Ratings based on 49 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A missed occasion

Posted Sep 2, 2017
I'm writing to share my experience with this hotel: I drove 5 hours in the afternoon and I arrived at the hotel 90 minutes after the closing time for the check-in and since I was in the car, I couldn't call the property to make the arrangements for a late check-in. When I got to the door, I found two phone numbers and eventually I managed to talk with someone from the hotel (after the first number bounced me to the second). I spoke with the person on the other side of the line, who explained that I was late and I should have called before. True. He offered to come back to the city to open the door for me and give me my room, but at an extra cost of 10€ per hour of delay (which is different from those listed in the confirmation email that I received). The conversation was not at all pleasant and when I asked if it was better for me to find an alternative accommodation, the person said goodbye and ended the conversation. Certainly I should have found a way to contact the hotel ahead of time, and certainly the dismissive and arrogant tone of the hotel person was not appreciated and unnecessary. [NOTE: the ratings about the rooms have been set to 3/5 to be able to submit the review: they do NOT correspond to the experience - since there was none]
5 out of 5
by Michael from Denver

Posted Jul 31, 2016 on Hotels
Beautiful place good price and lovely all around
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from mpls, Mn

Wonderful location near ancient Roman arch

Posted Mar 9, 2016
...on narrow, twisted hill street. Room was large, 4-5 lg windows. large shower, heated drying rack. Absolutely charming neighborhood
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pordenone, Italy

Should install an A/C for summer..

Posted Jul 7, 2015
Pros: The bathroom was well renovated - small but clean and has decent appliances.
Cons: A/C, seriously... It was sub-90 degrees outside but it felt a whole lot hotter in the room. There is very little ventilation and A/C is a must.
Location: The location is great, only 5 minutes walk from the coast line with lots of restaurants nearby. Some may find it hectic to park on steep cobble hills.
The room seemed like it was renovated recently and looked very clean. We had 3 small beds that could be pushed together to make a bigger sized bed. The turn-off for this hotel was its A/C.. They had a portable A/C that worked as well as a fan and yet it dripped water that flooded the floor. It was very difficult to fall asleep even around midnight after a cold shower due to the heat in the room.
3 out of 5
by Peter

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 27, 2015 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Trieste room near Ricardo Arch

Posted Apr 3, 2015
Pros: Decent location. Quiet at night.
Cons: No smoking in adjacent rooms. Update or renovate from 70's era. A light fixture or lamp for better lighting. Wifi at least in room.
Location: Taxi let you off a block away because reception is off a plaza. Walking distance to coffee bar, restaurants and harbor. Near bus/rail station.
Reception area was called Barbacan and off a courtyard plaza area, Hotel Capitelli was a 6 room ancient building next door. Dark narrow hallway above smokers room. Pretty bare bones, bed, chair, table in a very small room. Wifi only worked if you were outside, downstairs by reception. Sheets were clean and fresh towels, but old flower wallpaper, smell of smoke and dark walls made for a place you didn't want to spend any time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Justin

Great location, and a great, renovated building.

Posted Sep 10, 2013
Pros: The location and the staff.
Cons: The bed wasn't very comfortable. The wifi didn't reach the room (but you could access the lobby 24/7 and there was good wifi there).
Location: Just blocks from the Piazza Unità d'Italia, and its right in the old town. There are plenty of restaurants and Roman ruins everywhere.
The hotel is in a convenient location. It was easy to get anywhere in Trieste from the hotel. The hotel has breakfast included, and it was just fine. The room was recently renovated, so it looked really nice. The tiny tv didn't seem to work, but we hadn't travelled to Trieste to sit inside and watch tv anyway. It came with an a/c unit, which worked just fine.
4 out of 5
by ales

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 2, 2013 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Austria

A simple, friendly and quiet place

Posted Sep 20, 2017
A simple, clean and quiet place close to stay for a few days. Breakfast is served in the café of the nearby music-school. The tiny house ist surrounded by narrow alleys and small squares with bars, cafés, restaurants, shops an archaeological monuments, but without car-traffic. You can go everywhere by foot or easiliy catch a bus.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 13, 2017
Schöne Altstadtlage und mitten im Zentrum; nette Zimmer, nettes Personal