Ratings based on 71 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1.7 out of 5
1.8 Room cleanliness
2.2 Service & staff
1.8 Room comfort
1.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

i stayed in that horrible dirty hotel !

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Pros: nothing
Cons: build a new one
Location: location is good
horrible experience ! dirty , no maid services , no phone line conection . red bugs on the bed!! do not sell this hotel please .
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 6, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We are sorry that we failed to meet your expectations. We strive to offer a clean, affordable room. It seems we fell short of that goal and will use your feedback to improve the noted issues. If you ever have an issue at any property, be sure to inform staff right away. No one can fix what they do not know is broken.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Update your penicillin perscription.

Posted Aug 8, 2016
I heard Pennsylvania just outlawed swimming in dumpsters. The same should apply here. Really hoping I don't end up with a cold sore.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 9, 2016 by Jerry, GM, Hotel Management
We are sorry to hear you had a less than ideal stay. It is unfortunate you hesitated to bring any concern to our staff. We are working hard to improve our facilities and appreciate feedback that can help us do so.
5 out of 5
by Stuart S from Tacoma Washington.

Don't judge a hottel from the outside..

Posted Jun 26, 2016 on Hotels
The room is big. They are renovating the new building and it looks great. Still tweaking out the details.new carpet as nd tyle floor at the door. Fresh paint thru out. Needs new furniture and desk. So far,so good. Nice guy at the counter that was very accommodating and friendly.we talked for awhile about the place and the work in progress and he seems to be excited about the outcome. Overall,"two thumbs up".
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 28, 2016 by Jerry, Hotel Management
Thank you for the feedback Stuart! We are excited to be bringing a quality room to our guest! Hope to see you again when you are in the area!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 16, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nothing was nice to me

Posted May 7, 2016
Came and found our doors Locked , called nobody picked our call until we called you guys and someone spoke to us before it was open . We were there for 45 mins and can't get to our rooms very terrible situation .
Comment from Hotel Management
May 12, 2016 by Jerry, Hotel Management
We are sorry to hear you had difficulties. The main entrance has posted hours and the guest entrance is always accessible with the guest key. There is also a night bell for any situation. I hope the rest of your stay was enjoyable and we appreciate your business.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Anchorage, AK

Bad place to leave in

Posted May 3, 2016
No flowing tap to shower, filthy etc My bad experience with toilets, no shower flowing tap made it uncomfortable for two nightss stay
Comment from Hotel Management
May 13, 2016 by Jerry, Hotel Management
Thank you for leaving your feedback. This is the 1st I have heard of your less than desirable accommodations. I can only surmise that you were given a room that was closed for repair and I apologize for the oversight. In the future at any facility, please advise management right away of such a situation. I cannot speak for all Inns but I want my guest to have a comfortable stay but cannot fix a situation I do not know about.
3 out of 5
by Maria Veronica from orlando, fl

you get what you pay for

Posted Apr 12, 2016 on Hotels
was just passing through and needed something very affordable. there was no ice bucket. the water pressure was terrible and did not get very warm. the room condition was not good. the staff was very nice and friendly. for the price to just lay your head down it was good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 27, 2016 by Jerry, Hotel Management
I'm sorry we fell short in providing you an exceptional stay for the value. We appreciate the feedback and want to ensure that all our guest enjoy their stay.
1 out of 5
by Arthur from Puyallup

Worst place ever.

Posted Nov 4, 2015 on Hotels
This is by far the worst place in Washington state. No phones in rooms so you will have crack heads knocking on your door asking to borrow it. I left and hotel will not authorize the refund. Was there less than an hour. If you need any type of illegal drugs this is the place for you. If not stay away.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 26, 2016 by Jerry, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. All our rooms come with phones and we would have appreciated the chance to replace it. We are renovating our buildings and understand that the non-renovated areas may not be to everyones likeing, even at the low renovation price. We do grant refunds with that said and there may be a communication issue. I am sorry to hear about your experience.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tacoma, WA

A very nice motel that has seen better days

Posted Nov 2, 2015
Bed was comfortable and clean. Other than that, not much to recommend. Carpet dirty, towels stained, no remote for the TV, or light on the nightstand. The room had a very unpleasant odor. A 6" X 6" chunk broken out of the Venetian blinds (no curtains) exposing the room to the street. I could see the shadow of what at one time must have been a very nice motel, fallen on hard times and allowed to run down.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 24, 2016 by Jerry, Hotel Management
I was troubled to read that you were in a less than acceptable room. We want to know of issues such as you listed as per those conditions are not acceptble. I appreciate you sharing this information. Even during our renovations, we strive to provide a clean, affordable room and it seems we failed in this instance. I regret that you had an experience as such while staying with us.
4 out of 5
by Nathaniel from Spokane, WA

Cozy room, silent night

Posted Oct 24, 2015 on Hotels
I was very warmly welcomed by the hotel owners,and the room was in decent shape for occupancy. Free Wi-Fi is always a welcome amenity for me as I take care of business. I would come here again.