennessee
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 11, 2016 on Hotels
Was bit by bug in my bed
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 13, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We apologize that you had this experience. We have been working to make sure things like this never happen again and we have been making some big changes as of recently. We welcome you to come stay again and check it out! If you have any concerns, please don't hesitate to let the front desk know about them. We will do what we can to fix them immediately. Thanks for your feedback. Sincerely, Econo Lodge Johnson City, Tennessee
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Poor service.

Posted Nov 25, 2016
Paid cash for my room.they turned around and charged my credit card after I checked out.called them to complain was told they always put the price of room on your card for cleaning fee.water for shower was cold .room had water leak told them said they would bring towels for the floor
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 13, 2017 by Econo Lodge Johnson City, Tennessee , Hotel Management
We are sorry you had this experience. We have been working to make sure our guests have a more positive experience at Econo Lodge in Johnson City, Tennessee. Please come again and check it out! If you have any concerns, please feel free to let our front desk know and we will work to fix any issues you have immediately. Again, thank you for your feedback. Sincerely, Econo Lodge Johnson City, Tennessee
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't Stay

Posted Oct 16, 2016 on Hotels
Room smelled, dead bolt did not work, hotel double charged my credit card.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 14, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient to restaurants and major highway

Posted Oct 11, 2016 on Hotels
Decent price value restaurant