Ratings based on 128 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Buffalo

Posted Aug 18, 2015
Excellent .. will stay there again with family and friends
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 1, 2015
Pros: Close to shopping and eating
Cons: Could be cleaner
Location: Close to shopping and food
Beds were small, breakfast was ok, nothing special. We had ants on our nightstand.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 27, 2015
I don't remember the room I booked as a smoking room.... But was in a hurry and fiancé hadn't started his chantix to quit smoking yet... So no harm
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice stop on the way home

Posted Jul 19, 2015
Nice clean hotel, friendly staff, a little far away from any evening activities, but welcomely quiet if you just want to collapse after a long day of driving.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stafford, VA

Couldn't ask for more

Posted Jul 14, 2015
Pros: The breakfast was amazing and cost effective, location was great, and the room was spacious and well kept. TV was great, as was the wifi.
Cons: I would have probably liked a hot tub or a larger pool, but it's not like I didn't know that going in. :)
Location: TONS of restaurants, shopping, gas, everything. Seriously, it has the best location in the Wheeling area for that kind of things.
The staff is unfailingly pleasant and helpful. I honestly can't imaging a better hotel staff unless they were paying ME for the trip instead of the other way around. Whenever I asked for help, they would stop what they were doing and I felt like I was a visiting dignitary. Shopping was close by (24 hour Wal-Mart was a few blocks away with everything you can possibly need). Restaurants galore - I absolutely loved my experience at Cheddars that you can walk to in about 3 minutes. The TV was large and channel selection was awesome. Wifi was great and easy to use. The staff was very nice, and rooms were picked up for me, even when they didn't have to (and I have 3 kids!). The breakfast was not some token "muffins and toast" thing - no way, full bar, with belgian waffle maker, multiple kinds of unlimited juice, eggs, oatmeal, cereal, the works. They even had a nice touch of having a free snack out in the lobby during at night. We picked up a rice crispy treat and another night had a delicious brownie with fresh squeezed lemonade! I've been to the Wheeling Hampton and it's a great spot too, and it has a nicer pool area - but I'd have to give the edge to the Highlands on everything else. Again, both are 5 star hotels, but unless you're going to use the pool area a lot (we did last year in winter! was awesome for the kids), you can't miss with the Highlands - at about 15% cheaper, too!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jacksonville, fl.

Nice hotel close to family, resterants and stores.

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Pros: everythind was great
Cons: nothing
Had a great time but my wife got real sick we had to leave Sunday Morning a day earyl, she went to doctor when we got home she has brounkidis, terrable cough.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

close to Cabelas

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Pros: nothing
This hotel uses electronic key cards. I received mine at the front desk and went to my room...they would not work. There was an older couple leaving their room across the hall from mine. They said they had issues with their key card almost every night they'd been there. I returned to the lobby and they were surprised my key cards didn't work and re-programmed them. I returned to my room and again, they did not work. So I went back to the lobby. In the elevator another gentleman, who saw me in the hallway, asked if I was having trouble with the cards. He said he too had been having trouble with his. At the desk for another re-program, this time by the shift manager, who found that the first girl didn't get all my info so I had to wait while she asked more questions. So, back to my room for a 3rd time....DIDN'T WORK. So, back to the lobby. The manager was so surprised. She sent a member of the staff to the room to try the cards. Meanwhile, she was giving me another room. As she's reassigning me, she states that if the key cards don't work this time if must just be me. She tells me she'll go with me to make sure I'm doing it right. Ok, this isn't rocket science. Hold the card against the lock...the green light comes on...your're in. As we're walking to the elevator, the maint. guy comes down and tells her the battery pack on my first room is dead. She just says "oh ok" and up we go. (not enough space for the rest of this)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay

Posted Jun 19, 2015
Pros: Convince to restaurants
Location: all types of restaurants, fast food to nice sit down dinners. Cabela's Sporting Goods store, Walmart, Target
Close to restaurants, shopping, easily accessible to highway. Short commute to my designation. Staff was friendly, Very clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by KIMBERLY

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 2, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Patricia from Amherst, OH

Weekend Getaway

Posted Jun 2, 2015 on Hotels
The staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was wonderful. My only negative was that the pool was murky, so we chose not to swim.